We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was the third Serena I had been to in quick succession. Each was in a sublime location, each was very different from the others and different from the usual "hotel" and each was fantastic. Well catered for the mass tourism market without it feeling like mass tourism.
Would stay in any of them again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

Great location with excellent views. The staff were all friendly and welcoming at all times, with all of them smiling constantly. The rooms are all located with views of the lake and valley, all in quaint buildings. You can often hear the people in the adjacent rooms. The rooms themselves were clean, basic but perfect for our needs. The linen was clean and crisp and the shower was excellent. The pool was cool but idyllic after a day in the ngorogoro crater, with a bar and evening entertainment every night. Overall a perfect place to stay and relax...

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Will0ldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were a group of 12 people travelling to Tanzania on a Safari trip. This property is only few minutes away from Manyara National Park. It looks like an old property but well maintained. Rooms were spacious with veranda. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Veranda overlooks the Manyara National Park and lake. It has a small infinity pool and a bar attached to the pool. Though I didn’t use the pool it was looking neat and tidy.

Excellent spread of buffet dinner and breakfast and ample number of staff to service. They had few food items from Indian culinary too and that gave us more smile. Cultural dances in the evening added more spice to our stay in Serena. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was a fantastic hotel, with good service, a dining area with lots of character and excellent food (buffet). The view across Lake Manyara is amazing, especially from the pool. We were disappointed to only stay here for one night on our safari.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank FigNewton86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Spectacular location with great views over the park and some smaller scale wildlife in the grounds. The pool was a welcome change from safari road trips and the hotel staff were welcoming. Quite pricey, but it was all in, so worked out fairly reasonable. We couldn't find the promised games / activities for the kids unfortunately and it was quite hard work sorting out the advertised nature trail. Being there at the same time as the Agha Khan was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our group of 17 only stayed here one night due to scheduling issues. It is a nice hotel but our room was pretty far from the restaurant and I was pooped so the walk wasn't appreciated. The room itself was quite nice. We had a leak in the toilet and they sent a man to fix it immediately. (I have a feeling it may continue but it was fine for the duration of our stay.) It was sort of odd that was had 3 twin beds in the room but it gave us more room to spread out our things. This was another round room! We were upstairs so our view was nice but I think a downstairs room would be preferred. The buffet for both breakfast and dinner was awesome!

Room Tip: Personally, I'd ask for a room on the ground floor close to the main lobby area and pool. There...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

While Lake Manyar is not a top attraction, this was convenient as a stop on way to Serengeti, and the view is spectacular from all .rooms. If comparing to other E. African properties, would give 4*, but compared to American/European hotels, perhaps 2*. The pool is cool but nice, with a k'horizon' view, and the pool bar has a similar view. food is good at the buffets. The room seemed clean, with ok bed and nice shower, but there were spots on ceiling and walls possibly from smashed bugs - needed repainting. Watch the baboons playing/fighting outside the rooms and around the grounds. Barservice seemed poor in main bar, but good at pool - especially along with evening entertainment of either dancing or acrobatics (really excellent show). TV avvvilable off bar, but few channels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,596 reviews
2.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
200 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
144 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
422 reviews
2.2 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £221 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Southall Travel so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing