We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Basic Camping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Migunga Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we stayed at Migunga Tented camp for one night. The tents are large, on raised staging and are clean enough with bathroom. Entry to the tents involves unzipping the front flap which is not too easy in the dark. The food was passable and the setting in dry woodland was interesting because of the birds etc. You are escorted back to your tent at night which is reassuring fro the nervous but there are no dangerous animals here.

Room Tip: All the tents are well spaced but try to get one not too far from the restaurant and don't tread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

I should say now that we were on our honeymoon and neither of us are avid campers and Migunger was just a little bit too much like a camp site as it was the only place we stayed at where we felt like we were actually unzipping and zipping a tent to get in and out at night.

The food was good but I wouldn't say it was as good as other places we stayed, we arrived late and it was all darkness and insects (it is in a forest!) and then left early so I'm basing my review on that more than anything else and the fact that it wasn't quite right for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DidsburyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

At Migunga tented Camp, I enjoyed my conversations at the fire place and biking around Lake Manyara and the nature walks.
I stayed here for two days, and I must say I enjoyed myself really well. The tents are clean, though very basic.
The staffs at Migunga are very polite. They were awesome and always helpful. The chef cooks good meals, and I hope you will enjoy as I did, and so have others from past reviews.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Solomon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Really enjoyed our fews days here at Migunga camp. The tents were really well appointed with decent showers and comfortable beds, a big plus. The staff were very helpful and the food excellent. The log fire every night to gather round before and after dinner was great for meeting people and the resident animals added to the whole experience. I would also like to make a special mention of the four guys with the makeshift shop just outside the camp entrance - please pay them a visit they have some great paintings and artefacts.

Room Tip: All the tents are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orchardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Migunga Tented Camp was the first nights accommodation on our safari, and both my wife and I where pleasantly surprised at how wonderful it was. The setting is fantastic - our lodge was in the forest, and the vervet monkeys came up close during the evening. The food was good, and we would stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We loved this place. The tents were nice and clean. The yellow fever trees, the monkeys and mongooses really added to the idyllic feeling we had while staying here. The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious. It was only a short drive to Manyara National Park. We also took a walking tour through the village and the fields surrounding it, which was great. The walk was organised by the Tanzania Wellness Society' Taweso'. Our guide Michael was very enthusiastic and told us a lot about the people and plants we saw on our way.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Miyelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Avery nice place situated in Lake Manyara National Park. View more Banded mongoose while taking a rest after your long Journey from Arusha or Ngorongoro, also i viewed vervet monkeys which come close while searching their food in tall migunga forest which depicts the lodge name. Wonderfull place, excellent service & professional staff. "wow cool & nice place to be"

Room Tip: Rooms on far North are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
207 reviews
22.5 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#32 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
55 reviews
22.6 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#25 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
283 reviews
4.8 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
203 reviews
60.7 mi away
Moivaro Lodge
Moivaro Lodge
#12 of 180 in Arusha
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Migunga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migunga Tented Camp

Address: Migunga Village | Lake Manyara, 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £133 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Migunga Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migunga Tented Camp is nestled in a quiet corner on the northwest ofLake Manyara. The camp is ideally situated in shade of a yellow barkedacacia forest, only 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park. The national park spreads out across the Great East African Rift Valley and is often called Tanzania's water wonderland due to the large number of birds and animals the lake supports. This is also the only area where lions climb trees..Migunga Tented Camp is nestled away in a quiet corner of 35 acres of acacia forest and consists of 21 semi-luxury permanent tents on raised platforms with en-suite bathrooms and a private veranda overlooking the lush forest. All the tents are discreetly placed around a central glade, offering shade and privacy but still only a short walk to the restaurant and bar.At Migunga you wake up in the morning to the sound of the forest, with the beams of the sun finding their way through our the tall trees. In the afternoon you can enjoy our mountain bike ride trail through Lake Manyara’s backyard or enjoy watching our vervet monkeys muck about on the central field. The evenings are resonating with the typical sounds of forest creatures, making you fairytale complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Jovago.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Migunga Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Migunga Forest Camp Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing