We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Isoitok Camp - Manyara
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was really amazed by this camp. Although a camp, it is as comfortable as the best hotel. Plus it is in the nature. I also liked the idea of this camp and the co-existance with the Masai village that is nearby. The food was also just great! We asked to see the chef before we left and we met him! At night we gathered around the fire drinking a bier, so peaceful! Somebody with interest in birds will find also Chris' book of birds fantastic! The people who work there are also so friendly! If you have the chance take a walk with Chris up the hill before sunrise... I could say much more! You have to stay there!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annet_85_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Isoitok camp was one of the many amazing camps we stayed at on our ten day safari in northern Tanzania with Bush2Beach safaris, but it was our standout for so many reasons. Chris the owner is a superb host and has built the camp himself. The luxury tents are literally works of art, as is the bush shower and the gorgeous dining tent. Chris works with the local Maasai community and is on the ground trying to enrich peoples lives. We loved learning about Maasai culture, walking up to the lookout and watching the sun go down with cold beers, and the communal dining room was a great way to meet fellow travellers and get to know more about Tanzania. We have travelled extensively and this is one of the best places we have ever stayed! Thanks Chris, Ingrid and the team.

Room Tip: All the tents are gorgeous and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Extraordinary on every level:
1. Chris is an amazingly energetic and engaged man who has single handedly built this camp. His craftsmanship is superb. The tented camp and the furniture in it are unparalleled with anything else we saw on our safari.
2. The camp food is superb. The chef used to work for a large hotel in Arusha. We had the best food of our safari and best packed lunch.
3. The camp is eco friendly. It relies largely on solar power, all water is collected and re-used through a filter system and absolutely nothing goes to waste.
4. There is total engagement with the staff. Chris is on hand, relaxed and supportive (overseeing quality control at all times) but the staff have total autonomy and have been trained to a high standard so they are confident, friendly and just delightful.The local masai also work here.
5. Chris has collaborated with his neighbours, a masai tribe. THey co-operate on water saving projects and Chris helps them to conserve water and provides education on clean drinkng water. He has built a community centre for the masai which has a school in it.
6.We only stayed here one night and I wish we had longer. As one reviewer says, forget Arusha and come straight here. We stayed here at the end of our safari and I wish we had factored in an additional night.
7. The birds here are sensational. Chris has set up bird baths and an excellent viewing area with binoculars on hand. If you are a twitcher then this is your kind of nirvana.
8. Thank you Chris and the team. Your energy and enthusiasm for life is infectious.....You were the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylovesWBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Isoitok means "many stones" the stone configurations around the camp are enthralling but the initial sense one has upon arrival is a place of peace. I can only agree with all of the other 5* ratings in every detail. The tents are spacious and comfortable with en-suite bathrooms and bucket showers. There is an outdoor shower, within a great enclosure, where one can have a hot water shower and see the stars overhead, truly a wonderful experience.  Food was excellent.   The visit to the nearby Maasai boma is educational and worthwhile as is the “herbal/medicine walk”.  The type of work done by Chris and Ingrid in cooperation with, and support of, this local community is admirable.   As mentioned by another reviewer, the camp, and Chris, are "kid friendly".  Our grand-daughter, with whom we were travelling, loved her experience at Isoitok

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psych_prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Staying at Isoitok Camp for two nights was a wonderful and unique experience. The camp is situated among the other surrounding Maasai Bomas in the rock scrub lands. It was a real surprise to find this authentic eco camp in the middle of the wilderness, surrounded by bushes with a wooden gate. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owner Chris and experienced his personal hospitality throughout our stay. Our tent was of a high standard - very clean and comfortable. We thorough enjoyed the warm bush showers (we chose the outdoor shower) and felt so relaxed sitting and chatting around the camp fire, The personal service and quality of food were superb. Chris took us on a guided walk in the hills to see the view across to the Rift Valley and the sunset. He told us about the local Maasai people and his projects with the local communities. Chris also has excellent knowledge of the local wildlife, particularly birds which we watched at breakfast each morning. We enjoyed our two night here very much and we thoroughly recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed only one night and both wish it had been for longer. Other reviews have described it well. I will just add that the relaxed atmosphere was great and the walk up the hill to the baobab tree at sunset was magical. So was drinking coffee (brought to us) outside our tent at 6am listening to the many birds. A shower with my husband looking up at the stars and Saturn (I take Chris' word for it) was not something I'd ever imagined doing.

I want to spend a wedding anniversary there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Having traveled extensively through this part of Africa I thought I had seen it all. Well, staying in Isoitok camp was a fresh and unique experience and rates among the best of wildlife experiences. In the distance, straight ahead the escarpment (part of the Rift Valley) rises up from the horizon. To the left lays the vast flood plain which ends up into Lake Manyara, to the right the mysterious looking rocky hills. Here it is where we turned right, off from the main road to the Serengeti, and after a 10 minute bumpy drive we end up at a Boma amidst the other surrounding Boma’s, but then with a creative touch of Chris, owner and manager. I stepped out of the car and literally felt as if I had been in a time-travel after only a two hour trip from busy and chaotic Arusha town.

Tucked away in the middle of this vast Masai plain where life has stood still for the past hundreds of years Isoitok camp blends in smoothly with its harsh surroundings. Just a wooden gate and a bushy fence separate you from the wilderness around you.

The camp itself is a delight, full of details wherever you look. The open bush shower is a must and the spacious, comfortable tents made us feel completely home and relaxed. Solar is the source of energy and thus tranquility ensured without the noise of a generator. From morning to evening the air was filled with the chirpings from the numerous bird species at the multiple birdbaths located all around the camp. The friendly (local) staff took care of all our needs and the food was excellent. The guided nature-walk up and into the hills along the tracks of donkeys and goats was a learning lesson about nature. At the nearby hill we had a fantastic 360 degree wide vista, looking all the way to Lake Manyara at the foot of the escarpment. A close visit to pay respect to the grandpas of all trees, the hundreds of years old baobabs at the slope of the hill, is a must and one of the highlights of the walk.

A pity we only had time to stay for one night, but we will be back as Isoitok camp has much more to offer with visits to the surrounding boma’s, game drives, bird watching etc. Thanks Chris and staff and see you again, for sure. Theo and family

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
6.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
271 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
752 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
135 reviews
22.6 mi away
Eileen's Trees Inn
Eileen's Trees Inn
#4 of 51 in Karatu
211 reviews
24.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 51 in Karatu
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isoitok Camp - Manyara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isoitok Camp - Manyara

Property: Isoitok Camp - Manyara
Address: Makyuni - Mto Wa Mbu Highway, Lake Manyara National Park PO box 11914, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isoitok Camp – Manyara is not just another tented camp, it’s an experience you wished you had longer for! The camp is surrounded by the Maasai community of Esilalei offering draw dropping views overlooking Lake Manyara and the Rift Valley basin. Private, surreal bush experiences await those who visit. 8 deluxe en-suite tents sculptured into the natural surroundings with a night chorus out of "Born Free." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing