We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to a safari!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ecublens, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Great introduction to a safari!”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Second safari experience for us but first for our 20 yr old son, we thought the lodge was a perfect start for a week of discovery in N.Tanzania. The 3-hour game drive from the gate to the lodge allowed us to view almost all "safari" animals (elephants, buffalos, antilopes, zebras, giraffes, ostriches, etc) in rather large herds, including hundreds of flamingos on the soda lake. Welcomed by the Tanzanian manager Scott Tineja Mollel, and his staff, with hot towels and drinks, we were walked to our bungalows-up-in-the-trees 6 and 7 (3-4 mins. thru bushes for #6). We enjoyed (one night 24 Dec. 2012) the spacious room and its outdoor shower, all of it above ground with mahogany trees' branches almost at hand. Beautiful! We were treated to a great BBQ dinner under the stars, later to a local band and dancers, and a talent show by some of the staff. As it was X-mas, several staff members had their kids visiting. What a lovely... and lively family evening. Then back to our bungalows in the dark with a Masai guard. The next morning started with a heavy rain but there was a great breakfast buffet served under the palm-roofed lobby. Titus, our knowledgeable and witty driver/ranger, took us for the 3-hours game drive back to the gate, enjoying once more this all-in-one Lake Manyara park with its lake, cliffs, savannah and forest with majestic baobabs and funny-looking sausage-trees. We missed the lions and had a glimpse of a leopard but all other animals/birds are much worthwhile. If one on a tight schedule has to choose only one park, Lake Manyara N.P. offers it all, from animals (except for cats), impressive landscapes, to a luxury lodge lost in the jungle at the other end of the park.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Göppingen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Great location if you come from the Kilimanjaro or Arusha Airport. Instead of sitting the whole day in the car to go straight to Ngorongoro Crater or the Serengeti, I would recommend to stop here.

As in other &Beyond Lodges the staff is very professional and friendly. Especially our guide was very knowledgeable and we could see that he enjoyed being in the bush, which is really important and makes a huge difference. We saw everything from elephants over hippos and lions (unfortunately not in the trees) to little things like chamaeleons and lots of birds. Birders will love the park!

The rooms were beautiful, food was good and we did not have one complain.
I would definitely recommend it to people who can afford it (unfortunately it is quite pricey).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S-Nicole-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Herradura, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We arrived at Lake Manyara Tree lodge from Klein's Camp for a three night stay. Unfortunately Janine's problem with Tsetse Fly bites persisted.

Remember to take celestimine with you.

The scenery in this National Park is spectacular. The Escarpment towers above. The thick forests near the entrance to the park are impressive. The Lodge is located at approximately 450 metres so the temperature is far higher than on the highlands.

The room was very spacious with sitting area, large bedroom and large bathroom with an outside shower. Outside balcony too. Our room looked onto thick forest foliage which was constantly being browsed by Elephants. I think there are 9 Tree Houses in total.

We enjoyed early morning drives and a night drive. There are a lot of Elephants in this park. It was where Iain Douglas Hamilton did his research project on Elephant Behaviour. A copy of his book was in the room. I skim read parts and intend buying a copy.

The bird life is prolific. We recorded more birds, without really birding, than at any other Camp. Our Ranger was a good birder and was very informative. We only saw one predator here. A Serval Cat on the night drive. We did not see the famous Lake Manyara Lions. There were a lot of hippos leaving the water to browse while we were on the night drive. Wild Dog were seen by others while we were here. They are now few and far between in Africa.

The food was very similar to the standard at all the other & Beyond Camps. Different was the Nan Bread which is baked in the Tandoor Oven. I enjoyed this and the salami which were served as pre dinner drink snacks. Dinner is served in the Boma with a large central open fire.

I enjoyed this camp and can recommend it if you are a serious birder.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 which is far from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lodge is incredible! At the far end of the Park, it is the only resort within it, so you have the place to yourself after the Park closes. The tree houses are beautiful--outdoor showers to view the scenery (including monkeys and elephants), deep soaking tubs, 180 degree wraparound porches to sit on and enjoy the outside as well as beautifully appointed rooms. The food is fantastic, the service is unparalleled and the &Beyond vehicles and, mostly importantly, guides are the best. We began our safari here and it was "beyond" anything that we had hoped for or imagined. We got outdoor massages on our porch which were fantastic. As a special treat, the Manager brought in local dancers and acrobats to entertain us one evening. The next day, there was a separate program by the children of the local village in which they danced and sang. It was a special experience and one that we all will remember always! You will love this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The very unusual tree houses with just nets instead of windows and walls - so you sleep and listen all animals, insects and birds around)) Good bar, food and exeptional safaries - we saw a lot of animals, elephants, girafes, monkeys, birds

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexShMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent lodge. The service is wonderful, the rooms are huge and the food is great. THere are night drives that are well run (the guides here are great) as well as the possibility to walk/bike in a nearby town and on Lake Manyara. THe lodge is in a secluded area in the south of the park so few people are seen -- the North of the park is a lot busier. The downside though is that it is a good 1.5 hour-2 hour drive to get to the lodge so you need to stay for 2 nights to make it worthwhile. Another downside is that there are not sunrise or sunset views (you can take a car at 6 am to watch sunrise at the lake though). There is a decent swimming pool (big enough to do laps). Elephants pass frequently through the camp so one needs to be careful walking around.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ghfatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was one of the real highlights of our African safari, partly because of the wildlife, but equally because of the great Tanzanian people involved with this lodge. We would recommend taking the optional bike tour, to see a different side of the standard safari experience. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waimate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
752 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Property: andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only one in Lake Manyara National Park, andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is renowned for its romantic stilted treehouse suites that are shaded by a mahogany forest. After an exhilarating game drive, guests stop for sundowners on the lakeshore below the Great Rift Valley wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Tree Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing