We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The reviews I had read online before going had me a tad sceptical. Upon arrival I loved the property. Lovely rooms...large! Gorgeous view. Being vegetarians we were very pleasantly surprised by the choices offered. All in all we were very happy with our sadly brief stay at this property. More lighting along the paths and especially on the stairs leading up to the first floor rooms would really help....its an accident waiting to happen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neha_neha_neha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    306
    79
    16
    6
See reviews for
188
331
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the view from the rooms. The dinner only had a salad buffet and a single choice of main dish and desert. Nothing great. The rooms were cottage hut style and a bit basic for the price. The entertainment program had an amazing acrobatics program though. The infinity pool was beautiful; however we did not use it. The breakfast buffet was ok. However the lunchboxes were better than other Serenas. We didn’t see many animals in the national park- no lions at all. If given a choice, we would skip Lake Manyara altogether.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Its a beautiful lodge with a lovely view from the rooms as well as the swimming pool. The food was great and the restaurant dining service was also great. Front desk receptionist was really sweet and helpful n ever smiling .(Prisca) I wouldnt forget her name. They had arranged local acrobatics from d closeby village by the poolside which was entertaining. I loved the over all stay..They had the most sumptuous lunch box packed for our safari.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiyaBubble23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Don't understand the other mediocre reviews...ours would be substantially higher. Service and staff attendance was quite high if not in the league with African Tulip and others; rooms were top notch; common areas (dining, sitting, bar area, etc.) were all outstanding; the pool and pool house areas (we didn't use the pool but it was fantastic nevertheless) were terrific. Food was excellent. What's not to like? We would have been happy to spend more time here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimdavisAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

When you visit Lake Manyara's National Park there is no better place to view the area. The rooms are fine, so are the food, the facilities and the staff. The pool is a great place to dust off after a game drive or just relax and take in the scenery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank be21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Despite it's 3 star rating, this place has everything you need for comfort and rest from your day's safari. Rooms are well appointed, comfortable and very clean. Service is African friendly - which is really excellent - and the infinity pool has a brilliant view. We spent only one night, but were completely satisfied. Would certainly stay again. Have to say that after witnessing the poverty in Africa I would feel really bad staying in anything too flash. This was better than (for example) a Howard Johnson or La Quinta or Ibis. And the service, views and facilities were great.

Room Tip: Rooms are well designed and placed so that they all have great views. Only tip would be to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeyik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at lake manyara serena lodge with my mom for 1 night in may 2014. We didn't spend much time at the lodge as we arrived just before dinner and left early in the morning but our time there was enjoyeable enough. We stayed in a twin bed room that was clean and spacious. I asked for a room with a view of lake manyara np several months in advance of my booking but unfortunately was not given this. Like all serena lodges you r greeted with juice and hot towels on arrival.

Pros
Nice clean spacious rooms
Ok food but my least favorite of all serena lodges
Friendly staff

Cons
Myself personally found this lodge more like a hotel with lots of groups and a little fancy for what I would have liked for tanzania safari accomodations and felt the staff were always expecting a tip

Notes and tips
Buy the night drive directly with the hotel rather than your safari company. The hotel charges 77$ for 2 ppl where my safari company charged me 127$ per person!
A warning that they only serve dinner beginning at 730 like all safari lodges
Do not stop at the large souvenir shop about 15 minutes from the lodge that sells Tanzanite and all the other regular souvenirs this place is a complete rip off and the guides really push there clients to stop here probally for a commission. Theu follow you around the whole time bc there is no prices on anything and everything is marked up at least 50% from the actual Tanzanian people that make everything.

Overall a good stay but I may choose a small lodge if I was staying more then 1 night

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mallorylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
24.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
51.9 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
20.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
19.9 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
17.0 mi away
Karatu Simba Lodge
Karatu Simba Lodge
#11 of 47 in Karatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Southall Travel so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing