We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELIVE YOUR CHILDHOOD DREAM TO BE TARZAN & LIVE IN A TREE HOUSE!!"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
110 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“RELIVE YOUR CHILDHOOD DREAM TO BE TARZAN & LIVE IN A TREE HOUSE!!"”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is deep inside the Manyara National Park. We relived our childhood dream of living in a tree house here. The drive to the lodge doubled up as a safari as we drove along Lake Manyara. The Lake was a carpet of pink as we drove parallel to it. It was full of pink Flamingoes!!! It was a breathtaking sight. The tree lions of Manyara are very famous, though they alluded us. Though there is plenty of game, it is a little distant. A spectacular sight was a row of giraffes half a mile long, between the Lake and the road, all standing as if to welcome us!! The buffaloes chose to occupy the area around the hot springs, denying us access...... but it IS their territory, and we backed off. The Tree Lodge is large and luxurious with an immense feeling openness and being out in the jungle with large wire mesh see through doors. The open outdoor shower takes some getting used to with monkeys & babboons as spectators!!! Bushbabies (a small mouse like animal) play drums on the roof all night which can get unnerving and disturb sleep. They sometimes even fall into the room through the thatched roof!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANJUGOELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
106
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Manyara Tree Lodge was the first lodge of five, on this trip to Tanzania and Kenya. We liked the location of the lodge, in a quiet area of the park, and were quite satisfied with the accommodation. The staff is friendly and attentive, the diners around the campfire nice, and the wildlife varied and plentiful. Above all the bird watching in this area with so many different habitats was very good. Under the expert guidance of Abdallah, in these four days in Manyara, we saw at least 125 different species!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetotravelAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We spent 7 nights in Tanzania.
3 nights in ngorongoro crater lodge, 1 night in serengeti under canvas, 2 nights in Lake manyara tree lodge and 1 night in KIA lodge in Moshi.
The first three lodges are all &beyond.
&beyond lodges are very expensive. I have scored them average on value for money. We expected more (considering the very high cost)

I will keep brief:

Positives:
- Lake manyara is a fantastic location (You have rain forest, the lake, plains, etc...)
- Lodge is very nice
- Excelllent service

Negatives:
- Food is average, definitely not 5 star. It is a limited 3 course meal, full stop. Nothing special
- Lodge is located 3 hours drive from manyara air strip. They call it a game drive but it is really a transfer from hell because of bad road and poor vehicles
- Game drive vehicles are very uncomfortable. Some of them have benches inseatd of seats

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe_trot_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We spent a night at the tree lodge as part of our honeymoon safari. We received a very warm welcome and were treated like royalty throughout our stay.

The accomodation was luxurious and unique. As we were staying in the national park, we had to be escorted to and from our lodge - it was a nice touch to use a member of the Masaii tribe to do this. The level of service was exceptional - the manager noticed from our registration form that it was my birthday and arranged a surprise treat at dinner. All the staff performed a birthday song and dance to accompany the cake they made especially for me. We felt very special. The food was a delight too.

The only thing we didn't enjoy, but was out of the hotel's control, was the number of bugs in the lodge and whilst we were eating by the fire.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We spent one night at Lake Manyara Tree Lodge in January 2010, because I wanted to try a tree lodge. This was a bit of disappointment, as the room is really on a tree, but not very high up, with a few scales to get in the room. The lodge is at a very high standard, everything (service, room amenities, pool, dining area) was amazing in the middle of the bush.It is really in the bush, so one can actually see only the bush, not a panorama from the terraces, but animal sounds night and day are very exciting.
Dinner was fine, but not our taste (everything except the salad was sweet), breakfast could have been better (wider choice, maybe at a place like this is not an overexpectation).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egermadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

This has to be the most unique places you can ever stay in luxury – a tree house. The Ritz meets Swiss Family Robinson. Well loved everything from the outdoor shower to baboons on our deck.

However, this place might not be for everyone. Remember that you are staying in a tree. There will be spider webs in your room and ants on your floor. At night, you are not allowed to walk to your tree house by yourself, you have a masai warrior escort you.

The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The food was amazing – it’s a set menu so you have to have the mentality of “you get what you get so don’t through a fit.” Don’t get me wrong – it’s all 5-star cuisine.

Each morning your wake-up call is your individual butler waking you up by bringing coffee (or tea or hot chocolate or whatever you like) with biscuits to your tree house. Then you go for breakfast – which is a combination buffet and a cook that will whip something up for you.

Like all &Beyond lodgings, it’s big bucks but it’s also a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToonTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

what they have done for where this is is really unbelievable. incredible attention to detail, the food is wonderful as are the guides. we had Abdalla as our guide, and he knew more about wildlife than any of the &beyond guides, hands down.

my only beef with this lodge was the location, its in a fairly remote part of the park, which is great, but there is nothing dynamic about its locale, by that I mean there are no views of the lake, cliffs, etc. you are in a flat part of the jungle.

now, for the positives. the decor is to die for, what it lacks in natural scenery at the lodge, it makes up for with killer design. we loved our bed, the bathroom with the standalone tub. showering outside, etc.

they have a bit of an ant problem, those small ants that like water, but really, the photos on the website do not tell any lies, the place is amazing.

oh, one more thing, the pool needs to be redone, nothing special about the pool here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdoggiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#3 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 160 in Arusha
714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Property: andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only one in Lake Manyara National Park, andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is renowned for its romantic stilted treehouse suites that are shaded by a mahogany forest. After an exhilarating game drive, guests stop for sundowners on the lakeshore below the Great Rift Valley wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Tree Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing