We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent birding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Manyara Tree Lodge was the first lodge of five, on this trip to Tanzania and Kenya. We liked the location of the lodge, in a quiet area of the park, and were quite satisfied with the accommodation. The staff is friendly and attentive, the diners around the campfire nice, and the wildlife varied and plentiful. Above all the bird watching in this area with so many different habitats was very good. Under the expert guidance of Abdallah, in these four days in Manyara, we saw at least 125 different species!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetotravelAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2010

We spent 7 nights in Tanzania.
3 nights in ngorongoro crater lodge, 1 night in serengeti under canvas, 2 nights in Lake manyara tree lodge and 1 night in KIA lodge in Moshi.
The first three lodges are all &beyond.
&beyond lodges are very expensive. I have scored them average on value for money. We expected more (considering the very high cost)

I will keep brief:

Positives:
- Lake manyara is a fantastic location (You have rain forest, the lake, plains, etc...)
- Lodge is very nice
- Excelllent service

Negatives:
- Food is average, definitely not 5 star. It is a limited 3 course meal, full stop. Nothing special
- Lodge is located 3 hours drive from manyara air strip. They call it a game drive but it is really a transfer from hell because of bad road and poor vehicles
- Game drive vehicles are very uncomfortable. Some of them have benches inseatd of seats

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe_trot_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We spent a night at the tree lodge as part of our honeymoon safari. We received a very warm welcome and were treated like royalty throughout our stay.

The accomodation was luxurious and unique. As we were staying in the national park, we had to be escorted to and from our lodge - it was a nice touch to use a member of the Masaii tribe to do this. The level of service was exceptional - the manager noticed from our registration form that it was my birthday and arranged a surprise treat at dinner. All the staff performed a birthday song and dance to accompany the cake they made especially for me. We felt very special. The food was a delight too.

The only thing we didn't enjoy, but was out of the hotel's control, was the number of bugs in the lodge and whilst we were eating by the fire.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We spent one night at Lake Manyara Tree Lodge in January 2010, because I wanted to try a tree lodge. This was a bit of disappointment, as the room is really on a tree, but not very high up, with a few scales to get in the room. The lodge is at a very high standard, everything (service, room amenities, pool, dining area) was amazing in the middle of the bush.It is really in the bush, so one can actually see only the bush, not a panorama from the terraces, but animal sounds night and day are very exciting.
Dinner was fine, but not our taste (everything except the salad was sweet), breakfast could have been better (wider choice, maybe at a place like this is not an overexpectation).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egermadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

This has to be the most unique places you can ever stay in luxury – a tree house. The Ritz meets Swiss Family Robinson. Well loved everything from the outdoor shower to baboons on our deck.

However, this place might not be for everyone. Remember that you are staying in a tree. There will be spider webs in your room and ants on your floor. At night, you are not allowed to walk to your tree house by yourself, you have a masai warrior escort you.

The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The food was amazing – it’s a set menu so you have to have the mentality of “you get what you get so don’t through a fit.” Don’t get me wrong – it’s all 5-star cuisine.

Each morning your wake-up call is your individual butler waking you up by bringing coffee (or tea or hot chocolate or whatever you like) with biscuits to your tree house. Then you go for breakfast – which is a combination buffet and a cook that will whip something up for you.

Like all &Beyond lodgings, it’s big bucks but it’s also a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToonTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

what they have done for where this is is really unbelievable. incredible attention to detail, the food is wonderful as are the guides. we had Abdalla as our guide, and he knew more about wildlife than any of the &beyond guides, hands down.

my only beef with this lodge was the location, its in a fairly remote part of the park, which is great, but there is nothing dynamic about its locale, by that I mean there are no views of the lake, cliffs, etc. you are in a flat part of the jungle.

now, for the positives. the decor is to die for, what it lacks in natural scenery at the lodge, it makes up for with killer design. we loved our bed, the bathroom with the standalone tub. showering outside, etc.

they have a bit of an ant problem, those small ants that like water, but really, the photos on the website do not tell any lies, the place is amazing.

oh, one more thing, the pool needs to be redone, nothing special about the pool here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdoggiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The customer service here was the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. Period.

The tree lodge is a beautiful place. Back in the bush, it is actually a good mix of rustic and luxury. Generators bring you power at night, but you don't feel like you are in a hotel. You can hear animals outside (and at night, they are all over your cabana). But you are inside, on a comfortable king size bed, with a nice mosquito net, and all the niceties of traveling in a high-class place. What a combination!

The rooms are tasetfully decorated. The bathroom is amazing. A couple of baths in that tub were just great after long game drives. The outdoor shower is neat, though the bees at our room made it a little scary. But overall, the rooms were just amazing.

The grounds are tremendous. You are back in the bush, so you take these dirt paths to get to the common areas. The common areas are spectacular though. The dining areas for lunch and breakfast are well-done, quite luxurious. But at night, they put you in the kraal (kind of a corral with lanterns hung everywhere). It was so beautiful.

Now where this place was a total hit for us was the service. It is all about one word: details. When you come in for dinner, they seat you in the lounge and bring you cocktails (these slushy gina nd vodka things were some of the best mixed drinks I have had anywhere). Then the manager, Asheri, strolls up and chatted with us. We talked with him for at least an hour - talk about charm. It was great. There was such personal ownership of our stay that we felt quite touched, honestly.

Dinners were always quite good, and if you go on a game drive, they will pack a picnic for you. The picnic food was hit and miss, but it was always done with class (just not all quite that tasty).

To top it all off, we had misplaced some of our stuff when we were there, and Asheri was such a gentleman when dealing with us. Friendly, concerned, empathetic. Honestly, it made the trip to know that the people there were so great.

We highly recommend Lake Manyara Tree Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurgerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £1,177 - £1,867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only one in Lake Manyara National Park, andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is renowned for its romantic stilted treehouse suites that are shaded by a mahogany forest. After an exhilarating game drive, guests stop for sundowners on the lakeshore below the Great Rift Valley wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Tree Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing