We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This a wonderful vacation place, I would highly recommend 2 any1 wanting a refreshing and reviving environment. I enjoyef riding horses and riding up tne mountains. Quiet a massaging experience, wished I could extend my weekend stay a week long.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vusumzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    105
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
147
150
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We held our small business conference at the Cavern. I can recommend this lovely place...do business in Paradise! Well established, the staff are exceptinally friendly, beds are comfortable, water is hot, the food is amazing and LOTS of it and the hiking & birdlife incredible. The conference room is new, clean & well equipped. I love the Berg and going to The Cavern has been a long held dream of mine...I was not disappointed. Well done to the management & staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umthunzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here earlier this year and are hoping to return again shortly. Stunning room, excellent service, fantastic food and great value for money.

My only complaint was that management insisted that we were seated at a set table in the dining room for ALL meals. Unfortunately one of our immediate neighbours was a droning bore and we had to listen to him go on and on and on over every meal. On the same note - a couple we made friends with were seated in a different part of the dining room and there was no flexibility when we wanted to eat dinner together as a foursome.

This is a little regimental for my liking.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior rooms - which have televisions and bar fridges. Standard rooms do not have eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CVanmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

the Cavern is one of my favourite places in all the world. It truly is a special place.
My family used to spend every holiday there when I was a baby right through to a teenager. And as an adult, with my own little family, I've rediscovered an evolved resort which still focuses on family and happy returns.
The food is fantastic and I love the choices offered. As kids we always took up the challenge of trying to eat our way through the whole menu!
Special things for me...
- the warmth of the place, the personal attention and the involvement of the hosts and their family
- Cavern coffee (yum!)
- the drum beating to call you to morning and afternoon tea
- the walks and rides with tea made over an open fire and the best crunchies ever!
- the Saturday night dance and the games evenings
- the social atmosphere
- the environment: this truly is one of the most beautiful and spectacular parts of the whole Drakensberg

The Cavern just keeps getting better and better every year. I'd live there if I could.

Room Tip: for families with little kids, ask for a room near the main buildings - otherwise you'll end up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargsCarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, Western Cape
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We visited The Cavern Berg Resort 18 years ago for the first time on honeymoon and have returned many times since then. It has been about 5 years since our last visit and we stayed at The Cavern Berg Resort last week and it was wonderful. The food was fantastic, the walks were excellent and the staff were amazing. I feel totally relaxed and can't wait to book my next holiday at The Cavern. I love the fact that you park your car and you don't have to use it for the whole time you are there. I found The Cavern to be good value for money as well, taking into account that all the meals are included.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have been to The Cavern many times, and it just keeps on getting better. Look out for the specials on accommodation on their website.

The last few times we have been in the Superior Suites. All rooms have underfloor heating, but the superior suites also have gas fireplaces (wonderful in winter), as well as a TVs and bar fridges. The only drawback of the Superior Suites is that they are near the gate, which means it is quite a walk uphill to the dining room. While this is not a problem for younger folk, oldies might find it a bit trying.

The food is delicious, and the vegetarian option has definitely improved vastly over the last few years. Be sure to ask for “Cavern Coffee” – a delicious milky coffee.

The reception staff is very efficient, and sorts out minor problems in a flash (I can’t imagine anybody having major problems at the Cavern).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our previous visit to The Cavern was in 1995 so we were curious as to whether it would be any good this time round. We were not disappointed. The family-run ethos pervades the resort, the main buildings and grounds are the same, and there have been some well-planned additions, like superior rooms, a new bar and a forest retreat spa. We were welcomed back like long lost friends.

We booked a superior room which is situated at the lower end of the resort so not ideal if you have mobility problems. It was perfect for us - quiet, private, with a stunning view. We found the meals to be of a very high quality indeed, in the vey well-run dining room. We went on several guided walks, and yes, the kettle and Cavern crunchies are carried up the mountain for mid-walk refreshment. The Cavern escarpment is awe-inspiring and local walking guides provided by the hotel know the area very well. The views from the top are incredible. Short and long walks, as well as horse riding, are provided daily. Evening entertainment in busy times is usually lively and lots of fun. We joined the Cavern Choir (who have made a CD), played board games with new friends, and joined a night walk to natural pool for hot chocolate. I also had a very professional pedicure at the Forest Retreat Spa.

The only slight negative is that some of the guides are very fit and athletic and do go at rather a fast pace. I decided to walk at my own pace, and really enjoyed it, but I did feel under pressure from the fast walkers.

All in all, it was a fabulous holiday, in a beautiful part of South Africa, with great food and happy faces.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have TV, so be sure to ask! The older rooms have a great view of The Cavern 'big f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shackleford_LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
3.1 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
23.4 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
24.6 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa

Property: Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Address: End Of D 119 Road 3350 | Amphitheatre, Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavern Resort & Spa welcomes you to the adventures of mountain holidays. The Cavern, named after the “Cannibal Cavern”, is situated on 3000 hectares of private mountain reserve adjacent to the Drakensberg Amphitheatre World Heritage Site.This holiday offers you daily guided hikes to bushman paintings and rock carvings. For the more energetic, walks are organised to the Tugela Gorge, the second highest waterfall in the world, and to the top of the Amphitheatre (3100m). An extensive range of recreational facilities, from a forest spa, horse trails, trout fishing and mountain bike trails are available. This stunning resort has won numerous accolades. Honeymoon suites, superior suites and standard accommodation are available with spectacular views of the surrounding valleys, indigenous forests and mountains. Honeymoon suites are complete with four-poster beds and fireplaces for cool evenings. The superior accommodation is set away from the resort, in tranquil gardens, with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains. The reserve is home to abundant wildlife including leopard, baboon and eland and over 200 species of birds and 150 species of trees.The Forest Spa, set high up in the indigenous forest, is a relaxing space to unwind in whilst being treated by our therapists. Afterwards the unique Cave Bar is the ideal place to meet for a sundowner while looking over the valley below. Just over three hours from Gauteng and Durban it is the ideal area to spend some time in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavern Drakensberg Hotel Bergville
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing