We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Unique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jongomero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruaha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jongomero
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

What an incredible camp they have at Jongomero!
The staff, the food, the accomodations and beauty!

We felt like we had the entire place to ourselves. At night we could hear lions roaring, hippos grazing, and all the other really cool sounds of the Ruaha.

Kim was our guide and he was top notch with his knowledge of the region, the wildlife, and anything you needed to know about Tanzania. He was incredibly friendly and accomodating and had a great eye as well.

On our safari drives we saw no other vehicles. It felt like it was literally just us out in the lush Ruaha. This has got to be one of the last few gems in Africa to see real WILDlife. Jongomero is a special place.

Room Tip: We stayed in "tent" 8 - the furthest from the dining area and didn't hear or see anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grellvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Grellvis

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this gorgeous review and posting your photos - Jongomero truly is a gem and a place to get to grips with nature and enjoy the wilderness.

Come back and see us soon
Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
107
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is one of the most amazing experiences I have had in Africa! The manager was warm and friendly and very knowledgeable. The tents were stunning. The setting breathtaking. The food was wonderful. The staff was kind and helpful. Because this is a more remote area, it isn't as crowded. The only jeeps we saw were from our camp and they purposefully didn't travel in the same direction. We were the only jeep in our area of the park. It was divine. I would stay here over and over.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuitosCGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear islandgirlinwi

What a lovely review - thank you so much for enjoying our little remote corner of Ruaha - please come back and see us again or try one of Jongo's sister camps - Siwandu in Selous Game Reserve or Ras Kutani on the Swahili Coast

Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We visited Jongomero on a 14 day safari trip to Tanzania. We stayed at the camp for 3 nights, I wish we had cut some of the other camps short and stayed here longer. You will not be disappointed! First the tents are well appointed and very clean. The pictures on the website are exactly what you get. The staff was so warm and friendly, I forgot that I was in the middle of the bush in Tanzania. Emeil was the best host ever, I truly felt like I had known him forever. He knows how to make his guest feel welcome. His team was fantastic. The food, oh the food, all I have is one word PETER, I wanted to take him home. The food is the best I have ever had and my husband and I have traveled all over the world. Rome was at the top of our best food list now it's Jongomero in Tanzania ! The guides.....Frank was our guide for most of the trip and he had the eyes of an eagle, he could spot a bird on rock 200 yards away. He was amazing.

Just writing this review, I am feeling home sick and I am at home. Wow

Room Tip: all of the tents are great. This is a small camp so you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wietz12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear territraveler

Come home, come home! Thank you for your lovely review of our staff, food, guiding, service and tents - we are so pleased you loved it so much so you must return!

Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I'm really happy to said I stayed in Jongomero, we live in Kenya and we wanted something special and not too much tourist and was perfect! We stayed 5 nights.

First the camp is the only camp in the area so so unique( It's true it's a 2,30h of flight but who cares when you see all that wilderness!) , we went in green season, it's true is not a lot of game, but you can see and stayed really closed to the elephants, see a lot of beautiful birds ( in 5 days I have seen more than 84 types of birds!), you have breathtaking scenarios to have breakfast and sundowners, everything was so green. Imagine is no roads in the other side of the river, still a lot more to see!

The tents, was really nice all with views into the river, you have huge very comfy bed, huge shower and all the amenities that you can need.

The service was incredible outstanding so respectful, so attentive, make feel you like a queen!
The chef was really good, everything was so delicious the tea pastries, the snacks for the sundowner, the dinner, lunch). One of the best foods that I had in a tented camp.

Brian is really professional, helpful and give you all the information that you can need, one gem!

I can't wait to come back to see the difference in dry season.

See you soon guys!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Esther V

Thank you so much for your review of Jongomero - we are are also delighted to hear guests enjoying the unique wilderness Ruaha offers during the green season - its unlike any other and offers a different perspective on safaris. Please do come back and see us in the dry season and visit Brian and the team again

Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Jongomero safari camp surpassed all our expectations! The setting is stunning, the accommodation incredible - very comfortable tents with elephants and baboons practically on the balcony! The staff were all fantastic; so friendly and attentive. After 4 days we felt like were were part of the 'jongomero family'. Little touches like notes and gifts on the bed in the evening and special dinners in the river bed made our honeymoon stay particularly special. The quality of guiding (we had Theo has our guide) was brilliant and we would also highly recommend a walking safari with the camp host, Emil. The food is all delicious and there is Plenty of it! We also visited the sister hotels Siwandu and Ras Kutani which were both of a similarly high standard. Asante Sana.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Laura F

Thank you for your fabulous review of Jongomero - we are delighted that you feel part of the Jongomero Family - please come back and see us again soon!

Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Incredible service and style here. Food can't be beat and is incredible in this remote area. Tents are second to none and surpass all other tented lodges that I've seen in Tanzania (that's quite a few)... the owner designed them and they are spacious, comfortable, private and have great views of the river just steps away from the very large deck.

Staff/Team is a cohesive smoothly operating group. There anytime you need without being overbearing. Absolutely lovely service and individual attention to us and to all the details. I'll be back with other clients. Asante sana!!

Room Tip: Any are lovely. Great opportunity to track animals when walking back to the main lodge from the tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear GenSafaris

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Jongomero. We look forward to welcoming you back at the camp

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyertown, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Second stop on our Tanzanian safari. Jongomero camp was an experience we will never forget. The location is amazing. You are situated on a dry river bed (soon to be flowing). On arrival elephants were on the opposite side resting in the shade from the midday sun. The welcome that we received made us feel like family returning home. Everything provided was top drawer to the guides, food, rooms. Emeil will entertain you, educate you, and make you feel as one of his own. It is an intimate camp with every need catered to. It is the only camp on this side of the Ruaha Park....no crowds here! The animal life was truly amazing. How do the guides do it? Please do not hesitate to make Jongomero on your list of must sees!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear diane

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Jongomero - it is a very special park and camp and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruaha National Park
0.0 mi away
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Authentic Tanzania Kilimatonge Wilderness Camp Ruaha
Authentic Tanzania Kilimatonge W...
#8 of 12 in Ruaha National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#14 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sable Mountain Lodge
Sable Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
23.1 mi away
Ruaha River Lodge
Ruaha River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jongomero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jongomero

Property: Jongomero
Address: Jongomero, Ruaha National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Iringa Region > Ruaha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ruaha National Park
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jongomero 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For anyone seeking a true African wilderness experience, a visit to Ruaha National Park is essential. One of Tanzania's wildest parks, Ruaha can only be described as a true unspoiled natural wilderness. Superbly isolated right in the heart of the Ruaha National Park lies Jongomero on the banks of a seasonal sand river which bears the same name. Blending in beautifully with its surroundings the camp is tucked away among some shady riverine vegetation not far from permanent water therefore attracting a large amount of animals into the camp area. Being the only camp situated in this area of the park ensures unmatched privacy and a true wilderness experience. The camp is made up of 8 stunning suites, spaced out along the Jongomero sandriver. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jongomero Camp Hotel Ruaha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing