We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Manyara Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Rim View(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Jambo Rooms(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
35
49
19
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
49
19
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake manyarababoonsoriginsafariparktreenaturecamping
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night during my safari. The service was excellent. The buffet style dinner was great. The bars/lounges were very nice. My room location was a long walk from the front desk, the stairs seemed to be endless. The bed was comfortable and the shower was okay. The view of the park was amazing from the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

overall it was a much below to our expectations ,nothing could really suits our requirements right from service to quality of food..infact food was rotton.

difficult to revisit them as we were overcharged with minimum worth value of it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOB W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard J, Public Relations Manager at Lake Manyara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Valued guest,
The management is concerned about the rotten food that was served to you.
Please contact us for a further probe on this matter. www.hotelsandlodges-tanzania.com
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This was the first stop on our safari and the hotel is situated on the rim and thus overlooks the lake and the savannah. It was not the best place we stayed at but overall it was good.There was a nice swimming pool and bar. The food was good but as is the case with the majority of buffetst the hot food is only luke warm

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 54Chrispeter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

One of the most memorable places I have ever traveled too. The drive into the national park is amazing and then there is a point that visitors have to turn around and leave the park. As a registered guest you travel down a picturesque road and through what they call the Mahogony Gates. Be sure as you are being driven down the road to look up in the trees. This is the only place on earth where Lions climb trees. That alone would be enough to get me there and it was the draw at first. Lake Manyara is where the scenes of the movie Out of Africa was filmed breath taking views and hundreds of flights of the magnificent birds is mesmerizing. Take the time to stop by the side of the road to hear them eating. The clicking beaks are quite noisy. Each room is a treehouse. Baboons are playing on your private deck and elephants are known to come by in the afternoon for a walk through. You shower outside under the stars at night and there is a lovely, "pretty woman" bathtub. A sweet surprise after a long safari drive. Food and service is all 5 stars. Treat yourself to a once in a lifetime experience. The driver stopped by the hot springs and the local custom is to see how long you can keep your hands in the hot springs. The water is beyond hot and they laugh at the willingness to give it a try. Hot springs are steaming from deep underground. The evening dining around the fire pit with barbecued meat is absolutely delicious. I hated to leave my waiter and room attendant behind. This place calls you back. Amazing experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on paths but the cabins are set in such a way that no one has a direct view of your spot. You feel private and protected for guests walking through to there place. Delightful experience. If your hot water is not working when you check in to your room make a call to have service come out and turn on the boiler. A hot shower is always important to me.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadDirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is placed at the rim and has thus a stunning view over the lake. The surroundings are very well kept and so was the pool. Our room was a bit to the small side but otherwise fine.
We loved sitting at the outdoor restaurant having a beer with its beautiful view.
The hotel is very big, and since we were only about 20 guests at the hotel it was not very cosy. The restaurant was therefore also very empty, but the food was good and the servants extremely attentive.
This hotel is absolutely very good. But being so big you do not get a very personal approach to the staff.
Sonja and Steen Stensgaard

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOSSilkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews