We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views from the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The view from the infinity pool was amazing. The room was comfortable and the food very good as was the service. The public areas were also comfortable with Internet access. It was a much smaller place than we had been used to but we enjoyed out 2 night break here. The park however is not the Serengeti so not so many animals to be seen

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

It's the location that fantastic. The hotel overlooks Lake Manyara and is located within a tranquil forest. This was the last leg of our trip, and I enjoyed just putting ,my feet up and staring into the vast open-ness of the water body that stretched out in front of me. The rooms too overlook the lake and one can simply sit by the bay windows......
The food was good and the staff exceptional.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. You could choose from those at ground level that open green ground, or on th...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed in three different Serena Lodges and we were not disappointed in any of them. Each one had very unique African architecture. Service was great. Amenities met all our needs. The grounds at each location were beautiful and well maintained. Highly recommend them.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there would be a bad room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grasshoppermt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

On arrival you are greeted with a damp towel and mango juice. The reception area is very cool and there are benches to sit on whilst completing your registration form and receiving information about the hotel. Your bags are carried along winding paths to rooms which are in round thatched buildings. My room was on the ground floor and the patio door/terrace with chairs, had a most wonderful view over the National Park in the valley way down below which looked like Jurassic Park. Directly in front of the window was bushy woodland, giving way to a grassy plain and in the distance Lake Manyara itself. There were three bottles of water, a safe and an umbrella. The large bathroom had a huge walk in shower. Supplies included a bathrobe, tissues, hairdryer, face clothes, hand/body lotion, shower gel, soap, shampoo and a shower hat. The infinity swimming pool is a perfect temperature – there are towels and sunbeds available and a bar adjacent which serves free tea and coffee or is perfect for a sundowner overlooking the view and watching fluorescent coloured birds. Evening entertainment takes place by the pool – this consisted of a local acrobatic show. The dining room is circular with small circular rooms off and there is no glass in the windows. It was quite dark with candles on the tables. You order soup otherwise there is a buffet - salad, cheese, and a choice of main courses a lot of which were Indian, and desserts. Breakfast is also buffet – you order eggs, toast, tea and coffee. Lunch again was buffet with served soup. You get the opportunity to sit outside for lunch which is nice when you have been in a jeep all morning. If you are arriving by plane the hotel is very close to the airstrip. Also very handy for the National Park. Wished I could have stayed an extra night here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent 2 days at the lodge in November as part of our honeymoon in Tanzania. We were greeted immediately by the lodge Manager, Mr. Mustafa Mbinga, who was charming, friendly and professional. He ensured our room was satisfactory to us, gave us a quick tour of the facilities and made us feel right at home. The grounds are stunning - beautiful flora, fantastic views of Lake Manyara and the National Park and an outstanding infinity pool. The rooms are very clean and decorated with a local feel. All amenities are updated and each room as a little balcony that is perfect for morning coffee or an evening cocktail.

The food was phenomenal and the staff was professional and friendly. If you have the time and the weather permits, try to arrange the "bush dinner", which involves a dinner "en plein air" within the resort, on a candlelit dining table in an open field. The Bush Dinner includes different kinds of meat and fish grilled on an open flame as well as African accompaniments. From the field you can see the nearby town and it is spectacular.

We stayed at several Serena hotels during our stay in Tanzania but this was definitely my favourite. I highly recommend this hotel. Mr. Mbinga is doing a fantastic job with this lodge!

Room Tip: If you can splurge I recommend one of the suites - they are fantastic!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLDEKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Beautiful lodge with a great view of the lake. Also is close to the Manyara national park where we saw yesterday evening monkeys, Antilopa , two Lions , birds and manyother animals. We had dinner here and breakfast, good is acceptable for such a safari trip not gourme food but certainly eatable, surprisingly they have good espressos and capucino and btreakfast is rich.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was by far the worst lodge that we stayed in.The bed linen was grubby.The pillows looked as if they had already been slept on and I was very disappointed.The food catered for all tastes,and was full of flavour and generally hot.The staff were very helpful,polite and friendly.It does get a bit expensive though when they all expect a tip.It seems unfair that the ground staff do not get tipped as often as the staff that are working in the food area.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have been of the same quality.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baqueret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,599 reviews
2.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
201 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
144 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
424 reviews
2.2 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £223 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing