We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class amazing views to die for !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This has to be one of the most relaxing places i have ever been to. During the day lounging on padded deck chairs on the bluff overlooking the Lake. Most people are off on safari so you often have the pool and views to yourself midday ! Great food staff rooms and hospitality.

Room Tip: Spend a day relaxing by the pool overlooking the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michaelbrkeaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed in room 25 for one night during our safari with Climb Kili. The room had 2 large beds with netting, a small moldy bathroom and a beautiful view to die for. Although we couldn’t sit on the balcony and enjoy the wonderful view because of a lingering baboon, the entertainment he provided was enjoyable.
The lodge is beautifully decorated and the rooms were nice as well. The outside bar and pool area are stunning although we didn’t use either.
The dining room was beautiful and had a fantastic view but didn’t appear too clean. When we sat down for dinner there was some sort of animal poop on the table (I'm guessing baboon) and the waiter just swooshed it onto the floor and didn't bother to wipe down the table so that kind of gave us the heebie jeebies. Needless to say, we didn't use the butter or anything else that was on the table. The dinner was delicious and the breakfast the next morning was very good as well. The waiters are extremely attentive and pretty much stand there staring at you while you try and enjoy your meal, which I suppose is better than ignoring you.
Fortunately or unfortunately, whichever way you look at it, we were the only guests in the entire lodge except for another family of 6 that didn't speak any English so communicating was a little difficult.
My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at this lodge and had a lot of gut-wrenching hysterical laughing moments, which made everything better.

Room Tip: room 25 had a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Long overdue review...

The lodge and the rooms have nice views. Got an upper floor unit at the end of the property. super close to Lake Manyara. Pool looked cool, though we didnot have time to enjoy it. Decor was very pleasant. Breakfast was good, but the service was a little slow - getting you seated, clearing tables, refilling empty stations, veg options etc. It is not extraordinary as other hotels I stayed at Tanzania during my safari trip, except for the location and cleanliness. Stayed there in 2011.

Room Tip: End of the property. Upper floor units have view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aarthi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here on day 1 of our 6 night safari booked with Bobby's Tours in Arusha.

This place is stunning. The view is marvellous. All internal rooms that we saw were well decorated and had loads of character. The external areas the same.

Food was good when eating in the Restuarant but the lunch boxes that they prepared were very poor in comparison to the restaurant. Don't get me wrong we're weren't expecting some kind of banquet in a cardboard box but the items supplied were basic and flavourless.

Most of the staff were pretty attentive but some not so.

I think Wifi was available but at a rate of $10 per hour, but we may have misunderstood. I'd wait to get to the Sopa Lodges, if you're going, as it's free of charge there for sure.

Its a lovely place and would’ve been nice to stay a little longer to enjoy it really.

The negatives shouldn't put you off but if they read this then they act on these areas then this place could be complete.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle-Jayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A neat place.
When you driving the last 100meters you driving trouh a village wich looks so poor and the. You driving up to the lodge wich is so big and looks not poor at all. Its gives you a bad taste in you mouth.
The lodge i clean and nice and if you go to the bar you have and gret view to Lake Manyara.
The food is nice and the staff is nice.
There is a lot of baboons outside and inside the lodge. If you leave something or sit on the balconny the will attack. It sound dramatic. They just food, but they are pretty aggresive.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Travlerfromnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

it's very sad experience while staying here for one night. only better thing of this lodge was good location & good interiors. you cann't see migration of any animals..it's not even worth value to stay with poor service,however food was good.manager was not at available when asked reception.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksI9486PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A pleasant enough lodge, well located, near Lake manyara, but on the way to Ngorogoro. Good views over the lakeside and park below, attractive grounds, comfortable beds and rooms with friendly service all round and food that ranges from the mediocre to the surpirisngly good - suppose it depends on the buffet of the day.
By no means inspired accommodation, niether is it cheap, but compared to what's on offer, a good choice for those opting for comfort.
We were not graced by bed-bugs, but had a couple of unwelcome visitors. Not realising a window had been left open, I was shocked when I caught a thief red-handed in my room. Not only that, the burglar was determined to take something of value before leaving and continue to rifle through my belongings until I threw the key, which left the individual and child to flee through the gap behind the curtain.
After running off some 20 metres or so, the burglar stopped to insepct the haul, and only when she discovered it contained nothing more interesting than whiskey, casually abandonned the bottle and shinned down a wooden pilar to reconnoitre the wing for any other openings, until striking lucky and running off with a packet of biscuits.
Apparently there are signs warning not to leave windows open as thefts are all too common from the rooms, although many even seem to find the audacity of the baboons amusing. With a lack of doubles, the three of us were provided with interconnected rooms, giving us a lot of space, however we weren't counting upon having to share the area with other "family" members!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block on the first floor, not too far from reception, and especially not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffwellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
24.5 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
698 reviews
11.9 mi away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karatu
227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
290 reviews
19.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing