We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food in a tranquil bush environment close to Mapungubwe National Park”
Review of Mopane Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mopane Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Personal service, good food and accommodation in a beautiful bush setting at a fair price. Access road a bit bumpy but manageable with a sedan. Dinner at the open fire in the boma gives you the real bush feel with star gazing and the surround sounds of the bush at night.
We enjoyed the walks on the farm on the marked-out tracks, lazing around at the pool afterwards and most of all the excursions into the park and other nearby locations for birding. Anybody looking for the Collared Palm-Thrush for example?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karl-Heinz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Mopane Bush Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Expert staff, lovely facilities, great vacation atmosphere, delicious food and exceptional service! What more could one ask for? We had a great stay at Mopane Bush Lodge, the surrounding nature and community, and the Lodge itself made for an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andrion V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at Mopane for 4 nights, & can honestly say that this place is fantastic. The cottages are lovely, with outdoor showers (as well as warm indoor showers!) and outdoor seating areas with beautiful views over uninterrupted velt. The hosts could not have been any better. Andy's knowledge was a pleasure to share in & his passion for wildlife unparalleled. We did the Rock Art tour with Andy (which turned into an impromptu birding bonanza at the end), which was one of the most fascinating tours I've been on - I'd highly recommend this if you stay there, as Andy really brought it to life for us. We also went birding in the Samara Wetlands with a Mopane Lodge rep, & he was absolutely fantastic. The food was great, & whenever we visited the Mapungubwe National Park, we were given a huge hamper to take with us - there was no way we were going to starve! I will certainly be doing everything I can to visit again. A great place made even better by great people.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missechsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have some travel experience in Africa and came across many lodges and accommodations, they all may have been luxurious, beautiful located and friendly. Yet, I haven't been to a place where I felt more comfortable than at the Mopane Bush Lodge.
Especially that the hosts and other guests sit with you together for high tea, dinner or breakfast and talk on what ever is up and share their experiences...it's just really great while enjoying a meal under the stars, around a bushfire or in a cosy lounge/dining room.
Thank you for everything and we will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kOa_Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Simply amazing and relaxing. Thanks to Andrew and his team for excellent service, attention to detail, great food and their enthusiasm. We highly recommend!! That is Ayoba... Realeboga - MO'G and Tshenolo, Johannesburg

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TshenoloR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Excellent service, very relaxing. Anthony is very knowledgable, great informative trip to see bushmen cave paintings. Enjoyable game drive.Excellent choice for breakfast and very nice dinners. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Warm hospitality, excellent service and supportive staff, personal attention, good food
Very good value for money. Interesting and informative trips to the Mapungubwe National Park. Very impressive tour with Andrew to the San Rock paintings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Musina hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaoxa Bush Camp
Kaoxa Bush Camp
#3 of 17 in Musina
17 reviews
18.0 mi away
Adansonia Eco Lodge
Adansonia Eco Lodge
#4 of 17 in Musina
19 reviews
27.5 mi away
Munati Lodge
Munati Lodge
#7 of 17 in Musina
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Old Mine Guest House
Old Mine Guest House
#9 of 13 in Musina
12 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bushmen Inn Premier lodge
1.8 mi away
Dei Gratia Guest House
Dei Gratia Guest House
#3 of 13 in Musina
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mopane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mopane Bush Lodge

Address: R572 Musina / Pontdrif Road, Musina 0900, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Musina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Musina
Price Range: £220 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mopane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mopane Bush Lodge, nestled in the heart of vibrant mopane bushveld, is a place where the pursuit of tranquillity has become an art form and where gracious living and sumptuous dining is as natural as drawing breath. Four star fully catered luxury accommodation located on MAPESU PRIVATE GAME RESERVE, a 6000ha game farm, and ideally situated for visits to: MAPUNGUBWE NATIONAL PARK MAPUNGUBWE WORLD HERITAGE LANDSCAPE LIMPOPO RIVER and its confluence with the SASHE RIVER BIRDING HOTSPOTS 4 x 4 ECO TRAILS BAOBABS SAN ROCK ART plus other attractions of the area. Twelve secluded double/twin-bedded thatched chalets with en-suite bathroom, each with its own veranda and an additional outdoor shower, four of which have their own private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mopane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing