We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Manyara View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lake Manyara View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was our 2nd stop on our week's Safari tour of Tanzania. We arrived in time for lunch, which was served on a terrasse overlooking the infinity pool and beautiful Lake Manyara beyond. The room was comfortable, but in order for all of them to have a view, they are stretched out quite a long way, so it was a bit of a walk each time to/from the restaurant, pool, safari pick-up. Unfortunately, we both woke up in the early hours with sickness & diarrhoea, which obviously spoilt our short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the Reception end to avoid a long walk each time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol_Ann2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    306
    80
    16
    6
See reviews for
188
333
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The view from the infinity pool was amazing. The room was comfortable and the food very good as was the service. The public areas were also comfortable with Internet access. It was a much smaller place than we had been used to but we enjoyed out 2 night break here. The park however is not the Serengeti so not so many animals to be seen

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
382 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

It's the location that fantastic. The hotel overlooks Lake Manyara and is located within a tranquil forest. This was the last leg of our trip, and I enjoyed just putting ,my feet up and staring into the vast open-ness of the water body that stretched out in front of me. The rooms too overlook the lake and one can simply sit by the bay windows......
The food was good and the staff exceptional.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. You could choose from those at ground level that open green ground, or on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed in three different Serena Lodges and we were not disappointed in any of them. Each one had very unique African architecture. Service was great. Amenities met all our needs. The grounds at each location were beautiful and well maintained. Highly recommend them.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there would be a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grasshoppermt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
402 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

On arrival you are greeted with a damp towel and mango juice. The reception area is very cool and there are benches to sit on whilst completing your registration form and receiving information about the hotel. Your bags are carried along winding paths to rooms which are in round thatched buildings. My room was on the ground floor and the patio door/terrace with chairs, had a most wonderful view over the National Park in the valley way down below which looked like Jurassic Park. Directly in front of the window was bushy woodland, giving way to a grassy plain and in the distance Lake Manyara itself. There were three bottles of water, a safe and an umbrella. The large bathroom had a huge walk in shower. Supplies included a bathrobe, tissues, hairdryer, face clothes, hand/body lotion, shower gel, soap, shampoo and a shower hat. The infinity swimming pool is a perfect temperature – there are towels and sunbeds available and a bar adjacent which serves free tea and coffee or is perfect for a sundowner overlooking the view and watching fluorescent coloured birds. Evening entertainment takes place by the pool – this consisted of a local acrobatic show. The dining room is circular with small circular rooms off and there is no glass in the windows. It was quite dark with candles on the tables. You order soup otherwise there is a buffet - salad, cheese, and a choice of main courses a lot of which were Indian, and desserts. Breakfast is also buffet – you order eggs, toast, tea and coffee. Lunch again was buffet with served soup. You get the opportunity to sit outside for lunch which is nice when you have been in a jeep all morning. If you are arriving by plane the hotel is very close to the airstrip. Also very handy for the National Park. Wished I could have stayed an extra night here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent 2 days at the lodge in November as part of our honeymoon in Tanzania. We were greeted immediately by the lodge Manager, Mr. Mustafa Mbinga, who was charming, friendly and professional. He ensured our room was satisfactory to us, gave us a quick tour of the facilities and made us feel right at home. The grounds are stunning - beautiful flora, fantastic views of Lake Manyara and the National Park and an outstanding infinity pool. The rooms are very clean and decorated with a local feel. All amenities are updated and each room as a little balcony that is perfect for morning coffee or an evening cocktail.

The food was phenomenal and the staff was professional and friendly. If you have the time and the weather permits, try to arrange the "bush dinner", which involves a dinner "en plein air" within the resort, on a candlelit dining table in an open field. The Bush Dinner includes different kinds of meat and fish grilled on an open flame as well as African accompaniments. From the field you can see the nearby town and it is spectacular.

We stayed at several Serena hotels during our stay in Tanzania but this was definitely my favourite. I highly recommend this hotel. Mr. Mbinga is doing a fantastic job with this lodge!

Room Tip: If you can splurge I recommend one of the suites - they are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLDEKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Beautiful lodge with a great view of the lake. Also is close to the Manyara national park where we saw yesterday evening monkeys, Antilopa , two Lions , birds and manyother animals. We had dinner here and breakfast, good is acceptable for such a safari trip not gourme food but certainly eatable, surprisingly they have good espressos and capucino and btreakfast is rich.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
7.9 mi away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
24.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
8.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#2 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.9 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
20.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing