We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a quaint, charming hotel tucked into the side of a mountain. The rooms are large and are In buildings designed to look,like huts or cottages. There is free WiFi in each room. The rooms have a small outside area. The bathrooms are large and have thick robes for your use. The staff is welcoming and friendly. There is a pool. The grounds are beautiful with small ponds and water plants. It is very peaceful.

Room Tip: There are a lot of steps in this hotel. If walking up steps is a problem choose a room on the first...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at this lodge for a night on our safari. We had wanted to stay at another lodge but it was full so our tour operator suggested this one. This was the largest out of all the lodges/camps we stayed at and was quite busy with a lot of large groups. The food was nothing special and all meals are buffet style in the main building. We stayed in a standard room which was fairly basic. The grounds were nice and it was entertaining to see a family of baboons come up onto the lawns while we had lunch. Overall, we thought the hotel was average but the pool and the view of the lake are amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccjs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hotel #7 (of a 14 day trip) and only an overnight stay (15 hours total....). It's hard to make a judgment call with such a short stay, but such a good impression for our brief time!

Our room was great, the view and balcony (had we been there longer) would have been appreciated! Wifi was available everywhere (which is sooo not necessary, but appreciated nonetheless!).

Lovely infinity pool (which we just looked at!). Another place that I would not mind going back to and spending a bit more time. Friendly, helpful staff, I'd go again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jperkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Serena Lodge does a excellent job in providing a welcoming environment. All the staff from the Reservation Desk, Restaurant staff, Waiters and gift shop were very welcoming and provided excellent service. The food was excellent with a great selection for dinner and breakfast. The rooms very clean and offered an excellent view. My wife and I really felt comfortable staying here.

The facility prepared a boxed lunch for us for our trip to the Ngorongoro Crater. This boxed lunch was probably the best that we have ever seen in over 11 trips to Africa. It was a star of the boxed lunches at the Hippo pond.

I highly recommend you stay at this facility. We plan to return here next year with a larger group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarvinBailey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff here were so friendly you felt genuinely cared about. From smiles at arrival, to dinner or just wandering the grounds it was a most pleasant experience. And as always, there were a lot of people handy to help move your luggage (even when you did not need or want it).
Dinner was in the beautiful indoor/outdoor dining room, subtle and tasteful décor, and accommodating staff that created a very large table for that accommodated some 30 of us that all wanted to sit together in the outside area. And the food was very good, with a wide variety of cook to your specs areas, so food was fresh and the cooks were talented and accommodating.
Drinks before dinner were in the well appointed lounge, and with a large group with varying tastes, they were able to meet all the requests with ease.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, giving us all a good rest to ready us for another safari the next day.
And what a view of the lake. With the lodge sitting on a rise, and the lake in the valley, the view is stunning. And mother nature provided the perfect end to a perfect day with an extremely colorful sunset. What more could a person ask for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The sun on the foreground, tropical thunderstorms at the horizon, with Lake Manyara in between... what ingredients could enhance that stunning sight ? Very comfortable rooms, good restaurant. Even from the swimming pool seems to blend seamlessly with the view. From all rooms you have the same view over an area of tens of kilometers. Beautiful garden. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: All cottages have the same splendid view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I was peacefully enjoying a private swim and settled on the underwater seat with a glass of wine, enjoying the views over the lake when I was shocked to be joined by a troop of Baboons sitting beside me taking a drink from the pool, what an experience.
The lodge was lovely and the staff welcoming and friendly. Chef Geldart put on a good spread and was delighted to chat with me when I told him I was also a Chef. He then gave me a full tour of his spotless and well run kitchen. only to be followed the next morning by a private Champagne breakfast on the lawn overlooking the lake.
thank you to all the staff.(and the Baboons) for making the last day of our Safari so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith_bidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,596 reviews
2.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
200 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
144 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
422 reviews
2.2 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: £221 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing