We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

When you visit Lake Manyara's National Park there is no better place to view the area. The rooms are fine, so are the food, the facilities and the staff. The pool is a great place to dust off after a game drive or just relax and take in the scenery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank be21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    318
    81
    16
    6
See reviews for
200
340
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Despite it's 3 star rating, this place has everything you need for comfort and rest from your day's safari. Rooms are well appointed, comfortable and very clean. Service is African friendly - which is really excellent - and the infinity pool has a brilliant view. We spent only one night, but were completely satisfied. Would certainly stay again. Have to say that after witnessing the poverty in Africa I would feel really bad staying in anything too flash. This was better than (for example) a Howard Johnson or La Quinta or Ibis. And the service, views and facilities were great.

Room Tip: Rooms are well designed and placed so that they all have great views. Only tip would be to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeyik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at lake manyara serena lodge with my mom for 1 night in may 2014. We didn't spend much time at the lodge as we arrived just before dinner and left early in the morning but our time there was enjoyeable enough. We stayed in a twin bed room that was clean and spacious. I asked for a room with a view of lake manyara np several months in advance of my booking but unfortunately was not given this. Like all serena lodges you r greeted with juice and hot towels on arrival.

Pros
Nice clean spacious rooms
Ok food but my least favorite of all serena lodges
Friendly staff

Cons
Myself personally found this lodge more like a hotel with lots of groups and a little fancy for what I would have liked for tanzania safari accomodations and felt the staff were always expecting a tip

Notes and tips
Buy the night drive directly with the hotel rather than your safari company. The hotel charges 77$ for 2 ppl where my safari company charged me 127$ per person!
A warning that they only serve dinner beginning at 730 like all safari lodges
Do not stop at the large souvenir shop about 15 minutes from the lodge that sells Tanzanite and all the other regular souvenirs this place is a complete rip off and the guides really push there clients to stop here probally for a commission. Theu follow you around the whole time bc there is no prices on anything and everything is marked up at least 50% from the actual Tanzanian people that make everything.

Overall a good stay but I may choose a small lodge if I was staying more then 1 night

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mallorylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

the hotel itself is quite nice offering a serene view, is very green, and has a lovely infinity pool.

the restaurant was very good, nice buffet spread and nice outdoor seating options, not to be unmatched with the superior service they provided.

the rooms were okay in size, but had all the amenities.

all in all a notch above ur mid bracket and a notch below luxury...but a very nice place to stay

Room Tip: stay on the 1st floor, also the layout in like separate houses, so choose one in the middle as it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purnima-Jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent just one night here on our recent visit to Tanzania. The rooms were beautiful and fairly spacious with a lovely view over the Lake Manyara conservation area. The pool was spectacular and also had a wonderful view. Staff were friendly, food was good. All in all I would recommend this lodge to anyone. It's a Serena lodge - so the decor and furnishings and layout were similar to the other Serena lodges we stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebrill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel provides adequate and comfortable housing for an overnight stay while on safari in Tanzania. The staff is friendly and speaks good English, although you do not find the extra attention provided at higher-level hotels in Tanzania. Our room was clean and contained a large bed, desk, and wardrobe and had a serviceable bathroom. The bed was okay, but was far from luxurious. Our room did have large sliding doors and a view of the lake. The door is quite difficult to lock with the provided “old school” key and took some fiddling with each attempt. We could also easily hear our neighbors upstairs walking around.

The best part about this hotel is their view over the lake—it is breathtaking. They have a modestly sized infinity pool that overlooks the vast lake. There is a nice poolside bar and a number of lounge chairs for relaxing. Breakfast and dinner are included in the price of the room. They were both good and dinner included what seemed to us to be some authentic African cuisine. It did seem odd that a small extra charge was given for bottled water at dinner. This should just be included in the cost of the room and seemed tacky. The box lunch provided to us for our safari game drive the next day was delicious, had a variety of foods, and was twice as much food as each of us really needed.

Apart from the excellent view over the lake, there is nothing special about this hotel. Accordingly, its price is low and it offers an excellent value as a one-night stopover during a safari in Tanzania. If you are looking for a resort for a multiple night stay, however, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestMaven14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We slept there 1 night.

- great clean pool with the beautiful view on manyara park and lake.
- nice clean and big room (some have a great view)
- nice dinner ( salad and dinner buffet) and breakfast ( buffet)
- employees are nice
- show around the pool at 6 pm.

I recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zouz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,563 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
270 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
133 reviews
12.4 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 50 in Karatu
170 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing