We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$245
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$77
SA Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Exner(Grabouw)
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
399
267
112
58
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
267
112
58
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursea la carte restaurantroom servicegolf estatebot riverplay golfbeautiful hotelcape townround of golfworld classrainforest experiencestunning viewsin room dininglagoon facing roomattention to detailwhale watchingconference
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
626 - 631 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for one night at this wonderful hotel situated in the middle of a golf couse with spectacular views over the bay beyond.
The rooms are very spacious and well appointed.
They have a wonderful relaxing area around the swimming pool which has a waterfall feature at the end.
We found the food to be of a high standard and equally supplemented by pleasant and efficient staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alf653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Alf 653
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback after your recent stay at Arabella!
I am glad that we agree that the hotel enjoys one of the finest locations with spectacular views over the lagoon. The TEAM are delighted to hear that you found the food to be of a high standard and that the staff was pleasant and efficient.

Regards
Arabella Managerment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel thinks of everything. The rooms are Devine, luxurious and sumptuous. Very large rooms amazing bathrooms and comfort to die for. The staff are superb the services are excellent. From valet parking clone drink and then shown to our room. Grand deluxe room 420 amazing views of the lagoon. I really can't say enough just book book book! Pool is the best I have seen in south Africa. Totally relaxing stay. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Opt for lagoon view and anything above ground floor. Booked with Joanne at protea she was really helpful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Spellar
Thank you for visiting us again! Great comments – thank you very much - we appreciate your feedback and for staying with us.
We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Regards
Arabella Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We visited Hermanus and stayed at the beautiful Arabella Hotel. I was very impressed by the beautiful lobby. The view from the lobby was tranquil and relaxing. Our family was given one suite room and one regular room and both rooms were equally comfortable and modern. We specially liked the spacious balcony area. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and although there wasn't a lot of selection, the quality was good. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to South Africa.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Book W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_ASH, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Book W
Thank you for your most positive review, we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Arabella. The Chef has appreciated your feedback on the breakfast and dinner offerings and will look into creating a more diverse selection.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to South Africa!
Regards
Wayne Siepman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A very last minute choice,but not regretting one minute,even decided to stay a second week...wonderful warm hotel welcome after long trip from France,to be showed to my room and discover a splendid view,like heaven looking over golf course and lagoon.
The breakfast is great,lots to choose from,excellent and friendly staff,taken inside or outside(morning sunshine with view over large,paradise pool with a waterfall)..so relaxing.
The day can start by the salt watered pool,taking a second shower under the waterfall or snoozing peacefully till noon,bar staff only ready to serve you a drink or food.
If you feel like spa spoiling,there are treatments free for guests...steam,sauna rooms,aqua-tonic pool and if too much energy ,try the health club equipped for running,cycling,or body building.Also available.are other spa treatments needing reservations at inexpensive rates,not forgetting that if you need a haircut..or a facial massage..
Walking lovers will enjoy early morning strolls around the 18 hole golf course ,before 7 o clock or after 7 o clock pm ,discovering the local wildlife and spectacular vegetation..I would agree with golfers that the course is at this time in Bad condition,certain holes in particular and can understand the complaints.Otherwise,a beautiful golf course.
For an anti-stress vacation away from city noise and pollution,and from winter in Europe,this was paradise,recommending it highly to nature lovers who like the quiet life.
The hotel has been helpful and friendly,making one feel very much a guest.
Thanking all the hotel staff for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on lagoon side=morning sunrise.Rooms on pool side=Waterfall
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefaf747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear stefaf747
Thanks for a great review and comments. We are delighted to hear that you have experienced Arabella as a wonderful warm hotel and that you have decided to stay a second week!
Thank you in particular, for highlighting the helpfulness and friendliness shown by the staff! We wish to assure you that we have congratulated the STAFF for doing such an outstanding job.
Please visit us again soon!
Arabella Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Sure, the hotel has an amazing aspect and view, but looks can be deceiving. The alarm bells should have rung when they didn't return our emails when booking. After being assured we would be met at CT airport for transport to the hotel, a 90 min drive and we landed late at night, no transport. On ringing them we were told make our own way there. Finally we organised our own transport at considerable expense to us on such short notice. On arrival we had to get the luggage trolly ourselves and wheel our own luggage to reception, a great photo which i will post. Still not much in the way of an apology. We asked for an early morning wake up call, no call. How many stars is this place and how much a night?? Maybe we were unlucky, but still no apology.

Room Tip: Dont go, service terrible
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Drew M
Please also accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you with the transport arrangements, as well as for the lack of porter service, and the failure to follow through with the wake-up call. We are disappointed to hear that you were not met at the airport by our transport provider and that you were not greeted by one of our porters on arrival to assist with your luggage.
This most certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we are usually proud to offer our GUESTS.
We all agree that it is essential to our operation to know where we fall behind and indeed where we excel. Once again, please accept our apologies that your experience with us was not up to the expected standard.

Regards
Arabella Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews