We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge with infinity pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge with infinity pool”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent just one night here on our recent visit to Tanzania. The rooms were beautiful and fairly spacious with a lovely view over the Lake Manyara conservation area. The pool was spectacular and also had a wonderful view. Staff were friendly, food was good. All in all I would recommend this lodge to anyone. It's a Serena lodge - so the decor and furnishings and layout were similar to the other Serena lodges we stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebrill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    316
    81
    16
    6
See reviews for
198
340
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel provides adequate and comfortable housing for an overnight stay while on safari in Tanzania. The staff is friendly and speaks good English, although you do not find the extra attention provided at higher-level hotels in Tanzania. Our room was clean and contained a large bed, desk, and wardrobe and had a serviceable bathroom. The bed was okay, but was far from luxurious. Our room did have large sliding doors and a view of the lake. The door is quite difficult to lock with the provided “old school” key and took some fiddling with each attempt. We could also easily hear our neighbors upstairs walking around.

The best part about this hotel is their view over the lake—it is breathtaking. They have a modestly sized infinity pool that overlooks the vast lake. There is a nice poolside bar and a number of lounge chairs for relaxing. Breakfast and dinner are included in the price of the room. They were both good and dinner included what seemed to us to be some authentic African cuisine. It did seem odd that a small extra charge was given for bottled water at dinner. This should just be included in the cost of the room and seemed tacky. The box lunch provided to us for our safari game drive the next day was delicious, had a variety of foods, and was twice as much food as each of us really needed.

Apart from the excellent view over the lake, there is nothing special about this hotel. Accordingly, its price is low and it offers an excellent value as a one-night stopover during a safari in Tanzania. If you are looking for a resort for a multiple night stay, however, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestMaven14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We slept there 1 night.

- great clean pool with the beautiful view on manyara park and lake.
- nice clean and big room (some have a great view)
- nice dinner ( salad and dinner buffet) and breakfast ( buffet)
- employees are nice
- show around the pool at 6 pm.

I recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zouz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Superbe terrasse donnant sur le lac Manyara, accueil très gentil, personnel serviable. Chambres confortables, calmes. Recommandons.
Fantastic view from the bar terrace, very friendly and helpful staff, confortable and quiet rooms.
To us, one of the best lodges in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The lodge has a breathtaking view, just over the rift valley escarpment. The best place to enjoy it is the swimming pool, which is perfectly located above the escarpment - marvelous ! The room was very thoughfully decorated, with a terrace overlooking the valley and lake Manyara. The shower is a bit basic, but very functional.
Finally, the common parts are very well done, with both the sweeping views during the day and a very nice atmosphere on the terrace at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThierryDelahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Lake Manyara Serena Lodge enroute from northern Tanzania to Arusha. The room was clean and spacious with a wonderful view and the staff was extremely accomodating. The food was average, but the café latte in the morning was very good. Anna, the message therapist, is one of the best in the world for deep tissue massage! Try to book her - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The rooms are great, kind of built bungalows which are really cool and comfortable. During the evenings, the staff opens up the mosquito net around the bed, so when you're back from dinner the bed is already protected...

The pool is just great, we came when it was a bit cold to get into (we arrived late afternoon during April), but two hours earlier we would've jumped in to indulge on the infinity of the pool vs. the lake...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syuval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,551 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
266 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
124 reviews
12.5 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
639 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing