We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A SAFE PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

we were there on Easter holidays this year 2014 in april, we had booked 1 night stay here,,,about 14 of us came from dar....booked 4 rooms....at night around 1:30 FIVE armed gun men enter my cousins room....gun pointing him and his mother...this went on for 1 hour with out the security's notice who were also given fire arms and guns for security of the tourist in the hotel,,despite all this they came took every thing...left the passports,,,,,and fired 2 shots in the room ceiling before they left,,,,and while they were in the room...1 of them went on the other side rooms to check if more people were there....but they left as they noticed they were creating their presence...the hotel management is denying if anything has taken place of this sort.... despite of tight security.....and armed security and masai people in the hotel.....sad but it happened

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank jagroopjheetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARK G, Owner at Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Guests

I am the Chairman of Wild Africa Limited trading as Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp at Losirwa, Mto wa Mbu, Manayara providing boarding and lodging services to local and foreign visitors to our game parks.

The incident is alleged to have occurred in the early morning of 20th April 2014 whereby one of the members of a groups of 12 local residents who stayed in the camp claimed to have been robbed resulting in him having lost Tshs.800,000= (Equiv of USD.500-)

No one was or appeared to have been injured and the rest of the family members appeared to be concerned.

Upon the claimant raising the alarm, all our guards and our management team including senior security officer gathered at the crime scene within minutes to comfort the claimant and his mother. They were then joined by few of his family members who were staying in the adjacent chalets.
Our Hotel Operations Manager was asked to come with the police who did so within 30 minutes to be joined by senior most officer from the District Headquarters who happened to be in the village to celebrate Easter Holidays.

The team was later joined by Regional Crime Officer who embarked upon an intense investigation after taking a statement from the claimant who was then moved to another chalet with a guard posted outside.

The investigation team attached extra ordinary importance to the alleged incidence given the sensitive nature of the tourist industry and the ripples it could cause within the tourism sector as a whole.

The Senior Officer stayed at the scene until 4:30am and advised against giving any statements to anyone until their investigation was completed and the final report issued. This was the first time ever for our camp to have encountered such a situation.

The guest and all his entourage left for Ngorongoro National Park at approximately 5:00am to return to the Camp at around 2:30pm for lunch.

It was then that the Claimant requested for the monetary loss to be reimbursed as he did not have any money on him to stay at the hotel in Arusha on their way back to Dar es Salaam.

The Management gave him Tshs.800,000= he claimed to have lost as a gesture of sympathy and assistance.

For us, this situation was and still is a matter of serious concern and, and it posed a serious potential threat to all lodges and camps within the vicinity of game conservation areas with armed culprits still at large.

We have since duly notified Tanzania National Parks (TANAPA) of the incident for them to exercise extreme vigilance so as to avoid any such incidence and also to expedite the outcome of the police investigation.

We have a good name in the market and have so far operated without any significant incident to deter our guests visiting us.

Our services and customers care have also been duly recognized by the relevant authorities through selection among the only 3 hotels which were granted a certificate of Responsible Tourism in the region.
All we can do and what we have done is to learn from such an experience to enhance our vigilance and adopt further and extreme precautions to avoid such situations in future. We have since adopted the following:


1. Added 3 more security guards to include one armed guard to arrive at a total of 9nos. trained security guards for the night and 6nos. for the day time.
2. Introduced an hourly punching machine to ensure hourly vigilance.
3. Provided walkie talkies for instant communication
4. Provided 2 watch dogs with handlers
5. Added one more generator set to ensure a 24 hours power supply
6. Installation of lighting around each chalet and the tented camps.
7. Appointed a head of security to oversee the guards’ performance during the night
8. Made arrangements with the Police Department to recruit trained police officers for temporary assignments to replace absentee guards, if any.
.
The case relating to the incidents is being handled by Mr. Mapuri, the OCS and Mr. Morris Okinda, the OCD at Monduli Tel. 0754 530 418/0782 530 418 who can be contacted for further clarification if required.


R. Merani (Chairman)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp for one night in February. This is a small camp, and the service was very friendly and helpful. The tent was smaller than other places we stayed, but it had a beautiful view of the valley, a comfortable bed, and enough hot water for two showers in the bathroom (but not much more than that). We found a few holes in the mosquito net, so we patched those up with some duct tape we brought before we headed to dinner. The plated dinner was very good. Our favorite was a chopped vegetable salad in half of an avocado. Breakfast was just OK, and we were not thrilled with all the bees that were buzzing around the dining area and getting in our food. The staff was very accommodating and offered to move us closer to the pool to finish our breakfast, which helped a little bit, but we still had to rush through breakfast to get away from all the buzzing.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cml014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our tent room had a very comfortable bed and clean and comfortable bathroom (with plenty warm water supply). The view was fabulous and we also enjoyed the animal sounds around us. Dinner buffet food was good and the staff made a great gesture for the birthday of my spouse after dinner. Evening entrertainment was provided; singing, dancing and acrobats whilst sipping on our after dinner drinks. A great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We absolutely enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly, flexible and welcoming. The restaurant was among the best we had during our Tanzania trip. The viewof the Manyara lake from our luxurious tent was breathtaking. Because the capacity is limited, no big groups were present which is a positive thing. Very recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CedricJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

7/1/14 - We arrived for lunch and were greeted with a cold drink and cloth and quickly briefed before heading to our “tent” which was raised off the ground with a view overlooking the flat plains to the Rift Valley Escarpment and Lake Manyara, We were originally given a tent with one double bed but this was soon changed to twins, netted, fan, lovely bathroom area with an unusual entrance to the shower. Very pretty grounds. We had a very nice lunch (not buffet) and had some time to relax before heading out on our game drive. We had free internet here so took the opportunity of catching up with people at home. There was a small pool and when we returned in the evening there were locals playing football just in front of the camp grounds. Off the dining area there was a lounge upstairs where you could have a drink and use the internet and watch the sun setting over the escarpment.
Dinner was good and again table service as was breakfast the next day.
My daughter didn't sleep too well here as the tent kept flapping against her bed as it was very windy, however, I didn't have this problem.
There was a nice shop but unfortunately we didn't have time to look around.
We were escorted to dinner and return to our tent in the evening but didn't see any animals about the site.
A good experience on our second night of our safari and staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindyloo-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I was accommodated at this camp for 2 nights and believe they worth a lifetime of disappointment.
First of all, it is located in the middle of nowhere, hidden in thick bushes of weed. You can barely see the tents from the pathway. Intentional or not the overall aspect was one of abandonment.
Second, the tent itself seemed very old with cracks and patches everywhere. The inside was strict and it felt like an old house with old furniture. The bathroom was intended to be traditional, but it made me cringe.
The pool was extremly small and not worth mentioning.
The staff speaks poorly to no english si it's very hard to understand them.
Now for the major things that made our stay a nightmare.
The food, dear god, was terrible. You have no choice, they just bring you a platter with whatever they consider edible. First lunch for me was my last meal there. Food poisoning 101. For 5 days I was nauseous, had head aches, muscle pain, diarrhea etc. Horrible.
And the ladies and gentlemen when I arrived at my next destination I noticed my personal belongings were missing: 2 bottles of perfumes, 5 euros and my husband's leather belt (which was on his jeans). None of the above objects were at sight, they searched for anything they could find without drawing immediate attention.
I contacted the management as soon as I noticed the theft and surprise-surprise they "confronted" the maid and she admitted nothing (she might be a thief but not stupid). So it left us nowhere.
I state here without dishonesty that I have never been stolen from in any part of Tanzania. This is the only place. I recommend for you to check your luggages throughly, because they tend to hurry you the morning of departure.
All in all: shame on you Safari Camp from hell. And I hope this review will make safari companies avoid sending you new customers.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aerandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here at the start of our Tanzanian safari. By the time we arrived, it was dark (around 7pm) so we really had no idea how beautiful the landscape around us was. They had told us we'd be escorted to and from our rooms if we wanted -- we took them up on this, but we didn't see any animals wandering around within the grounds.

The staff were very friendly, our room was spacious and comfortable. Again, by the time we got there it was dark, and the rooms were fairly dark as well (generator power - minimal light bulbs). They gave us lanterns to supplement our own flashlights for when the generators were off in the night. The walls were mesh/tented, but the structure was wood beams. We had a large bathroom had solid walls (we weren't entirely sure what to expect, but we had plenty of hot water, flush toilets, etc).

Dinner was decent -- breakfast was decent as well -- eggs/pancakes/coffee/tea/fruit... We didn't have a stellar meal in Africa, but you don't visit for the food! They had some more local style foods as well which were interesting to try.

We didn't spend a lot of time here -- we left early the next morning to start the next leg of our safari -- but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
16.9 mi away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karatu
234 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
160 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara
#28 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
9 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nsya Lodge & Camp
Nsya Lodge & Camp
#1 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp

Address: Losirwa, Mto wa Mbu, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £118 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp lies along the 600 meter Rift Valley Escarpment over the river basin overlooking the lake itself. Our accommodations and infinity swimming pool are built right at the edge of the escarpment and provide unparalleled views of the region. The camp is divided into cabins and safari tents, offering visitors a range of options for accommodations. We are located a short drive from Arusha and are most closely accessible from Kilimanjaro Airport and we offer shuttle service from those destinations. Our chefs prepare the most succulent cuisine you’ll find on your safari, offering a range of Continental, Asian and African cuisine and our bartenders offer great cocktails into the late hours of the night in our lounge area which is equipped with a big-screen tv and satellite, weather permitting. We offer bush dinners and late night safari drives for visitors upon request and are happy to accommodate meal preferences, special occasions and events. Accommodations are authentically safari themed and offer up authentic local furniture and electricity during generator hours. Let the Luxury Safari Adventure begin at Lake Manyara Wildlife Camp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing