We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, elegant lodge with friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, elegant lodge with friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If your looking for an amazingly nice place to stay, with a friendly staff, near Lake Manyara and reasonably priced, than Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge is the place.
Consider the elegant wooden architecture the structure is built with as bonus.

I stayed at Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro, Seronera and Lobo from the
Hotels And Lodges properties, and I am giving all 4 places a 5 star rating for the superb service, quality and value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildlifeNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    51
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
30
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I went there as a part of my Safari, the place is nice, the view for Lake Manyara is absolutely beautiful.
The rooms does not have Air conditioner, but is not needed you can open your window it have insects screens, and have a pleasant night.
The breakfast is not to good, the Dinners are ok, Rooms are big enough, you have your small balcony facing the lake.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was one of 8 places we stayed while on Safari in Tanzania--and turned out to be the least favorite of the 8. The view and setting was beautiful. We appreciated being met with a scented wash cloth and fruit beverage when we arrived. The bar and lounge area was done very nicely as well as there was an intriguing local 4 person musical group playing at night on the patio (they had very unusual instruments and enjoyed sharing them with us) The staff seemed willing to help where they could and the food was adequate. The reason I am not rating high or raving about this establishment is due to comparison with other places we stayed on safari. While the rooms were sufficient to have a safe and fairly clean room, the rooms were very small and once the bed nets were spread around the bed, there was hardly any room at all to move around the room and it was hard to get ventilation in the room as there was not a screen on the slated windows. The food was adequate but did not stand out on the quality--again in comparison with what we ate elsewhere on safari. It seemed more "touristy" type restaurant setting and food--lacking in local "color". The item that would keep me from ever coming back was the fact that our driver/guide was not allotted to eat or stay there with other driver/guides as was the common practice on our other accommodations on safari. On our safari, our driver/guide became our friend who we will continue to keep in touch with when we are home. Going into the stay at the hotel, I was not aware that he would not be included to eat with us before it was too late--otherwise we would have paid ourselves for his lodging and food. This is NOT the way to treat the driver/guides for without them, a huge percentage of the clients at the hotel would not be there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The location is beautiful. It was totally unexpected coming off the main highway. The pool was the best and cleanest on our safari. It was a nice change to be able to sit out by the pool with a gin & tonic and actually enjoy the pool. The food selection was great. The chef was knowledgeable with gluten free options. The rooms were super clean and the staff was very friendly. Just watch out for the baboons out in the yard and don't leave your room unlocked....as the baboons will find their way in :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dallas_sky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This lodge was night, we stayed here the last night of our trip. The rooms were comfortable and they had a nice pool and bar area. The views of Lake Manyara were also nice. The food was okay and was buffet for dinner and breakfast. The only negative was the staff was very loud when preparing breakfast. It woke us up an hour earlier than we had planned. We also had loud staff waiting outside our door to carry our bags about 30 minutes before we needed to leave. It kind of ruined the peace and quiet of our last bit of time here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lager023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Compared with the vast Serengeti and the picturesque Ngorongoro crater, the wildlife around Lake Manyara is not a huge attraction. However, it is a refreshing break and the location of Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge on the great ridge affords gorgeous views of the lake.

The hotel is not over-crowded. Rooms comfortable and the dining options will not leave you hungry. Groups of baboons passing by the hotel remind you of the need to keep your valuables safe and baboons are not friendly.

We would recommend this hotel in the Lake Manyara area as it provides great views overlooking the ridge.

Room Tip: Corner rooms overlooking the lake are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BharatGala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

This was the perfect spot to start our safari with RA Safaris. The rooms were clean and spacious. Did need to keep the windows closed in the morning as baboons came to visit. Get up for sunrise it is perfect from the bar next to the pool.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room from what our group experienced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52inches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
1.5 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
734 reviews
5.1 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
261 reviews
19.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
403 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#2 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing