We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Couldn't fault this lodge. Amazing location and setting, gorgeous pool and bar. Impeccable staff. Great food.

Rooms were beautiful with great showers, beds. Turndown service. Fast Internet access in public areas.

Pricey but well worth the extra cash after a long day on safari.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asubterranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    312
    80
    16
    6
See reviews for
190
335
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Spectacular views over the Nation Park. The Lodge has interesting architecture there out the resort and rooms. The Internet at the time of our stay was very slow. Our room was a good size and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and the Buffet Dinner was fabulous with a lot of variety to choose from and plentiful

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dellobears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in December during our safari for only 1 night. However, what a night. The rooms are interesting and cute - like walking up to a Hobbit house. Dinner was fantastic - with a buffet of foods from different cultures. The infinity pool overlooks the Serengeti - how many times might you say that to friends and family?! It was cold, but invigorating. Great gift shop.

The rooms were spacious and bed was comfy.

Now for the best part: Just after dark we cracked open the window in our room with the lights out and, perfectly still, we listened. For more than three hours we heard at least 2 lions grunting right outside our room. This was an experience to be savored - provided we were safely in room! They seemed perfectly content, with a an occasional low roar. Obviously, you do not walk around this place at night, which made it even more exciting.

If we can get back to Tanzania, I will make sure we're here for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: If you're interested in hearing the wildlife at night, ask for a room farthest out. Just make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msklausler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The rooms and main lodge have some of the most amazing architecture in the country. Unfortunately, the walls of the rooms are so thin you can hear your neighbor think. The view from each room over looks the distant, but nearly dry Manyara Lake. The Associated park is small and better know for its birds than lots of wild animals. It is one park you can skip and not have missed much. The lodge food is good and provides free champagne for breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njdadddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area California
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I was with a group that stayed only one night and one of our members has already given a positive review of the amenities. I would like to add my experience with the staff.

This was my first opportunity to use the wifi in Africa. The lodge has a room with computers plus you can use your own via wifi if you are close by. There was an employee to guide me into logging on. (The service is pay per hour.) this was very helpful.

While our group was being checked in I inadvertently left a few items on the floor by my bag and then went off and forgot them when I picked up the bag. They found their way back to me the next day before I had missed them! I was impressed because there are groups coming and going all the time.

Overall a good impression even though we were not there long.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majuscule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The biggest advantage of this hotel is a incredible view of Manyara lake. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. It is a good place to take a rest after a all day safari.
It is worth to get up in the morning to enjoy sunrise over the lake which is an unforgettable view.
The swimming pool is very nice for swimming and making nice pictures with a nice backround view.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaffioM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The lodge is situated outside the lake manyara national park up the hill. The view of lake manyara from the lodge is fascinating. you get to see many birds in the lodge premises. The rooms are good with brilliant views of lake manyara. The breakfast, lunch & dinner buffets at the lodge were excellent. The swimming pool had great view of the lake as well. It is really a pleasure to use the pool in between the game drives. Just outside the lodge premises, there are a few souvenir shops, we tried them, they were selling items at a much cheaper price. Unlike the other national parks in Tanzania, Lake Manyara is a dense jungle with little less dense areas. We did not spot much game in this area. We could not find any famous tree climbing lions of lake manyara. Although the lodge was great & the view of lake mayara was excellent, the national park was a disappointment for us. We would rather visit serengeti & ngorongoro when we come back again in Tanzania.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor,they have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonale19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
1.5 mi away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
26.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
12.5 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Southall Travel so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing