We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Our Safari Tour stopped here for Christmas eve stayover. We were treated with warm greetings and punch while checking in. We were escorted to our tents by Maasai Tribesmen, which was nice because it was getting a little late, and animals were out and about! Dinner was great, and our hosts arranged for a little show by local youth from the tribe. They did some traditional dances and 'helped' us to participate. All had much fun! When we got back to our tents, we found the netting had been set in place, and each of us had a little gift from the hotel's family. M little Maasai statue is a warm reminder of the trip.
The road that leads to the camp may have you wondering "oh my, what are we doing..." but it opens to a beautiful oasis that overlooks the plain. I recommend you sleep in the tents - they are well ammended, privately tucked in the landscape, and you can see and hear all sorts of wildlife. The generators go down around 11, and after that, when you step outside, if its clear, you will LOVE the night sky!

Room Tip: try and get a tent! they open out to the plain, what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioFio_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

Our first night on the safari. Greeted with drinks. The food was excellent and staff very friendly. The rooms were clean. The staff was close by to walk us back to the main lobby and to the rooms after dark. Good start to the safari and after the drive from the airport

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This well manicured oasis was beautifully landscaped with a wonderful variety of flowers and flowering bushes. The thatched roofed tented room had everything we needed. We enjoyed supper and breakfast and would recommend this location to all Tanzania travellers for a safari stopping point. It was a kick to be escorted to our room by a Maasai tribesman. Of course, he had no weapon and if lions attacked, he could have most assuredly outrun us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We were pleasanlyt surprised when we arrived. In the middle of nowhere, after a small drive from the mainroad to the lodge, seeing only dry rocks, coming into a wonderfull place. Very nice view, relaxed area with swimmingpool, nice and comfortable lodges! Good food, friendly staff.
Can recommand people to go there. The enviremont is only the Manyara park. So one night is enough or if you want to relax one extra day, this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarleneBlantyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Incredible view in a remote location.

There were tents and lodges available. Nicely decorated, the two storey logdes offered enough comfort, but the abscence of windows (or any means to close the window opening) in the lodges made it very windy and cold at night.

Little choice of food, especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were four people traveling (2 couples, 2 rooms) and only stayed here one night but were pleasantly surprised. The view is amazing, make sure you're back at the lodge in time to see the sunset. It is very close to Lake Manyara Park. The food was authentic and tasty. The service was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathrooms were a lot nicer than we were expecting for a tented lodge in Africa. The bonfire was a great place to relax after dinner and chat with other guests. We were awoken early in the morning by the many birds in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k_norrman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp, is located east of Lake Manyara, just 5km before Mto wa Mbu (coming from Arusha). It is not situated as most of the other lodges on the mountain side.

The tented lodges in the first row have a breathtaking view as you look down at the lake and the horizon the plateau.

Pros:
- great view, especially if you take a sun-downer and watch the sunset
- they have a pool with the same view
- service is discrete, good and friendly

Cons:
- the food buffet style was rather ok with not much taste, the counter gets quickly messy if you come later, it is a bit disappointing to the rest of the comfort

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hubeerrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
5.9 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
202 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
769 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
146 reviews
4.2 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
30 reviews
21.8 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp

Address: Losirwa, Mto wa Mbu, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £146 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp lies along the 600 meter Rift Valley Escarpment over the river basin overlooking the lake itself. Our accommodations and infinity swimming pool are built right at the edge of the escarpment and provide unparalleled views of the region. The camp is divided into cabins and safari tents, offering visitors a range of options for accommodations. We are located a short drive from Arusha and are most closely accessible from Kilimanjaro Airport and we offer shuttle service from those destinations. Our chefs prepare the most succulent cuisine you’ll find on your safari, offering a range of Continental, Asian and African cuisine and our bartenders offer great cocktails into the late hours of the night in our lounge area which is equipped with a big-screen tv and satellite, weather permitting. We offer bush dinners and late night safari drives for visitors upon request and are happy to accommodate meal preferences, special occasions and events. Accommodations are authentically safari themed and offer up authentic local furniture and electricity during generator hours. Let the Luxury Safari Adventure begin at Lake Manyara Wildlife Camp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing