We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Isoitok Camp - Manyara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were welcomed by Chris who gave us a history of the camp and what was going to happen during our stay. The accommodation was basically faultless, clean well kept en suite rooms, amazing shower outside (enclosed)!. To shower under the stars in Africa - amazing. We were treated to a traditional Maasai dance by men and women, my daughter joined in. One of the Maasai warriors was Ruben who took us around the camp and he gave us a talk about the ways of the Maasai, plants and trees used for medicine etc. Dinner was amazing. It was fantastic, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieCCCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Isoitok camp is a beautiful tented camp close to Lake manyara. Unfortunately we only stayed there for 1 night, I could have spend a whole week over there. The tents are well equipt, clean and comfortable. The dinner and the breakfast was perfect. The eye for details was impressive as well. Chris and his team delivered a great service and an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baiyuan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at this camp for 2 nights at the end of our safari and we wish we could have stayed longer. The camp owner, Chris, is very welcoming and accomodating. The tents are beautiful, with the wooden doors, it feels more like you're staying in a room than a tent. The staff are all very kind and always smiling. The meals prepared at the camp are fabulous. It was nice that Chris joined us for the evening meals. He really enjoys the company of visiting travellers and you can tell that he wants his guests to enjoy their stay.

Chris also works very closely with the local Masai community and is committed to giving back to the community throught his organization, the African Roots Foundation. The foundation has provided the commnity with clean drinking water and are almost finished with a beautiful new community centre.

A great place to stay, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

That was our final night during our safari trip in Tanzania and, at the end of this uneven path, we found this lovely camp run by Chris. Welcome was warm and we were amazed to find all this confort in the nice tent we only spent a night in. The dinner was incredible by its diversity and quality. One of the best meals in Tanzania. The following morning, Chris took us to an early walk, which was perfect to start the day.
Breakfast was also high quality. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meerkatou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for one night in February and wish we had stayed longer. Isoitok is a well designed and well managed camp. The tents are clean, spacious and beautifully furnished with many wood highlights. There is a lot of space between individual tents and the area is immaculate. There are lots of wood and stone accents and comfortable seating areas around the tents. A great spot to enjoy an early morning coffee.
Chris and camp staff were friendly and attentive. We were welcomed with refreshing drinks and provided with a good orientation to the camp. Both dinner and breakfast were served at times that were convenient for our other activities and the food was terrific. We had a very nice night here and certainly would recommend Isoitok to anyone travelling in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Edythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our Safari guide John drive us at our next stop. When i arrived at the Isoitok Camp was a warm welcome with our host Chris and Maasai assistant Raphael. This camp is very very special with smiling staff, peaceful area, comfort tent, good look with landscape, good organization & Maasai healthcare and educational projects, delicious Maasai dinner with friendly conversation with Chris and Maasai staff we learn a lot about Maasai traditions. We have appreciated a lot and i suggest very much this Camp for break between Safari tours.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at Isoitok this last Christmas and i must say our stay there is definately worth another visit. Chris our host and the owner of Isoitok made us feel so welcomed and comfortable that we could have stayed longer. We arrived to a warm welcome and were given an amazing and refreshing juice made with lemongrass.. Our room was amazing and loved the setting, what was more intriguing was the layout of the whole camp. Christmas eve as we sat out we could hear Hyenas call and the following morning Zebras as well... I would definately head back to this camp given half the chance. The staff were tops and friendly and always willing to help. Had hot showers all the time and a well relaxed atmosphere.. Thanks to all the Isoitok crew for making our Christmas special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorisTzinfobureau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Manyara National Park hotels
6.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
287 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
785 reviews
12.4 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
149 reviews
5 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
32 reviews
0 mi away
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodg...
#7 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isoitok Camp - Manyara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isoitok Camp - Manyara

Address: Makyuni - Mto Wa Mbu Highway, Lake Manyara National Park PO box 11914, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £195 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isoitok Camp – Manyara is not just another tented camp, it’s an experience you wished you had longer for! The camp is surrounded by the Maasai community of Esilalei offering draw dropping views overlooking Lake Manyara and the Rift Valley basin. Private, surreal bush experiences await those who visit. 8 deluxe en-suite tents sculptured into the natural surroundings with a night chorus out of "Born Free." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing