We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This was the second place of our trip and it was stunning. We were shocked when the really nice staff brought us to our lodge....BEAUTIFUL VIEW! Just see the pictures I attached. We were in heaven.

The lodge was really nice, the bed was the biggest I have ever seen. The bathroom was good and everything was clean.

The staff is really friendly and are always smiling. The food is a joy! Never disappointed.

We also did a nature walk that I can highly recommend. You learn a lot about the surroundings and nature.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperOosterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    183
    49
    11
    6
See reviews for
94
205
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the Hague
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent two nights here to see the national park. The road up the hill to the lodge is quite something, and they are refurbishing the guides' lodgings, so our guide had all the way up and down extra drives, but that is temporary. The people are very nice, and dont't forget to follow the signs 'to the bar' because that is where the view is, and we only discovered this after already having spent 24 hours there. The meals are OK and the service very good. The tents have fixed facilities and we found it most agreeable. The bed in our tent was perfectly OK and the place is very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JWandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
302 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Kirurumu Manyara Lodge is a few bunpy kilometres from the main road but once there it affords great views of the Rift Valley and Lake Manyara itself.

Staff were on hand to take our bags straight to our tent.

We stayed two nights in a two week safari in Northern Tanzania and the tent (a room really) was the most comfortable we had of its type. The bathroom was very good and the shower in particular was by some way the best we had. Our room had a sensational view too.

Dining is in a large semi open area with an accompanyment of frog noises at dinner. There is a choice of food which was was of a good standard and the bar is a good place to sit and watch a wide variety of birds.

We had room number 27 which is rather a long uphill climb to the dining room but I would imagine if it is a problem the staff would probably do something about this.

There was no obvious management staff in attendance but everybody at the property was very friendly.

This was probably the best lodge/tented camp we visited in Tanzania albeit our wildlife experience in the Park was not as good as other parks we visited.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a very long walk from the dining area so ask for a closer one if this is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Kirurumu is located near NP Lake Manyara and offers a breathtaking view of Manyara Lake. The tents are simply great, luxury, well equipped, beautiful view, shower worked with no problems, the best shower we had during our safari:-)Very good to chill out or take a rest after safari.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mispule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo B.C.
Level Contributor
211 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

What a delightful place. We stayed at the Kirurumu Manayara Lodge for two evenings during our three week safari in northern Tanzania this past November.

The setting is fantastic with many of the tented cabins overlooking the Lake Manayara valley below.

The tented cabins hardly feel like tents at all as they are so nicely appointed and furnished. Each cabin has a very spacious patio with nice chairs to lounge in. The interior includes a very large and comfortable bed, sitting area and desk. The bathroom is spacious with a nice large shower and sink area. The cabins themselves are connected by a series of sidewalks that run through the property. Staff is super quick to help you with your bags or help you navigate your way to and from the central reception and dinning area.

The dinning area is nice and large and comfortable. The meals are very well done and you have a choice of entrée’s to select from. Service is exceptional; the servers are very quick, friendly and polite.

The road into the property is a wee bit long and on the bumpy side but well worth the drive and once back on the blacktop it is only a short 10 minute drive to the gates of Manyara Lake National Park.

For those of you who are bird enthusiasts, the lodge site has many unique and colorful birds.

We highly recommend the Kirurumu Manyara Lodge and would rate it a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNanaimoB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

No other tented lodge I stayed in Tanzania offered any security other than a coded safe. Rather than feeling vulnerable, I felt I was at good places. Ironically, once the staff at Kirurumu handed me a padlock, I lost my sense of security. At other place, I carried my valuable & passport with me as wise practice. At Kirurumu, the padlock gave me the sense that carrying my valuable & passport was a needed safe guard.

The Location: At the top of hill at Lake Manyara, a good 20-minute dirt road ride to the lodge. The lodge does offer a nice valley view. But a double row lay-out ensures half of the guest will not enjoy it.

The tents: Tents on the back row face the paved trail where the porters and night guards congregate. They converse day & night. Even in hush to normal tone, they could be bothersome if you enjoy an afternoon nap or if you are a light sleeper. The tents are canvas front connected to stucco bathrooms. In my tent, the bathroom’s cleanliness was marginal.

The Meals: Meals is served at your own table. Dinner follows a formula of stewed meat in a herb & spice source, a heap of starch, and a vegetable side. An adequate fair, nothing to savor.

Expectation: An non-descriptive location. Adequate tent accommodation with marginal bathroom facilities. So-so meals. Perhaps because of the separate dining arrangement, guests did not seem to care to socialize with other guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lariat3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

From the welcome to the goodbye, the night we spent at Kirurumu Manyara was faultless.

The warriors were helpful in taking our bags and making sure we got to and from our very comfortable tent.

The food was as you would expect though I didn't get what I asked for. There were two mains on the menu and I got the wrong one though being hungry and being happy with either didn't want to complain. Simple but good food.

The view in the morning of the lake was stunning, absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serenget...
#10 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 40 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 40 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirurumu Manyara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Property: Kirurumu Manyara Lodge
Address: Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirurumu Manyara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge is set high on the edge of the Great Rift Valley consisting of 27 tented rooms including 2 honeymoon suites and 2 family cottages with fully ensuite bathrooms, hot and cold running water, Electricity and Dining room with waiter service with Bar complete with sun-deck and panoramic views of the rift valley.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kirurumu Manyara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirurumu Manyara Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing