We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recovery in a great nature!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ol Mesera Tented Camp
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Tented Lodge in a wonderful environment far away from busy city-life. Fantastic view to the green nature of East-Africa and to the Ngorongoro-Crater-Area. What we enjoyed most, was the hospitality of all the people there, the excellent food and the tranquillity, which allowed us to relax completely and forget the everyday life.
An extraordinary place for all those, who love nature, nice people and it is an ideal starting point for safaris to the Nationalparks. We will be back there next time we travel to Tanzania!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lilly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was my favorite location in Africa so far, after an overland trip of 3 months. Stayed for nearly two weekks and I enjoyed every single day.
The location of the large and very comfortable tents is amazing with a awsome view of the plains below and the slopes of the Ngorongoro in the distance. Hear hyena's in the night while the Massai watchman takes his position near the tents for the dark night to come
Possibility of hikes in the surrounding savannah in search of zebra's, giraffes, impala, ostrich, warthogs, go to the forest, climb the slope of the Ngorongoro, visit Massai village(s) and game drives in the NP or just watch the amazing birdlife around the camp and read your favorite book with a cool drink.
Barbara is a most hospitable hostess and a real pioneer who loves Africa more than anybody else. Her Massaï staff is aimable and very efficiënt. The menu changes virtually every day and I had the best food ever in Africa.
A very recommend place to soak up the real and true African atmosphere.
Thank You again Barbara, your staff (especially Hamiz) for this memorable visit. I will never forget.
Marc
Belgium

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stemaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This place is amazing...all the tents in the camp have the most amazing view of the rift valley and you can see wild life all around...the food is delicious....and Barbara, the owner is the most sweet lady ready to accommodate you in anything you need....we really had a good time at Ol Mesera.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DahianaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This is lodge is superbly set out with the tents being extremely private and having one of the most beautiful vistas of any tented camp I've stayed in in East Africa. It is rustic yet charming and Barbara is a real delight, an unassuming woman who has lived an extraordinary life. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Newzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Ol Mesera Tented Camp (which means 'Baobab Tree' in the local Maasai language) was absolutely perfect for our 4-day visit to the Lake Manyara/Ngorongoro Crater region. With only 4 tents at the camp, we had the luxury of being the only guests there and got excellent and personalized service as a result. Barbara, who manages the lodge, was incredibly helpful with arranging everything during our stay - from our guide/driver to our meals to our lost luggage, she took care of it all! The grounds of the camp are beautiful and very well-maintained. An absolutely stunning view to wake up to each morning. While the tents are small and have simple furnishings, they are extremely clean and cozy. We slept great and ate well too! (The food was delicious). I simply cannot say enough nice things about Barbara and Ol Mesera. I can only hope to make it back there someday!

I would also like to note that if you're a traveler 'with a conscience', so to speak, as we were - Barbara is very involved with giving back to the local community and employing local Maasai, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I made a 3 days safari with my girlfriend and family last December and after visiting the incredible Ngorongoro crater we slept at the OL Mesera tented camp, 45 min drive from the Ngorongoro parc and same distance from the Tarangire parc (we visited it the days after)
It's a small lodge, (not as the big tours company lodges) where you will feel at home The owner, Barbara, warmly welcomed us in her lodge she built in 2005 after having worked for 20 years in dispensaries in Tanzania. The rooms are big tents, and the confort is very good( big beds, large bathrooms,....)and the meals are delicious.
It's a very good place, and that's definitely a good option if you are looking something more quiet and peacefull than the usually hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avedisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Ol Mesera is a wonderful spot - a small paradise on earth. Pure tranquility. Giraffes, zebras, monkeys, warthogs and beautiful birds - all very close. Emanuel is a phantastic cook! We will go there again. Karola & Volker, Germany

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiesbasden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
1.5 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
687 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,640 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
#27 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
52 reviews
30.7 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#1 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Mesera Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Mesera Tented Camp

Address: Lake Natron Road, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £38 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO OL MESERA TENTED CAMP! - Situated in a true African Savannah, And our location is just perfect 15 minutes drive from Mto wa Mbu and yet far away from the busy city life, you will always feel alone in the bush and be awakened by the birds in the morning chirping around, only to discover the beautiful view of the Ngorongoro escarpment and see Maasai graze their livestock in the valley from your private balcony! Our authentic African camp is the perfect base and yet the only place to experience all the Maasai traditions! walk with our friendly Maasai staff to their real homes untouched by commercialism and learn many thing about their lifestyle, you can learn how to throw a spear, an arrow, make fire with sticks,about their tradition medicine, making of tradition honey wine,watch how they can take blood from the bull with a short of an arrow,milk their prized cow, or even go a day grazing with Maasai warriors with packed lunch or have goat BBQ in the bush with Maasai warriors! you can also have a goat BBQ in their boma(Village). Our Tour desk will assist you in renting a car at a reasonable price when visiting all the major national parks in the northern circuit which can be a day trip from the camp, you can visit Lake Manyara National Park, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tarangire National Park, Lake Natron, Engaruka Ruins, Ol Donyo Lengai( The active volcano mountain and mountain of god for the Maasai) Or a safari to the famous Serengeti National park and return the next day! we will love to hear your stories! Also activities provided by Mto wa Mbu cultural Tourism can be arranged such as farm tour, biking to Lake Manyara and climbing balaa hill! KARIBU SANA! (Most Welcome!) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing