We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
399
268
112
58
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
268
112
58
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursea la carte restaurantroom servicegolf estatebot riverplay golfbeautiful hotelcape townround of golfworld classrainforest experiencestunning viewsin room dininglagoon facing roomattention to detailwhale watchingconference
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Arabella and enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the same level as the pool and therefore had a terrace looking onto the garden which suited us fine. The bathroom is open plan but can be completely partitioned off if you are not keen on open plan bathing!

We ate at the buffet restaurant on the first night and found the service to be slow in clearing plates and as the tureens of food had the lids left open my fish was tepid, although very nice.

We ate in the al la carte restautant the next 2 night and the food and service were probably the best that we had in our visit to South Africa.

There is also a very good selection for breakfast.

Apart from the hitch on the first night the service from staff was excellent as you would expect from a 5 star estabilshment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_ASH, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Travellers-Chick
We really appreciate your kind review. The Arabella TEAM appreciate this kind of feedback as they are totally focused on delivery and service and receiving this acknowledgement is welcomed! We are delighted that we lived up to our 5 star status!
Regards
Wayne Siepman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was treated to a light lunch and spa treatment when finished Chemo and staying with friends in Fisherhaven. The Hotel and pool area plus a stunning golf course was heaven. Salad lunch included fresh prawns a delicious glass of cold local wine all below R100. Staff friendly . Thanks Mariska .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_ASH, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Hilary464
It was such a pleasure to read your fantastic feedback! We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed a being treated at Arabella!
Regards
Wayne Siepman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Arabella is a luxury hotel sitting in beautiful landscape and large and very well tended grounds. The main building is of spectacular architecture, and there are several restaurants and bars. My room was very large, with balcony, and a fantastic bathroom. The breakfast selection is outstanding, and the food in the restaurant of very high standard. The pool is beautiful and large, and the gardens lovely. The grounds are large enough to go for a good run, although this is not recommended unless it is early morning or evening due to the possibility of being knocked down by a golf ball. The hotel is in a very remote location and only accessible by car. There is no reason to fault this hotel, it is simply perfect. Still, to me all this perfection appeared slightly cold and soulless. I personally would not choose this hotel for a romantic get away, or a holiday. It is perfect as a conference venue (and that is why I stayed there), although quite some distance from Capetown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redcar2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_ASH, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear redcar2606
Thank you very much for your most positive feedback on your stay at Arabella. We truly are glad to hear that you have appreciated so many of our offerings at the Hotel and on the Estate.
Regards
Wayne Siepman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I should have been able to write a review of the Jamani restaurant at the Arabella Hotel but it is not to be. We are a party of 10 people who are staying at the Arabella Estate for a weekend of golf. Over a month ago, we booked a table for 10 for dinner at Jamani this weekend (Fri 7th Feb). This evening, just 24 hours before our booking, we received a phone call telling us that we cannot eat at the restaurant as the hotel has now accepted a block booking for a large group and they will not be able to accommodate us. This is a very poor approach to restaurant customers - we are now having to scrabble around and make a reservation for dinner (not easy for 10 people at such short notice on a Fri night) in Hermanus which is a few kilometres away. How on earth can tnhey just 'dump' people? I am very angry and disappointed at this attitude from a supposedly 5* star venue.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_ASH, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Christine L
Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns regarding Arabella not being able to accommodate your restaurant booking. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for disappointing you!
I am truly relieved that we have resolved this issue telephonically and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back!
Regards
Wayne Siepman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Arabella Hotel is a nice hotel with a very good restaurant.
Prices are lower than you expect in a 5* hotel.
The golf course is beautifull and easy to play. (The girl in the golfshop could be a bit more friendly)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_ASH, General Manager at Arabella Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Magda S
Thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed our restaurant and playing golf on our beautiful course.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back at Arabella soon.
Regards
Wayne Siepman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews