We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Manyara serena lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Spectacular location with great views over the park and some smaller scale wildlife in the grounds. The pool was a welcome change from safari road trips and the hotel staff were welcoming. Quite pricey, but it was all in, so worked out fairly reasonable. We couldn't find the promised games / activities for the kids unfortunately and it was quite hard work sorting out the advertised nature trail. Being there at the same time as the Agha Khan was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our group of 17 only stayed here one night due to scheduling issues. It is a nice hotel but our room was pretty far from the restaurant and I was pooped so the walk wasn't appreciated. The room itself was quite nice. We had a leak in the toilet and they sent a man to fix it immediately. (I have a feeling it may continue but it was fine for the duration of our stay.) It was sort of odd that was had 3 twin beds in the room but it gave us more room to spread out our things. This was another round room! We were upstairs so our view was nice but I think a downstairs room would be preferred. The buffet for both breakfast and dinner was awesome!

Room Tip: Personally, I'd ask for a room on the ground floor close to the main lobby area and pool. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

While Lake Manyar is not a top attraction, this was convenient as a stop on way to Serengeti, and the view is spectacular from all .rooms. If comparing to other E. African properties, would give 4*, but compared to American/European hotels, perhaps 2*. The pool is cool but nice, with a k'horizon' view, and the pool bar has a similar view. food is good at the buffets. The room seemed clean, with ok bed and nice shower, but there were spots on ceiling and walls possibly from smashed bugs - needed repainting. Watch the baboons playing/fighting outside the rooms and around the grounds. Barservice seemed poor in main bar, but good at pool - especially along with evening entertainment of either dancing or acrobatics (really excellent show). TV avvvilable off bar, but few channels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for just 24 hours on route to Zanzibar - food was excellent - we have an eclectic set of tastes in the family and all were well catered for. Laundry service saved my life after safari - great value for money even thought the baboons tried to steal the clothes!! Lovely staff and facilities would love to return

Cocktails, sunset infinity pool - fab!

Room Tip: Some rooms were a good walk from reception but views were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahstott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stopped here for lunch as we were touring in Lake Manyara National Park. The food was good, not great, but good. There were lots of selections on the buffet line. Since there was a large crowd there, some of the items were on the sparse side. The attendants were very nice, the place was clean and I would say it is a nice place to have lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lake Manyara Serena Lodge. My favorite lodge in Tanzania!!!! I really loved the architecture and layout of the rooms. Nice bathrooms with great toiletries.

The infinity pool was small but beautiful and the food was excellent, with many choices. Their laundry service was very affordable and fast. We sent a few items after lunch and they were ready that same evening!

Would have loved to stay a few days in order to enjoy the facilities more! Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This safari lodge is located high above lake Manyara, overlooking the lake, coastline, and Mosquito River City below. Although access is via a long, dirt road, the facility is very nice. You stay in fourplexes modeled after Masai huts (but not made of dung!). These are strung out such that all rooms have an excellent view. There was a zero-edged swimming pool (cold...like all pools in Kenya and Tanzania), with a nice bar adjacent, and entertainment of some type every night (acrobats and a capella singers performed for us).

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsimosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
24.6 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
698 reviews
2 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
154 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,659 reviews
0 mi away
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodg...
#7 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
202 reviews
8.3 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £162 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Southall Travel so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing