We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a Fantastic Safari Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selous Serena Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Selous Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a Fantastic Safari Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week honeymoon, the first four days of which were spent at the Selous Serena camp. I cannot recommend it highly enough. We purposely chose a quieter location away from the tourist-heavy likes of the Serengeti and it worked out perfectly.

All of the team at Serena were very friendly, attentive and welcoming. The food was all very fresh and very tasty. Including the picnic that was prepared for us to take out on an all day safari.

The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. A well implemented blend of comfort whilst retaining a nice sense of (very high quality) camping. a Huge four poster bed (extremely comfortable), decent shower and toilet, all within a lovely big semi-permanent tent with its own decking area on which to sit out.

The safari sessions themselves were excellent. The driver was friendly and very knowledgeable. The vehicles themselves were of better quality than some of the other operators we (rarely) saw when out and about. We recommend starting early to enjoy the incredible sunrises and to travel far enough to see the wide variety of terrain / environments housed within the huge park.

Ellieta and his team will make you feel very welcome and secure - I admit to being a little nervous as I've never been anywhere similar before. The temptation was to choose somewhere popular and familiar but I am so glad we opted for the quieter, more authentic experience.

We had a delicious, fresh cake left in our room to celebrate our honeymoon and Ellieta even contacted us and made arrangements to meet us at the airport to deliver our wedding certificate which we'd left behind days before - gold star service.

I'd heard some reports that the wildlife was a bit limited - this is not a genuine concern. We saw plenty of everything; highlights being a lion pride (in hunt mode), elephants, hippo, crocodiles (recommend the river tour) and giraffe.

In summary, if you're looking for an exclusive, personal safari experience with a small, friendly and professional team looking after then you cannot go wrong with booking here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripL0ver99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    10
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A very beautiful, quiet lodge in the Selous. Close to Stiegler's gorge air strip. Deck overlooks a bend in a seasonal river. Lots of game on the doorstep. Trip to Lake Manze is long but worth it. All staff are excellent. Food is first class. Tented camp but with AC and wifi, so much more than just a tent in the bush. Very quiet, very relaxing.

Room Tip: All tented rooms are first class but ask for one where you can see the river from your veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely come here! You will not regret your decision when choosing this camp as your destination. We cannot say enough about how incredibly wonderful this place is! The rooms are second to none and absolutely stunning. As well, they are immaculate and comfortable. The staff here are friendly helpful and make you feel at home. They go a step above in every which way every day to make your stay the best you could possibly imagine. The food is delectable and the attention to detail and superb service make dining here a incredible experience on it's own. One of my personal favorite features of my room was the clawfoot tub. There is nothing like coming back after the full day of Safari to sink into a wonderfully hot bath and they even provide bath salts and all sorts of goodies to make your bath extremely enjoyable. Not to mention that you do not run out of hot water! Staying here lets you enjoy the wild while completely comfortable in the process. I would definitely recommend this camp to anyone and everyone. It is not a camp, it is a stunning oasis! Thank you for making our stay absolutely unforgettable!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank savesomeoneelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

No word can describe the great feeling i've had during my 2 night stay there.. Since i reached the camp i have been treated like royalty!!! It's indeed great experience. All the staffs working there are always so present and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. I have been extremely touched.

On my first day i had to cancel my boat safari because i wasnt feeling well - i had a sore throat (i even thought i was going to spend my vacations indoors because of this upcoming flu). But once the chef, came to know about my situation, he prepared a special ginger and honey tea!!! it was yummy as well as soothing. I was well the next day and was able to do the safari. Everyone knew that i wasnt well and didnt even propose any cold drinks. They pay great attention to details.

I consider myself as a city girl and had my doubts about the camp and bush life in general but i will definitely go back for the camp only - i am definitely NOT a safari girl.

Just a piece of info: please note that i took coastal plane to go to Kiba then to serena selous. You need to put around 2h drive from the airstrip to the camp. I didnt know about it beforehand. I expected the airstrip to be nearby. I live on an island, so for me everything is nearby :))

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutchmee1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked this 5 night stay as part of our honeymoon just two weeks beforehand, after our other travel arrangements had fallen through. We were worried that they might not have availability but we needn't have - as it was just after the hotel shut for two months due to the long rains, we had the place to ourselves for the majority of our stay!
We were greeted by name by the camp manager Ellietta and our guide for the week Richard, they made us feel special immediately, and that just continued throughout our stay. The camp itself is lovely. Our room was spotless everyday, very comfortable, with a lovely bath and separate shower. A cake and bottle of wine welcomed us to our tent to start our honeymoon!
We enjoyed every meal we had (no problem with catering for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike!), and particularly having a cold drink at the end of day, sat in the bar listening to the bush babies! Breakfast with champagne on the veranda overlooking the river was also a real treat! From this spot we saw baboon and crocodile, and were visited in camp on two nights by the hippos! The pool was lovely and clean.
Our game drives were a lot of fun, and Richard was informative, friendly, polite, knowledgeable, good company and a pleasure to sit with during our picnics in the bush. The grasses were high but Richard was still able to spot plenty of wildlife and was very patient with us and all the photographs we were taking! Selous itself was beautiful, very green at that time of year.
We want to thank Ellieta and all the staff at Selous Serena camp for their warm welcome, impeccable customer service, friendliness and constant patience when trying to teach us the odd word in Swahili (which we had forgotten by the next day - we are hopeless!)! We particularly want to say thankyou to the housekeeping staff who did a tremendous job every day, and to what felt like our own personal waiter for the week, Yusuph, who always went the extra mile. All the staff made us feel like a king and queen and we will never forget our experience. We would thoroughly recommend the Serous Serena camp when staying in Selous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

What else to say .... EVERYTHING was just so perfect : from the camp itself, the georgous tent with all the comfort, the very professional and very attentive staff, the excellent food from the kitchen and the careful service, as well as the experienced guide and driver ...

To me, traveling to Selous was more than a 24 hour trip to reach there, but just to spend 4 days in Selous Serena Camp I would definitely say that it Worth it at 100% and would do it again without no hesitation but this time with my child! To see up to 9 lions in one day in their wild evironment and at 3 meters of distance is such a lifetime experience!

As some other people mentioned on their own reviews, on of the highlight of the stay is the staff who couldn't be more friendly and helpful, it's definitely a big part of the experience at Selous Serena Camp.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zit80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Recommended on the warmest. Great service, beautiful "rooms" (expanded tents) with all you need, informal and friendly - yet very good atmosphere. A full day safari is recommended as most animals are best seen 1 hour drive or so from the lodge. Good secure cars and great guide/ranger. Very nice and tasteful food (all inclusive) and good wine. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liseiafrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#13 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.5 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
Selous Wilderness Camp
Selous Wilderness Camp
#17 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Butembo Lodge & Camp Site
Selous Butembo Lodge & Camp Site
#16 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
73.2 mi away
Selous Mbuyu Safari Camp
Selous Mbuyu Safari Camp
#11 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selous Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selous Serena Camp

Property: Selous Serena Camp
Address: Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Selous Serena Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Selous Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selous Serena Camp Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing