We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fabulous holiday!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We attended the 2014 Flock in the Berg event organised by Birdlife South Africa and made the absolute best choice of accommodation for the 6 nights that we spent in the Berg. The Cavern is an experience that cannot be described. There is a reason why family owned places are so special and this one has quite a history. I can recommend The Cavern to anybody who likes the outdoors and do not mind getting spoilt! Even better, a combination of The Cavern and Birdlife SA. Plenty of special birds around if that is your thing. Else there are lovely plants and rock formations. Something for everyone! Go there and experience it for yourselves!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amour1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    106
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
154
156
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kendal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights in February. The drive from the main road was quite a challenge, about sixty km with plenty of potholes. Reception at the Cavern from Alex was warm and efficient. The room was clean, well appointed, with a balcony. Our first evening meal was a bit surreal, because we couldn't understand how the menu worked, and the waiter couldn't explain it. However, a chat with the chef revealed all. Breakfasts were really good. We had two good organised walks, especially the second with three young members of staff who were excellent company. We were impressed by the owners' involvement in the local primary school (they built it and seem to run it). The Cavern is an old-fashioned hotel in the best sense of that word. Staff are helpful and friendly, the setting is picturesque.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters. They all have outside balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianoman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have just returned from our 7th (I think) Cavern mid-week "pensioners special"
Other than the miserable weather everything was just perfect for a relaxing time away from the rat race!!
Our room has been re-furbished since our visit last year. Lovely new comfortable bed and furniture.
Our waitress Zinhle, was 'new' to us, what a star long may she keep working at the Cavern.

See you next year.

Room Tip: The rooms just above the tennis courts and bowling green (up or downstairs) have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

If it's olde-worlde charm that turns you on, then The Cavern Hotel is the place for you. It is obvious from the moment you enter at the gate, that the successive family owners have loved it through-and-through. The sensitivity of the landscaping, of the buildings, of the walks through the fern forests, the labelled trees (botanical names), the little notice boards along the walks, inviting you to further your knowledge and appreciation of our natural history - everything is indicative of TAKING CARE. Perfect for kids, sportsmen, and baby boomers alike! There is a nursery which will take care of your little ones. Loads of activities, ponies, swimming, hiking, birding, tennis, bowls - everything is kept in perfect order, and the forest spa will pamper you from head to toe. Nearby is a 9-hole golf course, and All Out Adventures which supplies adrenalin-busting activities including mountain bike riding. // Three meals a day - lovely, old-fashioned, healthy food.

It is exceptional in every way, and as far as I am concerned hospitality begins and ends with The Cavern Hotel, Drakensberg.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms don't have TV, and internet is only available for one hour a day. Ask specifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vita713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I had the pleasure of spending the weekend at the Cavern Resort and we absolutely enjoyed ourselves. From the moment you enter the premises, you are greeted with friendly smiles and wonderful service. We were assisted by Alex, telephonically, initially and when we arrived, Alex was very welcoming and friendly. Although its a family resort, we were put into a room away from the kids which was wonderful. Our room was clean and neat, the staff were friendly and efficient.

We felt so relaxed and at home at the Resort. The food was really great, so well done to the chef. We did a hike and must say that its really a neat idea that the resort packs a lunch for the hike. The view is breathtakingly beautiful. There is also plenty to do during the day.

If you are looking for a place in the Berg that is value for money, be it a couples getaway or family weekend, the Cavern is definitely your option.

Room Tip: Couples stay at the Gate house rooms, away from the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneLeCordier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I am an avid Mountain Biker. My wife loves relaxing. We both love our comfort and food. Through All Out Adventures nearby there hundreds of kilometres of beautiful MTB trails. The SPA is apparently (my wife used it a couple of times) well run and reasonable. The food was outstanding and the staff were efficient and friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryHgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It has been nine years since we visited the Cavern and we were not disappointed by our 3 day Valentine -offer stay. The food, the superior room accommodation, the scenery , the pool were just as good as we remembered and the complementary foot massage in the 'new to us' spa was extremely relaxing. All the staff were professional and pleasant. We hope to return in the not to distant future!

Room Tip: The superior suite is beautiful but the superior rooms are good too. Both are a short walk(uphill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath_P64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
2.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
230 reviews
24.0 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
6.7 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
140 reviews
4.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa

Property: Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Address: End Of D 119 Road 3350 | Amphitheatre, Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavern Resort & Spa welcomes you to the adventures of mountain holidays. The Cavern, named after the “Cannibal Cavern”, is situated on 3000 hectares of private mountain reserve adjacent to the Drakensberg Amphitheatre World Heritage Site.This holiday offers you daily guided hikes to bushman paintings and rock carvings. For the more energetic, walks are organised to the Tugela Gorge, the second highest waterfall in the world, and to the top of the Amphitheatre (3100m). An extensive range of recreational facilities, from a forest spa, horse trails, trout fishing and mountain bike trails are available. This stunning resort has won numerous accolades. Honeymoon suites, superior suites and standard accommodation are available with spectacular views of the surrounding valleys, indigenous forests and mountains. Honeymoon suites are complete with four-poster beds and fireplaces for cool evenings. The superior accommodation is set away from the resort, in tranquil gardens, with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains. The reserve is home to abundant wildlife including leopard, baboon and eland and over 200 species of birds and 150 species of trees.The Forest Spa, set high up in the indigenous forest, is a relaxing space to unwind in whilst being treated by our therapists. Afterwards the unique Cave Bar is the ideal place to meet for a sundowner while looking over the valley below. Just over three hours from Gauteng and Durban it is the ideal area to spend some time in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavern Drakensberg Hotel Bergville
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing