We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Pride Arabella Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
400
270
116
58
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
270
116
58
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursea la carte restaurantroom servicegolf estatebot riverplay golfbeautiful hotelcape townround of golfworld classrainforest experiencestunning viewsin room dininglagoon facing roomattention to detailwhale watchingconference
Filter
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 904 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I visited the hotel over the December holidays. This has been an amazing experience, one of the absolute highlights of my year trips. It is a true luxury establishment, the food was way beyond what I expected, the service is incredible. Not to mention the beautiful room with a lagoon view! Everyone from the porters to the management and back was highly professional, always with a smile and ready to assist, the whole atmosphere of Arabella hotel and spa felt light, pleasant and so welcoming. I am leaving tomorrow with a heavy heart but without a doubt to return here again.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone with appreciation for the fine life. The hotel offers a variety of activities on site - spa, golfing, mini golf, cycling, yoga, gym, and many other, plus a lot of wonderful places to visit around. Kleinmond beach is mere 10 km away, picturesque Hermanus is just 20 km as well, wine boutiques and small bistros.
The wide and exotic offerings of the spa was another great experience for me, the specially selected products are such a treat, not to mention leaving with a good supply of excellent products for personal care.
And once again, to all the staff and management of Arabella hotel and spa - thank you all for making my stay such an amazing experience!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank Stamena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_Meyer_AHS, Manager at African Pride Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Stamena D,
Thank you for your comments.
We will pass your valued feedback onto our STAFF, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards,
Leon Meyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have just arrived here from Cape Town hotel, the Vineyard and prior to that, the Michelangelo in JHB. We currently reside in the UK and frequently vacation at five star establishements world wide. We have never submitted a hotel review before, but feel compelled to now. On arrival, we were told to leave rental car at entrance. We checked in 11 minutes before official time of check in which is 2pm. We were told our rooms were not ready due to our premature arrival?! but we could go into the one room and the cards for second room would be delivered shortly. At 1440 the cards for second room had not yet arrived, the interleading door was securely locked and we had to request housekeeping a few times to unlock it. The cards finally arrived when I phoned for them, only to find that they did not work. The airconditioning in one room did not work (we were then told by maintenance to keep sliding door closed in order for it to work), Strange hairs were found in the newly made up bed, (hopefully newly made up). We then went in search of a late lunch and had the worst toasted sandwiches, pizzas and hamburger that we have ever been served. In the meantime, security phoned up and rudely asked us to move the car that we had been told to leave at the entrance, expecting valet parking to take care of it, as in all five star establishments. We have only been here for a few hours.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ShuShuLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at African Pride Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear ShuShuLondon,

It is with regret that I read your comments about your recent stay at the Arabella Hotel & Spa.

We are truly apologetic that your stay thus far has been less that satisfactory. We would love to assist in addressing the issues that you have raised, and would like to urge you to please make contact with myself or Anton or Jaco.

Kind regards

Leon Meyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Arabella Hotel and Spa is an exceptional gateway for families, couples or individuals or corporates looking to combine conference and golf. The Managment is exceptional and attention to the smallest detail is of key imprtance to all the staff. The food is of the highest quality and standard, the rooms are spacious and extremely well appointed and with no doubt five star plus rating. The facilities in terms of the Spa are out of this world, personally managed by there in house Spa Manager, who ensures that all his therapists are of the highest quality. So be sure to take in a massage or two and dont miss out on the Hydro pool a treat indeed. I have stayed in many hotels world wide and Arabella Hotel and Spa is right up amongst the very top! Its a place you dont want to ever leave!

Room Tip: All rooms are great 4th and 5th floor Lagoon facing are my favorite
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheleschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at African Pride Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Micheleschmidt,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about your stay. We hope to see you again soon at the Arabella Hotel and Spa.

Regards,

Leon Meyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed at the Arabella for 6 nights, with 2 interleading rooms. The service was world class, the rooms were quiet and luxurious, the pool area fantastic. It is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaulJankelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at African Pride Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear SaulJankelow,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arabella Hotel and Spa again soon!

Regards,

Leon Meyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We checked in on 30 December 2012. Soon after check in we contacted the front desk to report that the air conditioning was not working. After no response , I went down to the front desk to see if I could get it resolved. The front desk receptionist came down to my room to check the settings and assured me it would be better and that he would get the engineer to check anyway. When we returned late that evening to the room there was no improvement in the room temperature. It was so hot and stuffy in the room that I could not sleep properly. On check out, the attendant said thank you for letting her know and she would advise guest services! We were extremely disappointed with this service at an apparent 5 star hotel.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at African Pride Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

It is with dismay that I read your comments about your recent stay at the Arabella Hotel & Spa. We are truly apologetic that your air-conditioning could not have been sorted out whilst you were at the hotel. We will investigate why this was the case and ensure that we correct this problem. We wish you all the best for 2013 and look forward to welcoming you back at the Arabella.
Kind regards
Leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews