We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming lodge with friendly atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This middle size lodge is set with confortable tented bungalows widely spread out in a forest with a nice view of the Manyara lake and park. The staff is attentionate friendy and efficient. The restaurant and bar are very nice with a wonderful view. Food is excellent with a real local touch. Good access to the Manyara park.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Kirurumu camps for our entire 8-day Tanzanian safari in late February and were very satisfied.

Manyara Camp is a permanent tented camp (the other Kirurumu locations . . . Ngorongoro & Serengeti . . . are mobile tented camps) beautifully situated on the hillside. Our tent (#24) had a wonderful view of the lake. While it’s called a tented camp, it’s really more like a bungalow hotel: running water, flush toilets, shower, electricity, amenities, etc.

The staff was terrific: professional, jovial and responsive. The dinner menu offered 3 choices and the food was quite good.

Room Tip: Tent #24 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolnRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirurumu, Owner at Kirurumu Manyara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi there!
Thank you very much for your positive review on our Kirurumu Manyara Lodge as well as our Serengeti and Ngorongoro Camps. We are delighted that your Tanzanian Safari was satisfactory and hope you will consider your stay with us in future should you visit Tanzania again.

Regards,
Kirurumu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

If you are planning a safari in Northern Tanzania, Kirurumu Lodge is a great place to spend a few nights in the middle or end of the safari, when you could use a little pampering and some clean clothes (they offer same day laundry service). We stayed two nights in February, 2014, and were very glad we did. Our experience with the staff was outstanding from the moment we arrived. We took advantage of the complimentary one hour guided hike to the edge of the escarpment. Meals and restaurant service were outstanding, with a fixed menu that offers a vegetarian choice, which was also outstanding (stuffed eggplant one evening and vegetarian lasagna the next). Coffee and tea were always available. The tents themselves were like suites with solid floors, permanent toilet and shower set up with hot water for showers available at any time. While there are no warnings about lions roaming the grounds, I did find a bushbaby on the roof at dusk. The lodge is about a 15 minute drive from Lake Manyara National Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 (Chui) which was close to the restaurant and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirurumu, Manager at Kirurumu Manyara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi Michael,
Thank you very much for your positive review of our Kirurumu Manyara Lodge.

Regards,
Kirurumu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The food was very good The service was excellent. The grounds were amazing. Webster's should place a picture of the guest lodging under the definition of glamping. The space was large, the bed amazing. The bathroom was the best we had (including our stays at several nice lodges) and the deck/porch offered a great view of the Manyara Valley.

The only negative was the music and loud noise that could be heard throughout the night, which came from (of all things) a disco located in the town below.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirurumu, Owner at Kirurumu Manyara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi Greg,
Thank you very much for your positive review of Kirurumu Manyara Lodge. We are particularly delighted that with you, we scored highly with our food (and service) and room amenities; aspects which we continually improve to enhances our guests' stay at Kirurumu. We hope to see you soon should you visit Tanzania.

Regards,
Kirurumu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

After a long day of travel this tented lodge was a welcome sight. The tents were very comfortable and offered stunning views of the Rift Valley floor -- lush and green. Depending on your tent you might hear waterfalls in the distance, very relaxing. The bar area was quaint with spectacular views toward Lake Manyara. The dining area offered an opportunity to see birds feeding, the food was wonderful, and the staff very kind and courteous. And the Masai always made sure you were taking care of going to and from your tent after dark. Enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirurumu, Owner at Kirurumu Manyara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Cheryl,
Thank you very much for your positive review of Kirurumu Manyara Lodge. We are very delighted that your stay at our lodge was a wonderful experience complimented by the scenic views of the Great Rift Valley Escarpment, food / service and our attentive staff. Thank you again and you are most welcome to stay at our Manyara Lodge as well as any of our other properties in Northern Tanzania.

Regards,
Kirurumu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a beautiful tented lodge that served the most delicious food any place that we visited in Africa. The service in the restaurant was second to none and the food was fabulous. The tented lodges were large, airy,and fully netted looking out into wilderness so that you really knew you were in Africa! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had lots of hot water and a wonderful shower. We also had a netted porch with large, comfortable chairs to sit and enjoy the atmosphere of Africa. The Masai security takes you to and from your rooms as there are numerous animals near and around the camp. During the night we heard a lion, a hyena and probably a buffalo (possibly a hippo) making their communications. It was simply wonderful. Another place we would loved to have stayed an extra night!

Room Tip: Think that all the lodges here are excellent. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirurumu, Owner at Kirurumu Manyara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Albertameev,
Thank you very much for your positive review of our Tented Lodge in Manyara. We are especially glad that you view the food / service we have at Manyara Lodge is second to none. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We loved our room at this lodge. We had tons of privacy and an amazing view. The room was really spacious, had a fantastic bathroom (unlike some of the lodges we stayed at on safari) and a great deck looking out over the valley.
The restaurant's food was also very good. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly.
The grounds of the lodge were sprawling, with pretty meandering paths everywhere, so let the front desk or your safari operator know if you need to a shorter walk to your room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_in_Palo_Alto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
154 reviews
0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
290 reviews
0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,659 reviews
0 mi away
Serengeti Sopa Lodge
Serengeti Sopa Lodge
#22 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
815 reviews
0 mi away
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara
#15 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirurumu Manyara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Address: Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £68 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirurumu Manyara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge is set high on the edge of the Great Rift Valley consisting of 27 tented rooms including 2 honeymoon suites and 2 family cottages with fully ensuite bathrooms, hot and cold running water, Electricity and Dining room with waiter service with Bar complete with sun-deck and panoramic views of the rift valley.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirurumu Manyara Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing