We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical adventure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical adventure”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our first night in Africa was spent at the Lake Manyara Tree Lodge and what a way to begin our honeymoon. The lodge is magical and authentic - the feeling of being right up in the trees yet surrounded by luxury and incredible attention to detail.

The personal service and friendliness of the staff goes above - from the cold drinks on arrival to the stories told over cocktails and canapes before dinner. The food was fantastic and in particular the freshly made naan bread, made in the outdoor tandoori clay oven.

The chattering of the monkeys and bush babies meant we didn't have the best night's sleep, but what do you expect when you are in the bush? It just adds to the excitement of the whole place.

The coffees and cookies at dawn were an added surprise, as were the visiting monkeys to our outdoor shower.

We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia area
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is eco-tourism goes luxury! you are welcomed by the staff, singing and welcoming you after your game drive into the park from your pick up. Wet warm towels to freshen up, and a drink to quench your thirst complete the warm welcome. The lodge manager introduces him/her self, and then introduces you to your private "butler" for the length of your stay. The manager goes over the property with you, and if it's meal time, has lunch or dinner ready for you. The food is delicious and plentiful. andBeyond's guides are the BEST in the business! Titus (our ranger/guide) was the most amazing guide and knew everything! Patrice, our butler, was always there to see to whatever we needed. Wake up calls are at your door....with hot coffee/tea, juice, whatever you'd like, a biscuit or pastry....can I get that at home???
The rooms are comfortable. The beds are big and fitted with soft linens and fluffy duvets. Mosquito nets are put down around the bed at night. There is a large ceiling fan above the bed, but no air conditioning. A small cooler hangs on the wall, filled with liquid refreshment....water, beer, soda....for you to enjoy if you choose. Laundry is included and was done promptly and perfectly. The bathroom is luxurious....bathtub was relaxing. The outdoor shower is fun and a great time for anyone who is used to a beach house with an outdoor shower! Just watch out for the tse tse flies... The veranda/balcony is up in the tree tops, as this is a tree house!
The food is delicious, and our pack out lunch in the park was wonderful, with many different choices. They accommodated my vegetarian needs beautifully. andBeyond is an A+ organization, and I would use them again and again!

Request Titus as a guide, Patrice as a butler. Asheri is a great lodge manager! Loved staying here! Probably my favorite place our whole trip!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koala46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Should I have the time, I will provide additional reviews of the luxury tented camps and fascinating lodges we stayed in during our safari in Tanzania and Kenya. However, Lake Manyara Tree Lodge deserves my first review.

Exquisite design, personalized and deferential service, and a unique location next to an elephant corridor made our stay memorable.

A plethora of wildlife sounds at night created a magical environment and gave us an unparalleled sense of wonder. In the morning, while relaxing and enjoying a coffee on our private terrace, we witnessed the majesty of a colossal male elephant parading alongside our extravagant tree suite. An incomparable moment forever engrained in our mind.

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is, undoubtedly, an enchanting place in a captivating country.

Room Tip: Room No. 5 is located just next to an Elephant corridor. A dream come true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights at this property and the memories will be with us for a life time and definitely an experience of a lifetime. Our two night stay was filled with excitement and luxury, from the pampering, exquisite views and the accommodations. Of course the wildlife was a site to behold. The most memorable of these events was a surprise lunch at the pool and a visit by a half dozen elephant that decided to take a mud bath only feet away. The staff was very attentive and went out of their way to make you feel at home. The safaris were also well orchestrated. I would highly recommend a stay at this &beyond property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Lake Manyara Tree Lodge and it was amazing. From the time we were met at the airport by our guide Malley to the time we left we we saw so many animals and birds it was a wonderful experience. The tree houses were amazing and so well supplied, the water comes from a bore hole so your bath water tends to be slightly coloured but that did not put us off at all. Listening to the bush babies calling in the trees and hearing the elephant in the bush outside our lodge was an azing experience. We saw hundreds of flamingos on the lake as well as pelicans and storks. The food was delicious and the highlight for us was having our dinner by the pool surrounded by candles truely amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leopardloverWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have to start by admonishing &Beyond for the lacklustre description they give this in their own brochure. They advertise it as a place to "take a rest from the animals"; what nonsense! On arrival there was a huge and handsome bull elephant next to the main lodge. Three more elephants were hanging around the pool and the trees were filled with monkeys. Our safari around Lake Manyara National Park included many troops of baboons and a close encounter with a tree climbing lion. Okay, you don't see the huge groups you see on the plains of the Serengeti but there is still plenty to see.

As a consequence of &Beyond's under selling we had only booked one night; we wished we had booked more. The rooms are wonderful. Nestled deep in the bush there are monkeys and bush babies within arms reach (though I don't recommend actually reaching...) and the night was filled with the roar of lions. To top it all, in the morning I was joined on the veranda by my own monkey butler (or he may have just been after the cookies...).

To top it all the food was fantastic; far and away the best we had in any of the lodges we stayed at. The service was fantastic and my wife informs me that the the Bloody Marys are well worth trying!

I can't recommend this destination highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mprofane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I must refer your to tvnewseditor's review of 9/20, as she has captured the essence of this very special Lodge, also, with a perfect example of &Beyond's exceptional service.

I'd like to add from our experience at the Treehouse: Our guide, Abdallah, is the finest guide we've had in Africa. Absolutely loves what he is doing. Thoroughly knowledgable on all things Africa. Also, he is an excellent photographer, with an artistic sense; like taking us to the lakeshore for sunrise with incredible light while watching zebra, buffalo, wildebeest, wart hog, baboon and flamingo all mingling in the open. Manyara is unique for the variety of its habitats from thick forest to marshes to savannah. Cats are hard to find due to the denseness of the forest, but Abdallah's instincts led us to a pride of five lions lounging under a tree late in the afternoon. We got to within 25 yards without disturbing them.

On another evening drive we went to the neighboring village of Mayoka. There are 3000 people from 3 different tribes living there and farming. They live in brick or mud huts with running water but no electricity. There were children everywhere, laughing, smiling and waving at us. Everyone was very friendly & happy we were there. We saw their school, met some of their teachers, looked at a store & restaurant. Despite their circumstances, they are very happy people. There was no begging or sense of discomfort. Before returning to the Camp, we drove down to the shoreline to observe some fisherman, and there was the Treehouse staff cooking skewers of meat & serving snacks and drinks just for us. We sat there chatting and enjoying the surroundings into the darkness.

This is our second experience in Africa with &Beyond, and we are very pleased with the quality of the Camps, travel arrangements, and service. Going to safari in Africa requires a lot of coordination and sound planning that only a local, highly professional company like &Beyond can provide. It is expensive, but in every instance it is well worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
752 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Property: andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only one in Lake Manyara National Park, andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is renowned for its romantic stilted treehouse suites that are shaded by a mahogany forest. After an exhilarating game drive, guests stop for sundowners on the lakeshore below the Great Rift Valley wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Tree Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing