We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruaha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mufindi Highland Fishing Lodge
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beautiful location and a very warm hospitality by all the members of the Foxes family and their staff! Felt like home away from home!! Enjoyed each n every moment of our 2 nights stay..walking around the farm, horse riding, visit to the NGO, lovely vegetarian food cooked especially for us, tea time cakes n popcorn and most of all the lively chit chat with everyone by the fireplace in the evenings...will cherish the memories forever :D

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer-Richa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We flew to Mufindi after visiting Rufiji River Camp. The Lodge at Fox Farm has a row of hillside cabins, culminating with the honeymoon cabin, tucked just around the corner from the others, complete with a welcome log fire, lit each evening. Hot water is supplied by a wood burning stove behind the cabins. Takes a little while for the hot water to arrive, but plentiful when it does! Food is served at the Lodge. Buffet style for main courses. Mostly home produced as this is a working farm. We were made so welcome by Jeannie. We spent the first afternoon rehousing turkey chicks, feeding lambs and rescuing a fallen cow! We were welcomed wholeheartedly into the household. The following day, after the children had joined in with milking the cows, we went horse riding. My 8year old loved it, even though he'd not ridden before. We were well looked after, including a lesson in Swahili from Daudi! Lunch in the garden, followed by a game of croquet in the afternoon, Fox rules, which included rolling down the bank if there was any cheating!
The following day we asked to visit the NGO hospital project. Geoff Fox took us over to Mdabulo to see the work being carried out. The vision is inspirational! Amazing how much the Foxes NGO is giving back to the community. Although much of the work is still a building site, equipment was being moved in for use as soon as possible. There will be new wards, theatre, consulting rooms..... Delivery/post-natal is already operational. The hospital will serve over 45,000 people. In the afternoon we visited the Children's Village where about 80 orphaned children are cared for. A happy inspiring visit! My kids had fun teaching some of the children to use a diabolo which we left for them. We also took a bag of outgrown clothes and books, notepads and pencils, with our unused luggage allowance to leave for the children.
The visit to Mufindi was a brilliant contrast to the safari trips we did and gave us more of an insight to the human side of Africa. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon cabin is larger than the others, and has its own fire, although an open fire can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Way exceeded our expectations!
We went for a bit of time to relax and unwind, it could not have been better. All we wanted was somewhere to get away from the heat of Dar really.
If you go for a romantic weekend, with your family, bunch of friends or just on your own - I doubt you will be disappointed.
So much to do, or just sit and enjoy the great views.
From horse riding, to fly fishing, go and visit the amazing work being done by the family and run by Geoff(another one) and Jenny at the orphans village, walk through the forests and do some great birding, go mountain bike riding, visit all the horses, cows, sheep, ducks etc or try some lawn tennis, badminton, lawn bowls or a game of croquet (but must be by Geoff's rules if you really want some fun).
The food - another experience! Delicious, wholesome and mostly farm grown.
But, what really amazes me is what hasnt been mentioned by anyone else - Geoff and Vicky really topped it off for us. What great hosts - and all this inbetween running all the rest of the farm etc
The roads getting there and back are not great! But it is quickly forgotten.
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My wife and I were in town to visit a friend and this place was the only lodging option for us. So we were stuck with it no matter what we thought of it. It turned out to be one of the best surprises of our honeymoon.

I should start by echoing the sentiments of bunnco who went into to good detail about the atmosphere of the place as well as other advantages.

First, the staff was attentive, flexible, kind, and gifted. One night, after dinner, we were walking back to the cabin in the pitch dark. We forgot our flashlights and were having trouble finding our way. Then the Masaai guard appeared with flashlights to help us walk safely to the cabin. Happened every night. Also, when they came turn down the bed, they started a fire in our fireplace (I suspect Dora was doing most of this). These folks really took care of us. Even the dogs were looking out for us.

On the first night, a border collie named Laddy must have sensed that we were suckers because she latched on to us. She slept outside the cabin and walked us to our meals. She went with us on small hikes when she wasn’t herding the sheep on site (this place in many ways was a study in old English estates). And when we told her not to come with us on a walk, we didn’t have to ask twice. On our last morning, we looked out the window to find she had brought her puppies to our front porch for our last walk to breakfast. After my wife stopped speaking in dolphin frequencies at the puppies, we started laughing because so many things about this place like that seemed too good to be true. We had to assume we were in a Disney movie.

Oh. And get this. We had just come back from a 13 days safari and were desperate for clean clothes. They did our laundry for us. For free! We were giddy.

I can‘t forget the food. I don’t know how they found this guy in Mufindi but this chef knows what he is doing. He trains other chefs from other Fox lodges from what I understand. The dinners were outstanding. But the desserts. Strawberry mousse, Crème Brule, and various other hard-to-pronounce but easy to devour creations. It was worth the long train ride from Dar and the long bus ride back for the food alone.

Equally important to me was the good the Foxes, the owners of the lodge, are doing in the community. They have contributed either directly or indirectly to new educational facilities and personnel, new health care facilities and training, an orphanage (kids were so cute it made my eyes hurt), a home based-care program, and a women’s empowerment program. If you are so inclined, I suggest talking to the Foxes or someone else in the area about the contributions they have made to this area. And if you’re really lucky, you’ll have a chance to meet some of the folks who live in the nearby towns.

Room Tip: Honeymoon lodge. Gorgeous and with fireplace which is lit for you (!) when the bed is turned down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickyreviewerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Took a break from hot and humid Dar Es Salaam on a long weekend and ventured inland to Mufindi. What a lovely surprise awaited us at the Mufindi Highland Fishing Lodge (one of the Foxes Safari Camps). Firstly the cool weather was unexpected and brought some welcome relief from the heat. We even had a fireplace in our cabin with wood provided and staff to light the fire for us in the evening! The cabin was private, rustic and comfortable as well as being very spacious. No electrical items except for chargers are allowed but the area is so beautiful, we did not miss electricity!

The drive to the farm (surrounded by beautiful tea estates which you drive through towards the end) was a bit long and the road not the best at times, but it was certainly worth it when we got to our destination. Mr and Mrs Fox Senior are superb hosts and lovely people who interact with their guests during mealtimes, providing interesting conversation and facts about the area, while also respecting the privacy of their guests. There are beautiful gardens to stroll in and 3 lakes to walk around or paddle on. We enjoyed it all and were audibly entertained by a wide variety of birdsong most of the time.

At mealtimes we enjoyed delicious and wholesome food, all grown and produced on the farm. There was always too much to eat but it was too nice not to over-indulge a little! There were other activities to participate in such as horse-riding and fishing which we did not find time for. The lodge was not full when we visited (total of 6 other guests) but we wanted a retreat and it was nice to have the place mostly to ourselves.

The staff were absolutely attentive to our every need and very eager to please. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing and quiet break in the country and would love to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Honeymoon cabin or Anniversary cabin each have a fireplace. They are also the most privately situate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OriginCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This was a beautiful temperate respite between hot, dry Ruaha and sweltering Selous. The ranch is beautiful and the Foxes' engagement with the community is inspiring. The Foxes NGO/Wildorphans and their partnership with the African Book Box organization as well as local and regional services is inspiring. I recommend packing light and bringing an extra duffel of used children's clothing for the children's village.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is a beautiful place in the Mufindi Highlands, where tea is grown and the climate is delightful. Just down the road is the "children's village," the Foxes NGO where they are doing absolutely amazing things, from providing housing for AIDS orphans, to feeding 500 school children a mid morning porridge (uji) that has resulted in both significantly increased attendance and academic performance. The list could go on and on. If you stay here, the tour of the children's village is a must. It was amazing, moving. And we got to know the Foxes a bit, who have made this amazing place possible.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mufindi Highland Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mufindi Highland Fishing Lodge

Property: Mufindi Highland Fishing Lodge
Address: Fox Farm, Ruaha National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Iringa Region > Ruaha National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ruaha National Park
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing