We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really like this place. its great, its awesome:-))”
Review of E Unoto Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
E Unoto Retreat
Reviewed 19 February 2012

In general this place is very good. Being in midist of natural bushes while covered by Eastern rift valley ridge it makes the place llok excellent

Room Tip: Rooms along the ridge are far more better for they make you have a great view to the swamp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomodachiSAfaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2009 whilst on safari at Lake Manyara & Taranguire. It was fabulous! Returned again November 2011, and left feeling very disappointed :(
The setting obviously hasnt changed - and this is spectacular! Nature doesnt disappoint!
However the rooms have deteriorated - our first room had a non working toilet, and a burnt out bulb in the bedside lamp....they changed our room with no fuss however.
I remember the staff being totally amazing last time, but were all different this time, and check out was a slow ardous procedure - no credit cards accepted and we didnt have enough cash!
The resort runs on a generator with limited hours of it being turned on - a couple in the morning, a couple at night. If you're not in your pj's and all washed up before the lights go out, you are suddenly flung into total darkness!
The food was average - they dont serve coffee at all (that killed me at breakfast!)
I will be returning to Tanzania but will not go back to E Unoto.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to restaurant as the walk is dark otherwise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

when i read of luxury lodge i expect luxury stay BUT to say the least this place is horrible.When we arrived no one took any attention of us,no wellcome.The reception has its grass thatched roof falling apart as this goes to most of the rooms on site. The bar was ok but not to the expectations, the service and the food made me sick.no manager on site to express my disatisfaction.On the positive side though the rooms and the bed are confortable .The location and view is stunning.Wake up!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isolatedgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Well when I booked my reservations I thought it looked promising a trip away from suburbia and modern stress and over crowding feeling of city life that feeling was achieved but at what price ?

well to sum this up the food was edible but most definitely needs work i don't know how they consider what they feed me food it was bland and tasteless i could have enjoyed an instant noodle bowl better then the food served me while my stay , also i understand the lack of electricity i understood this very well coming into my trip however if you have a fuse issue or lack of power seeing as your prices are very moderate to high you think you would have a backup generator and or solar powered generator as we are in Africa where there is plenty of SUN it was almost comical with all problems from the solar powered water heater or whatever it was providing cold water i don't think it was made correctly you know the solar panels go on the roof or field towards the sun correct but any ways the management needs a lot of work all and all i got through it but don't think it was worth my money and or time overall that's whats important and the lack of more entertainment then dancing and laughing would have been nice this place needs a remodeling just a bit if who ever runs this would hire even a mid decent cook and a couple more English speaking staff the ones there were great but there accents can sometime be difficult to understand so like stated

needs to be fixed
1.) New Chef
2.) New Management
3.) More English
4.) Back-up Generator or better solar powered plating
5.) New paint better Signage to know where what places are.
6.) I Deserve HOT water its Africa boil a tub up if u have too !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

While I read some other reviews and they all have validation. You have to take this place for what it is, but I agree, it could be better managed.

Now, we experienced a very nice staff, the rooms were fine, the view was gorgeous, but also we didn't have electricity at all while we were there. It did take a few minutes for the water to warm up, and we had a fun time trying to find our way back to our room in the pitch black after dinner, (no electricity, but cell phone flashlight app helped some :o) ).

It was a slight inconvenience to not have electricity to charge our electronics, but we made the best of it, and it was sort of fun.

Make sure to note that you will hear animals through the night, it was enjoyable to hear them off in the distance.

Room Tip: If you require a definite source of electricity, this may not be the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJLee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed there for 2 weeks. The service was fabulous. The employees were friendly. Some employees went above and beyond to ensure our comfort or happiness.
The rustic accommodations were more spacious than expected and safe. The beds were very comfortable.
Keep in mind, this location is remote Tanzania. It is a great place to use as a base to explore the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Bring plenty of mosquito spray. Wear close-toed shoes that you don't mind getting dirty. Also br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The good: The lodge is situated in a great spot overlooking the rift valley. Beautiful views of the lake and banana plantations - and of course the rift escarpment. Service is good from the staff - especially Lengai (our "butler") who was very interactive and seemed to actually take pleasure in talking with us and telling us about his life etc. The basic infrastructure is good, the rooms are large and comfortable and have all the necessary facilities - in fact they were probably the most luxuriously appointed rooms we stayed in during our visit to Tanzania.
The bad: The place is, to be very frank, badly run and managed. It's not easy to run a lodge like this in Tanzania, as many basics are hard to come by - but that's all the more reason to have a really good manager on the spot. It's ok to provide a limited supply of electricity just a few hours a day - we expect that. What we don't expect is that when the generator fuses, they can't fix it, and there is no electricity at all. What exacerbated the situation was that they had not put any thought into back-up plans....the staff started running around looking for candles and matches - which of course blew out in the wind and were pretty useless (One of the staff lent us his torch for the night which was nice of him).The hot water in the rooms is solar heated, so ostensibly should be independent of the electric supply - but it didn't work (despite it being a very sunny day) ..... so no hot showers either! The food was, to put it mildly, uninspiring. We are vegetarians and the cook had absolutely no idea what to do with that piece of information (this was the last of six or seven places we stayed in Tanzania - and up till then none of the camps had any problem at all providing for vegetarians). Dinner turned out to be our lunch...reheated and hidden under a tortilla, the soup was totally tasteless in both meals (there were small bits of meat floating in my "vegetarian" soup), and the "chocolate cake and custard" desert turned out to be a dry crumbling slice of cake smeared with plum (?) jam.
Summary: Get rid of the cook, change the manager, sharpen the place up and you've probably got one of the nicest lodges in Northern Tanzania. Don't - and you're going to lose a lot of custom

Room Tip: Check hot water first to see the heater works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingFungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Manyara National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#1 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nsya Lodge & Camp
Nsya Lodge & Camp
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Safari Camp
Panorama Safari Camp
#4 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanaka
Fanaka
#25 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E Unoto Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Unoto Retreat

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Tanzania Maasai Luxury Lodge - Outside of Lake Manyara Park, overlooking Lake Miwaleni, this secluded, luxurious Maasai-styled lodge uniquely offers 25 spacious bungalows including 4 honeymoon & 4 handicap suites. E Unoto is centrally located to most of the famous and well-known northern parks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing