We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting & Excellent Experience.”
Review of Siwandu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Siwandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Wow, what a wonderful stay at Siwandu, it far far exceeded my expectations.
All the activities were absolutely tremendous, we done the boat safari first as a nice way of easing ourselves into camp life and we see plenty of crocs and hippos & an abundance of different birds.
The safari walk was terrific, learning about different things (trees, plants etc etc) & our guide Mtambo was excellent, it was a real joy walking about on the plains of Africa unhindered & we was so fortunate to see 2 bull Elephants having a playful fight & tusking up to each other. We also saw Giraffe & Buffalo, really really great. Lovely surprises aswell.
Our road Safari's were absolutely out of this world. Our guide was Allen, he was fantastic, he spotted so much & helped us understand better about all these creatures great & small. We had Lions & Elephants so close to us, watched Giraffes drinking from the lake & it was all magical, I feel I could sit here typing this and cry about it now, it was that good. Thank you so much Allen, you're a star.
Waking up on the mornings to tea & coffee being delivered & seeing Elephants so close by & then a giraffe sleeping with its head against a tree, incredible.
On our last morning, just sitting there on the verandah, this lone beautiful bull Elephant came out of the trees in front of us & didn't bat an eyelid at us, just carried on in that serene fashion that they do. I'm sure he came to say goodbye !
The food in camp was first class, really enjoyable, well done to the Chef & the team, brilliant.
All the staff were great & I'd just like to say a big thank you to the Maasai for the security & knowledge they have, you have my total respect.
All in all then, great place, great things to do & if you're thinking about going there then take it from me, think no more, just go, you won't regret it.
Best regards
Dean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deano23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Deano23

Such a wonderful review - thank you - from the guiding, the meals, the location, the game and our wonderful staff, Siwandu offers a wonderful, authentic safari experience, with a side slice of luxury!

Come back and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at Siwandu and it was the perfect start to our safari holiday. We could watch hippos in the lake and elephant and giraffe strolling past all day long! The food was excellent and the chef made a lot of effort to accommodate our vegetarian daughter and also made a birthday cake for my husband which was paraded round the diners with all the staff singing the swahili version of Happy Birthday! The onsite gift shop located in the main reception area is a must and all the family made some rather hurried purchases on departure as our flight out had arrived early which meant we had to leave earlier than planned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AberdeenJEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear AberdeenJEB

Thank you for your lovely review of Siwandu - the joy of our camp being located on the lake is waking up with a cup of coffee or tea from your butler and lying in bed watching the animals amble past and drink from the waters edge - best morning wake ups ever

Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 4 memorable nights at Siwandu in August. The "tents" were awesome and the open air shower in the privacy of our room was a delight. The view to the lake from our verandah was beautiful. All meals were excellent and we loved the pre-dinner drinks around the huge campfire. The game viewing was varied and plentiful. We have never seen so many lion and we saw the best leopard ever! Boat safaris in the evening were magical with an abundance of bird life. The staff were fantastic. No hesitation in recommending Siwandu for great safari experience

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Martin D

Thank you so much for posting a review of Siwandu and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and experienced the delights of the stunning Selous Game Reserve!

Karibu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at Siwandu with our 2 late teen children and can honestly say this was one of the best experiences we've ever had. The camp is in a wonderful location and the tents (most expensive hotels aren't this nice!) were wonderful. The staff were what made it for me. Our butler, Emanuel, was excellent - anything we needed he sorted out for us and nothing seemed too much of a problem. Food was excellent and sitting around the campfire in the evening having drinks & nibbles was great fun. Our guide, Holle, was superb. His knowledge of the area was unreal and he took out on both driving, walking and boat safaris. Our last driving safari with him he got us to see some new born lion cubs and then we saw a lion take down a wildebeest right in front of us. If you have this happen to you and you have young kids - what happens after the wildebeest has been caught isn't for the faint hearted. If you've seen a lion kill something on TV - it's nothing compared to seeing if for real.
Having said that the wildlife all around Siwandu was fantastic and we really felt we were getting a unique experience. Both my kids said how wonderful it was and that's high praise indeed.

Room Tip: 3 has good views of the Lake on the side the animals seemed to prefer to travel from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear AndrewJ25

Wow - such a lovely review and great to hear your teenage children soaked it all in and loved it as well - wonderful to have special time with the family and enjoy new experiences as a family! And I agree hearing the noise of a kill being munched on can be brutal but its all part and parcel with the an authentic wilderness experience!

Karibu tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and couldn't have picked a more wonderful place. Our tent (if you can call it a tent as it was very luxurious) was incredibly comfortable and had the most spectacular view down to the lake. The water safari was a great way to start our stay and we highly recommend it. All the staff are charming and couldn't do mroe to make us enjoy our stay more, a truly wonderful experience and thank you to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear nicholson83

Thank you so much for your review - we hope you take back lasting memories from your honeymoon at Siwandu

Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A great spot to do safari. My wife and I just spent 4 days at Siwandu and would go back in a second. They really pay attention to detail. Great "tents", great staff, great guides, great food, great hosts and a great experience!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Patrick W

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Siwandu - and we're thrilled you enjoyed your 4 days with us

Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at Siwandu for 3 days on safari. The trip was amazing and we could not find anything that could have made this a better experience than it was. The staff and managers went out of their way to ensure that everything was as promised. I enjoyed my birthday whilst we were there and was very surprised by a birthday cake and a birthday song from the staff. It was the most special birthday ever. They even found a camera charger as I had forgotten mine, even though we were on safari. I had lots of things on my wish list, however the only thing on there now is another safari and to come back to Siwandu.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandVcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear JandVCheshire

Thank you so much for your review - it sounds like you had a wonderful, memorable stay at our camp, especially celebrating your birthday! Please come back and see us again soon!

Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
76.4 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
65 reviews
49.8 mi away
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous G...
#1 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
410 reviews
74 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#11 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
161 reviews
37.2 mi away
Selous River Camp
Selous River Camp
#6 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
242 reviews
58.9 mi away
Serena Mivumo River Lodge
Serena Mivumo River Lodge
#9 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siwandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siwandu

Address: Lake Nzerakera, Tanzania (Formerly Selous Safari Camp)
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Hotel Class:5 star — Siwandu 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siwandu is delightfully situated within an open palm forest on the shores of Lake Nzerakera, a massive lake adjoining the Great Rufiji River. All safari tents are widely spaced along the lake shore ensuring maximum privacy and wonderful views. Blending in superbly with its natural surroundings in what is considered the prime wildlife area of the Selous Game Reserve, with incredible game viewing including the rare African Wild Dog. Offering a range of activities from 4WD game drives, dawn game walks and boating cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selous Safari Camp Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Siwandu Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing