We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remote safari - like your own private reserve!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A remote safari - like your own private reserve!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked this trip very last minute and towards the end of the season. I had been to the Serengeti and many other safari destinations in Africa and, aside from the Okavango delta, I think this was the most unpopulated trip that we took. We had several game drives and would see another truck about once a day. Of course it doesn't have the sweeping plains of the Serengeti but the river trips and the woodland roads were wonderful. We saw leopard at very close proximity and were able to just stay and watch for a long time - rather than having to tick the next animal off the list. The food was lovely, the team were great to spend time with and the guides were extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. Highly recommended. Lucy & Phil

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy&Phil2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    48
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
197
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this very late as we only decided to go to Selous about 10 days before we left for Dar es Salaam and wanted something nearby.

What an amazing 3 days we had. The scenery was unparalleled and despite being apprehensive about being right in the thick of it with no electricity and only a couple of zips and a bit of material to separate you from the wild, this was actually the beauty of the place.

My husband was on edge the whole 3 days but I loved the sense of constant adventure, even eating dinner and breakfast and having the elephants coming into the camp!

Saw everything we wanted to see and much more, including a beautiful leopard and amazing bird life (which I admit I was impartial to previously!).

Loved the group atmosphere and sharing our stories over a drink and food everyday.

Thanks to the Masai aswell for letting us sleep at night by removing any creepy crawlies from our tent!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HungryTraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Lake Manze was a lovely place to stay, very relaxing with a great variety of things to do. The tents are fitted out well and nicely situated, it’s certainly spine tingling to lie in bed and hear the unearthly sounds of hyenas calling just outside the tent. The game drives were really enjoyable. Great game viewing, particularly in view of the unseasonal rains. All the staff were really helpful and couldn’t do enough to ensure things went smoothly. In particular our guide, Emanuel, and driver, Bacari, did everything they could to ensure that we covered as much ground as possible with great good humour. We spent a really enjoyable 4 nights there and hope to return to try and catch the elusive wild dogs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed three days at the Manze Lake Tented Camp and had a wonderful time. We liked the accomodation in a really confortable tent without electricity which is really romantic. Triscia and Phil are really good organizers, they explain everything, are always at your disposal, bring people together for the safaris and the dinners which take place at a big table with candle lights and two big fires to keep the wild animals at distance. The driver and guide where just perfect, respecting nature and animals and explaining everything you wnat to know very well. We really do hope that the Selous parc well be kept like this and will not become a place for a too big number of tourists.
Thanks for the possibility to be so close to nature. Karin and Manlio

Room Tip: Portare una buona torcia, rinunciare per qualche giorno a internet, amare il silenzio, andare al let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

It is all true what the other reviews say: this lodge is unique and will make your trip to Selous an unforgettable experience. Weather does not really matter, we saw amazing wild life in both rain and sunshine. Staff are super friendly and knowledgable. The food was very nice and all trips set up with a keen eye for detail and our wishes. The tents made our African experience complete, with a great mix of comfort like beds and shower and all that wildlife right next to the tent. We are not sure if we'll go on another safari trip anytime soon just because this trip seems impossible to match.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller11234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We came expecting a rainy few days in February, but the weather held off and we were treated to an amazing experience. All of the staff were incredibly nice and provided incredible service. The diversity of activities meant that we were never bored. The guides on the walks, on the game drives, and in the boat tours were all well-informed, happy to be there, and went out of their way to accommodate whatever requests we might have. They never forced information on us, but were glad to provide information whenever we asked. It was fantastic. Our tents were clean, quiet, and had a spectacular view of the open lay out where gazelle or troupes of baboons would wander past our patio. We could not have asked for more. The rustic showers with their solar heating were perfect at the end of the day. Nothing better than showering under the stars. The camp's management also proved helpful from the time we were planning the trip, until the moment we left. We are so happy that we chose Lake Manze for our Selous safari.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Wow, Surreal, to be there with all the wildlife. I was in awe everyday. Great hosts and staff, very well organized and informative. Highly recommended. The guides were amazing, Peter and Ai (sorry Ali I know that is your last name) very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selous Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
852 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#13 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#9 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sable Mountain Lodge
Sable Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve

Property: Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve
Address: P O box 3052 | Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Manze - Experience adventure! Keep it natural! Feel the thrills of having an elephant eating Doum palm seeds right outside your tent. Hear the sound of its rumbling stomach and see how tender a mother is to her calf. We have so much to learn from our animal friends, teachings that can help us create a better world. We keep everything as it was before we arrived and this is why animals use the camp as much as our guests. Experience this magical, romantic camp on the shore of the Lake Manze with stunning lake views from your own veranda. Experience the sunrise on a walking safari. Enjoy a delicious picnic bush breakfast or lunch during your game drive as you spot lions and wild dogs. Take a fishing trip on the lake. Get close and personal with hippos and crocodiles and thousands of exotic birds on a sunset boat safari. Delight in a sumptuous candlelight dinner on the lake shore to the symphony of the surrounding. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing