We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
55
56
26
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
56
26
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobby bar one night lake manyara fine place day safari nice hotel wonderful view the great rift valley main building hot water baboons wifi balcony beatles lodge drive wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed in room 25 for one night during our safari with Climb Kili. The room had 2 large beds with netting, a small moldy bathroom and a beautiful view to die for. Although we couldn’t sit on the balcony and enjoy the wonderful view because of a lingering baboon, the entertainment he provided was enjoyable.
The lodge is beautifully decorated and the rooms were nice as well. The outside bar and pool area are stunning although we didn’t use either.
The dining room was beautiful and had a fantastic view but didn’t appear too clean. When we sat down for dinner there was some sort of animal poop on the table (I'm guessing baboon) and the waiter just swooshed it onto the floor and didn't bother to wipe down the table so that kind of gave us the heebie jeebies. Needless to say, we didn't use the butter or anything else that was on the table. The dinner was delicious and the breakfast the next morning was very good as well. The waiters are extremely attentive and pretty much stand there staring at you while you try and enjoy your meal, which I suppose is better than ignoring you.
Fortunately or unfortunately, whichever way you look at it, we were the only guests in the entire lodge except for another family of 6 that didn't speak any English so communicating was a little difficult.
My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at this lodge and had a lot of gut-wrenching hysterical laughing moments, which made everything better.

Room tip: room 25 had a beautiful view
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Long overdue review...

The lodge and the rooms have nice views. Got an upper floor unit at the end of the property. super close to Lake Manyara. Pool looked cool, though we didnot have time to enjoy it. Decor was very pleasant. Breakfast was good, but the service was a little slow - getting you seated, clearing tables, refilling empty stations, veg options etc. It is not extraordinary as other hotels I stayed at Tanzania during my safari trip, except for the location and cleanliness. Stayed there in 2011.

Room tip: End of the property. Upper floor units have view of the lake.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aarthi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here on day 1 of our 6 night safari booked with Bobby's Tours in Arusha.

This place is stunning. The view is marvellous. All internal rooms that we saw were well decorated and had loads of character. The external areas the same.

Food was good when eating in the Restuarant but the lunch boxes that they prepared were very poor in comparison to the restaurant. Don't get me wrong we're weren't expecting some kind of banquet in a cardboard box but the items supplied were basic and flavourless.

Most of the staff were pretty attentive but some not so.

I think Wifi was available but at a rate of $10 per hour, but we may have misunderstood. I'd wait to get to the Sopa Lodges, if you're going, as it's free of charge there for sure.

Its a lovely place and would’ve been nice to stay a little longer to enjoy it really.

The negatives shouldn't put you off but if they read this then they act on these areas then this place could be complete.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle-Jayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A neat place.
When you driving the last 100meters you driving trouh a village wich looks so poor and the. You driving up to the lodge wich is so big and looks not poor at all. Its gives you a bad taste in you mouth.
The lodge i clean and nice and if you go to the bar you have and gret view to Lake Manyara.
The food is nice and the staff is nice.
There is a lot of baboons outside and inside the lodge. If you leave something or sit on the balconny the will attack. It sound dramatic. They just food, but they are pretty aggresive.

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Travlerfromnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

it's very sad experience while staying here for one night. only better thing of this lodge was good location & good interiors. you cann't see migration of any animals..it's not even worth value to stay with poor service,however food was good.manager was not at available when asked reception.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksI9486PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews