We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tree lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful tree lodge”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013. We were coming from the Maasai Mara in Kenya, so it took us all day to fly here (from the Mara to Nairobi to Kilimanjaro to Lake Manyara and then a quite long drive to get to the Tree Lodge, just FYI).

On the drive to the Lodge we got to see a lion on a tree, which our guide told us has been harder and harder to see nowadays. We also saw flamingos which we hadn't seen and other new birds and animals that are "common" (elephants, giraffes, etc).

We arrived at the Lodge late so we were not able to enjoy the room or the amenities. We only stayed one night and we wished we would've stayed one more day just to enjoy the room (not so much the area or animals- we think the Mara and Serengeti were best for this). The room is beautiful and very raw, giving it a very natural feel. We have to say that you have to be warned that the shower is an outdoor shower, which is great, but when we got to the lodge, it was very late and we had to shower as if we were in the woods. This of course could be avoided because there is a tub inside that was full when we arrived, ready for us to use.

Dinner is served family style. We are not big fans of this, but we got to meet very interesting people and are so glad we were able to exchange travel stories. The food is delicious, if you are vegetarians just let the chef and whoever "checks you in" know. It is not a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful, stay here more than one night to enjoy the beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

An amazing place; sleep in a luxury tree house, with outdoor showers and beautifully barbequed food served after cocktails! Just to top it off, the &beyond guides are just incredible, and very friendly. Feels at night at though you are sleeping right in the middle of the jungle. Brilliant place to visit; and we'd highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank niklsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This camp feels a little like a movie set!

The interior and exterior decor is breathtaking, it took me a few minutes upon arrival to get over the sheer beauty of the main building.

Swimming pool is great, not heated, but as I was told "jump in, it will make you strong"!

Food at this camp was scrumptious.....really good. See if they will make you the mango ice cream.

I would recommend adding local entertainment/music during dinner....the atmosphere is so beautiful and I would have enjoyed perhaps in the Lounge area for before-dinner drinks, some lovely Tanzanian music.

Beds are ultra comfy, we stayed in room 8, and spent hours watching the blue monkeys swinging thru the trees (who were just as intrigued with us as we were with them).

The safari drives here are secluded, private and beautiful. Elephants EVERYWHERE.....and you must try the Night Game Drive.....so peaceful and natural beauty is astounding.

I'm happy to give any advise on this lodge to anyone who may have questions. We also stayed at five other camps in Tanzania so we have a good comparison. laciw@cfl.rr.com

I will definitely be back to this camp!

Room Tip: makes no difference which room you choose, but we really liked #8 which was up on stilts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaciLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, FL
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had two nights at this unique lodge as the start of our African Safari. The wildlife viewing here is really easy since that the actual park is relatively small and the animals are concentrated. It truly is the "little Serengeti". The variety of terrain is very unique and rich with wildlife, flora and the bird viewing is spectacular. We were also privileged to see the famous tree climbing lions on our last day.

The food here is superb and very vegetarian friendly. We had some of the most delicious soups I have ever tasted. The bread is absolutely amazing as well. The staff are all quite friendly and are willing to do anything to make your stay a memorable experience.

The only reason I did not give it a five star rating is that the water for bathing was quite brown and made a tub soak totally off limits for me. Also, the pool was not operational when we were there. However, if those two things had been fixed, then there is no hesitation to rate this place as one of the finest stops you can make on an African safari.

TIP: Don't miss the opportunity for the bike tour of the nearby village of Mayoka. It is a wonderful way to see daily African life!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offtheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is a gem. The only reason for the one mark down is that the bath in my room was unappealing due to the heavily tinted water from the water source for the camp. Sleeping in the trees with elephants wandering the outskirts of the camp and bush babies calling in the trees feels like an adventure. The food is, as ever with &Beyond, wonderful and inventive (and I say this as a vegetarian). The game viewing is very different than in other parts of Tanzania as the park is more forested. Still, searching for the tree climbing lions was well worth it. Don't miss this lodge if you are planning a multi-camp safari or are looking for diversity of habitat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tess572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Tree Lodge blew me away! We stayed at 3 AndBeyond Camps (Serengeti, here, and Crater Lodge) and this was my favorite. The lodge itself is magical, set among the trees of the gorgeous park, it truly looks like apart of the land. The open view makes it extra special for sitting out at night, sipping cocktails before dinner. We stayed in #10 - which was high on stilts, a ways walk from the main lodge through the bush which was so cool! Our mini "tree house" was gorgeous. All mod cons but with a rustic, safari chic decor and an awesome outdoor shower. The drive through the park to and from the lodge is exceptional viewing. Elephants were so close we could have touch them, clusters of flamingos, and finally we spotted a leopard! What makes this place extra special is the wonderful staff behind it! From their initial warm welcome with song, they only got kinder and more wonderful. Abdallah, our guide had been with the company 15 years and was expert - made our drives so interesting! The meals here were delicious, and served outside in a gorgeous setting.

Most importantly, the bike ride through the village is incredible. No other lodge offered something like this, and it is well worth the time and money.

Stay at LEAST 2 nights, if not 3. This place is worth visiting!!

Overall, this place exceeded my expectations and I hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We booked a two week visit to Rwanda and Tanzania through And Beyond. The portions of the trip that were solely run by And Beyond (meaning their lodges, guides, transportation, etc) were seamless. However, the portion of the trip that required And Beyond to contract out (Nairobi, Kigali, Virguna mountain tro see the mountain gorillas and golden monkeys, Arusha) was less than spectacular. The planning on the part of our And Beyond travel agent was clumsy and painful. For example, we had an unnecessary overnight in Kigali. We arrived there around noon -- which was sufficient time to transfer to the Sabinyo Silverback mountain lodge. Another example: going from Kigali to Arusha, she made us fly through Nairobi (worst airport ever) and change flights; however, there was a direct flight on Air Rwanda (which I obviously didn't find out myself until we were at the Kigali airport). When we finally arrived in Arusha after a full day of travelling, it was after 9pm and our agent had booked us at a $500/night hotel, at which we spent less than 12 hours. If I had to do it again, I would use my own travel agent - and then choose to stay at some of the And Beyond lodges.

As for the Tree Lodge specifically - this place is wonderful. Set within the national park itself, you get excellent access to the animals. Our guide, Malley, was warm, knowledgable and genuinely fun to get to know. Our treehouse accomodations were fantastic -- from the outdoors shower to the comfy bed -- we were quite happy. All the meals were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPS-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#11 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Property: andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only one in Lake Manyara National Park, andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is renowned for its romantic stilted treehouse suites that are shaded by a mahogany forest. After an exhilarating game drive, guests stop for sundowners on the lakeshore below the Great Rift Valley wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Tree Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing