We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Migunga Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Situated among tall trees, the raised tents , the main lodge with dining room, the grounds , everything is bathed in a lovely green light, with soft rustling sounds overhead- refreshing after a hot day in Lake Manyara National Park in the dry season!Staff was friendly, service was great, food delicious, tents roomy, beds comfy - overall an excellent place to stay on Safari - we were sorry to have had only one night!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Migunga Tented Camp, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Petra,

Thanks for your great review of Migunga Tented Camp.

We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us as we strive for our guests to receive excellent service with nice rooms, nice service and excellent food.

Hoping that when you have more time you will come relax for a longer period at the Migunga Tented Camp.

Karibu Sana!

The Moivaro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    78
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
43
80
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here one night and were very pleased with our stay. Our tent was past the bridge so it was secluded. As we were being guided to our room on arrival, there was a monkey on our porch. The grounds are lush and beautiful, at night you can hear the sounds of nature and animals. It is very peaceful, even if you are a light sleeper.

The tents are spread our so you don't ever feel crowded. The tents themselves are very comfortable with king sized beds and large bathrooms. The shower was large and had plenty of hot water. I love the fact that you can look out your mesh windows and see beauty all around you.

The food here is very good. Our first night we had the choice of lamb or vegetable stew. We don't like lamb so opted for the vegetable which was quite good and surprisingly filling. Upon arriving we were asked if we had any food restrictions, which we said we had none. If you really don't like something-tell them at that time as by dinner time it is usually too late.

I would love to stay here again. It was very serene and beautiful, the staff was also very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Migunga Tented Camp, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Migunga Tented Camp.

We are very happy to know that you were pleased with our services, staff and amenities.

We also appreciate you sharing this on Trip Advisor and we would love to welcome you back sometime soon.

Thanks & Regards,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to be near Lake Manyara and the Ngorongoro Crater.
The staff and management are excellent and all go out of their way to make this a nice place to stay.
However, some of the rooms are very far from the main lodge and the camp itself is quite a drive from most places.
One night here is probably sufficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the main lodge building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ullans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we stayed at Migunga Tented camp for one night. The tents are large, on raised staging and are clean enough with bathroom. Entry to the tents involves unzipping the front flap which is not too easy in the dark. The food was passable and the setting in dry woodland was interesting because of the birds etc. You are escorted back to your tent at night which is reassuring fro the nervous but there are no dangerous animals here.

Room Tip: All the tents are well spaced but try to get one not too far from the restaurant and don't tread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I should say now that we were on our honeymoon and neither of us are avid campers and Migunger was just a little bit too much like a camp site as it was the only place we stayed at where we felt like we were actually unzipping and zipping a tent to get in and out at night.

The food was good but I wouldn't say it was as good as other places we stayed, we arrived late and it was all darkness and insects (it is in a forest!) and then left early so I'm basing my review on that more than anything else and the fact that it wasn't quite right for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DidsburyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

At Migunga tented Camp, I enjoyed my conversations at the fire place and biking around Lake Manyara and the nature walks.
I stayed here for two days, and I must say I enjoyed myself really well. The tents are clean, though very basic.
The staffs at Migunga are very polite. They were awesome and always helpful. The chef cooks good meals, and I hope you will enjoy as I did, and so have others from past reviews.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Solomon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Really enjoyed our fews days here at Migunga camp. The tents were really well appointed with decent showers and comfortable beds, a big plus. The staff were very helpful and the food excellent. The log fire every night to gather round before and after dinner was great for meeting people and the resident animals added to the whole experience. I would also like to make a special mention of the four guys with the makeshift shop just outside the camp entrance - please pay them a visit they have some great paintings and artefacts.

Room Tip: All the tents are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#33 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#25 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moivaro Lodge
Moivaro Lodge
#12 of 170 in Arusha
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Migunga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migunga Tented Camp

Property: Migunga Tented Camp
Address: Migunga Village | Lake Manyara, 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Migunga Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migunga Tented Camp is nestled in a quiet corner on the northwest ofLake Manyara. The camp is ideally situated in shade of a yellow barkedacacia forest, only 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park. The national park spreads out across the Great East African Rift Valley and is often called Tanzania's water wonderland due to the large number of birds and animals the lake supports. This is also the only area where lions climb trees..Migunga Tented Camp is nestled away in a quiet corner of 35 acres of acacia forest and consists of 21 semi-luxury permanent tents on raised platforms with en-suite bathrooms and a private veranda overlooking the lush forest. All the tents are discreetly placed around a central glade, offering shade and privacy but still only a short walk to the restaurant and bar.At Migunga you wake up in the morning to the sound of the forest, with the beams of the sun finding their way through our the tall trees. In the afternoon you can enjoy our mountain bike ride trail through Lake Manyara’s backyard or enjoy watching our vervet monkeys muck about on the central field. The evenings are resonating with the typical sounds of forest creatures, making you fairytale complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Jovago.com so you can book your Migunga Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Migunga Forest Camp Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing