We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Rim View(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Jambo Rooms(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
Highview Hotel(Karatu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
186
23
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
23
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerpersonal butleroverlooking lake manyarafour seasonswelcome songmusic and dancingair conditioningstunning viewsfooted tubassigned a butlerhotel experienceamazing sunsetrooms are hugemain areaprivate balconythe hotel managercomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I stayed her only one night on September 5, 2012. We had just completed a climb of Kilimanjaro and were looking for a luxury getaway. We were blown away by Escarpment! From the minute we arrived we were greeted by the GM and our butler who made sure that every aspect of our stay was perfect. The views were stunning overlooking Lake Manyara, our room/cabin is what my dream bedroom would look like, and the service was stunning. We had a private dinner table setup overlooking the Lake and even had a band play during our meal. My wife is a vegetarian and the chef was very accommodating and the food/wine was delicious. My wife and I both agreed that this was the most luxurious hotel we have every stayed at anywhere in the world including Europe and the US. Next time we go back to Tanzania we will only stay here while on Safari. The pool is the perfect place to relax after a dusty day on Safari. We stayed at Lemala Tented Camp and Tarangire Treetops and they were great and I would also recommend them, nothing compared to Escarpment. Thank you Escarpment for the one of the most luxurious experience of my life!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waker433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Escarpment lodge is absolutely beautiful in stunning surroundings with exceptional staff and attention to detail. The moment we arrived we were greeted by Edwin the General Manager and Mohammed our butler and were made to feel very welcome. Mohammed was very attentive throughout our stay, be it bringing us coffee in the morning, preparing a hot bubble bath for our return from a day exploring, ensuring we had a drink in our hands at all times, to talking to us about the local surroundings and culture. The view over Lake Manyara is breathtaking and the pool and outside areas frame the scenery beautifully. The rooms are amazing with everything you could possibly need and more. The food was also amazing and expertly prepared by Chef Michael and his team.

We went on a walk with the local Masai guide which was very interesting and we learnt about how the Masai live, their traditions and in particular the herbal medicines that they continue to prepare from the local plants and trees.

We could not have asked for more and felt thoroughly relaxed and pampered by the time we came to say goodbye. We highly recommend Escarpment Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nichola0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Escarpment Luxury Lodge was pretty much perfect in all aspects.

Service - Unparalleled. Edwin, the hotel manager made us feel comfortable from the first second we stepped out of our car to the second we left, answering all of our questions and making sure we were always taken care of. Can't say enough about Tummaini, our butler, who was there every step of the way to make sure we were pampered beyond belief. The entire staff top to bottom made sure that not a second went by when we didn't have everything we needed, whether it be a drink in our hand, escorting us to our rooms at night, or bringing fresh coffee to wake us up in the morning.

Food- Chef Michael put together some phenomenal meals for us, and gave us a wide range of experiences from 7-course marathon tasting menu dinners to a stir fry barbecue cook-out on the lawn overlooking the lake. Breakfast and lunch were solid, but dinner was definitely the main event.

Rooms- Beautiful decor, comfortable beds, indoor and outdoor showers, and a patio with a view over Lake Manyara. As good as it gets.

Entertainment- Every night there was some form of entertainment, whether it be a band to play during dinner or tribal dance and singing shows. All out on the lawn over looking Lake Manyara.

Overall, I'd be shocked if there was a better place to stay around Lake Manyara/Ngorongoro Crater. Highly recommend to anyone and everyone who can afford. Everything about this place is top-notch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed here for a night the last week of June. I wish I had stayed longer. Beautiful lodge, great food and the staff is amazing!!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank lila l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Had a wonderful time with my family, very luxurious, you appreciate the wonderful grounds and experience especially if you go to a tent afterwards. We missed this place the rest of our trip. The rooms are wonderful, the shower, and bath tub and outdoor shower is very cool. The beds so comfortable, the food was great (would say they need to learn how to cook pasta a little better, say use, garlic and butter, and not so over cooked), coffee was great, and french press to the room was a pleasure. The Masai guard taking us to our room and back was wonderful too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiaOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews