We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Rim View(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
Highview Hotel(Karatu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Jambo Rooms(Karatu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveller rating
360
341
87
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
341
87
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poollake manyaraone nightbuffet stylegreat viewnational parkbefore dinnerenjoyable stayrooms are spaciousevening entertainmentacrobatic showbeautiful groundsthe cliffhill overlookingafter a long daysafari tourfirst stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 812 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed in three different Serena Lodges and we were not disappointed in any of them. Each one had very unique African architecture. Service was great. Amenities met all our needs. The grounds at each location were beautiful and well maintained. Highly recommend them.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there would be a bad room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grasshoppermt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

On arrival you are greeted with a damp towel and mango juice. The reception area is very cool and there are benches to sit on whilst completing your registration form and receiving information about the hotel. Your bags are carried along winding paths to rooms which are in round thatched buildings. My room was on the ground floor and the patio door/terrace with chairs, had a most wonderful view over the National Park in the valley way down below which looked like Jurassic Park. Directly in front of the window was bushy woodland, giving way to a grassy plain and in the distance Lake Manyara itself. There were three bottles of water, a safe and an umbrella. The large bathroom had a huge walk in shower. Supplies included a bathrobe, tissues, hairdryer, face clothes, hand/body lotion, shower gel, soap, shampoo and a shower hat. The infinity swimming pool is a perfect temperature – there are towels and sunbeds available and a bar adjacent which serves free tea and coffee or is perfect for a sundowner overlooking the view and watching fluorescent coloured birds. Evening entertainment takes place by the pool – this consisted of a local acrobatic show. The dining room is circular with small circular rooms off and there is no glass in the windows. It was quite dark with candles on the tables. You order soup otherwise there is a buffet - salad, cheese, and a choice of main courses a lot of which were Indian, and desserts. Breakfast is also buffet – you order eggs, toast, tea and coffee. Lunch again was buffet with served soup. You get the opportunity to sit outside for lunch which is nice when you have been in a jeep all morning. If you are arriving by plane the hotel is very close to the airstrip. Also very handy for the National Park. Wished I could have stayed an extra night here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent 2 days at the lodge in November as part of our honeymoon in Tanzania. We were greeted immediately by the lodge Manager, Mr. Mustafa Mbinga, who was charming, friendly and professional. He ensured our room was satisfactory to us, gave us a quick tour of the facilities and made us feel right at home. The grounds are stunning - beautiful flora, fantastic views of Lake Manyara and the National Park and an outstanding infinity pool. The rooms are very clean and decorated with a local feel. All amenities are updated and each room as a little balcony that is perfect for morning coffee or an evening cocktail.

The food was phenomenal and the staff was professional and friendly. If you have the time and the weather permits, try to arrange the "bush dinner", which involves a dinner "en plein air" within the resort, on a candlelit dining table in an open field. The Bush Dinner includes different kinds of meat and fish grilled on an open flame as well as African accompaniments. From the field you can see the nearby town and it is spectacular.

We stayed at several Serena hotels during our stay in Tanzania but this was definitely my favourite. I highly recommend this hotel. Mr. Mbinga is doing a fantastic job with this lodge!

Room Tip: If you can splurge I recommend one of the suites - they are fantastic!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLDEKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Beautiful lodge with a great view of the lake. Also is close to the Manyara national park where we saw yesterday evening monkeys, Antilopa , two Lions , birds and manyother animals. We had dinner here and breakfast, good is acceptable for such a safari trip not gourme food but certainly eatable, surprisingly they have good espressos and capucino and btreakfast is rich.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was by far the worst lodge that we stayed in.The bed linen was grubby.The pillows looked as if they had already been slept on and I was very disappointed.The food catered for all tastes,and was full of flavour and generally hot.The staff were very helpful,polite and friendly.It does get a bit expensive though when they all expect a tip.It seems unfair that the ground staff do not get tipped as often as the staff that are working in the food area.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have been of the same quality.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baqueret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews