We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Africa at its finest!”
Review of Beho Beho

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beho Beho
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Africa at its finest!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at Beho Beho Camp at the end of a Tanzanian Safari. This place is the most relaxing, the most beautiful, the best of the best of our trip. The Banda we stayed in, number 4, was Africa all the way. No pretenses, just beautiful, natural, well furnished, and flat out comfy! We sat in the afternoon watching the wildlife behind our Banda. Anything we asked for, we got. They thought of so many things that other camps don't. There was a magnifying makeup mirror and a power strip that would fit American, as well as other plugs. We were able to charge everything at the same time! The staff was wonderful, the food superb, the service the best, the bartender was friendly and quick to respond to requests. Game viewing was not great close to camp, but a trip to Lake Manze brought plenty to see. We loved the walking safaris with Walter and Phil. All the guides are terrific and so very personable. We feel this was the ultimate end to our safari and would recommend this camp highly.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SafSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
78
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We loved every minute of our stay at Beho Beho. The view from the main lodge takes your breath away. The main lodge is very comfortable and made for some fun social interactions with the other guests. The food was fantastic - and served with such attention to detail. There was also a lot of it - you don't ever use the word "hungry" at Beho Beho. The bush breakfasts are tasty, the lunches delicious, teas wonderful and the dinners over the top! Dinners are served "family style" so you get to chat with Karen, one of the guides and the other guests. One of the details was that every dinner had a different setting - giving different views and making you feel like you were eating in different restaurants every day.

The rooms were very well appointed (with Wifi!) and the beds were very comfortable.

The guides are very knowledgeable and keen to make your trips interesting and exciting. I particularly enjoyed the game walks and getting "feet on the floor" exposure to tracking and approaching wildlife. There is lots of wildlife here, but because you are not close to other camps you rarely see other vehicles. Wildlife comes onto the grounds and we saw elephants and hippos from our room.

The staff was wonderful and would have done anything they could to fill our needs. They handled dietary restrictions with ease.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mainetraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Beho Beho is a stunning, special place. You arrive and are wowed by the view from the common area. It takes your breath away. Everything about the place is topnotch - rooms are comfortable yet elegant, food was outstanding, level of service was high, and guiding was extremely good. I and 3 friends were there for 3 nights, our first stop on our safari. I have been on safari several times before, but my companions were new to it. We all loved the location. The scenery is so appealing. We particularly liked the thought and effort that went into planning the meals - the menu was yummy, and every meal was in a different location with great views. Top marks for hosting (Karen was a delight).

As this is the only camp in that particular area of the Selous, the guides don't have the benefit of shared information over the radio from other jeeps, so real guiding was necessary, which makes it feel just a bit wilder than other parts, which I like. Beho Beho rotates the guides every activity so guests experience several guides. Heribert, Godlisten and Salum were all very good and we enjoyed their company. Because of the camp's location, the volume of wildlife nearby didn't seem as high in other areas. But our game viewing was good, we just had to work a little bit harder for it.

There was a water hole in camp which did attract animals, including elephant, impala, baboons, hippos, hyena, bushbuck (that's at least what we say during the day!).

I think this camp is ideal for people seeking a luxurious quality experience mixed with excellent guiding.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 584marinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This place is faultless.
Everything about it is exceptional.
The guides and hosts make it an experience like no other. They probably immerse you in the safari experience and tell you stories and information that just makes it the perfect place to go and see wildlife.
We went on our honeymoon and it lived way beyond expectation for a safari.
The area isn't over run with tourism and you really get an incredible education from the guides.
Waking up in the mornings to elephants and hippos and the most incredible views over the Selous.
Everyday was another adventure seeing a great array of wildlife.
The guides were like no other and the evenings were spent eating the great food and listening to their adventures.
Definitely felt very privileged to have spent time there.
Hippos still scare the s**t out of me (and if i get attacked by an animal I don't want it to be a vegetarian one) but they made you feel safe though at the safe time invigorated.
Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A very delayed review but thanks to all at Beho Beho who helped make our honeymoon stay so wonderful.
I can't add much more to what has already been said but all the staff are absolutely fantastic and like a big happy family you become part of. Although we were on honeymoon we really enjoyed eating together with everyone each night and catching up on our days out on the reserve. We also enjoyed meeting the owner Mrs B - thanks for your hospitality ad your sense of fun!

The guides, the food (Oh the food! Barbecued lobster in the middle of a game reserve? The best I've ever eaten), the trips out, the little extras we were treated to - all were amazing. The history of the area, from WW1 battle to the early settlements being unearthed at Christopher's baobab is also fascinating.

We especially loved the bush walks and visiting Lake Tagalala, though beware - the hot springs are certainly hot!

The sunrise views from the bandas are out of this world and the lack of a fourth wall and the sense of being part of the great outdoors was great to experience, despite the overly 'friendly' spider-hunting wasp that visted our room every day. Yikes. If, like me, you prefer the big game to the insects, showering with the lights off is the only way to avoid a carpeting of bugs in your bathroom post-sunset.

We hope to be back at Beho Beho International one day. Thanks to all there and keep it up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicnix2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Really, we cannot come up with any complaints after four nights right before they close for the rainy season. Whether it comes to guiding, rooms, food or anything else, Beho Beho is top notch. Without going through a million examples, one of our great experiences was having our guide identify a male lion track, and then track it for several kilometers to find him with a pride. This is completely different than calling other trucks to find where the action is, and then joining ten other vehicles at a location.
These aren't cautionary notes, but rather making sure that you know where you're going notes. Beho is very family oriented; everyone eats together with the managers and guests. I'm not usually a fan of communal dining, but it works very well here. The conversation on a variety of topics was terrific. The other note is that Beho Beho is luxury in a very wild setting, which is its beauty, but be prepared to be respectful of the hippos, elephants, baboons, insects, etc that will cross your path; you have the privilege of living in luxury in their world for a short time.
Obviously, we had a great time, thank you everyone.
Oh, and it's still OK to open a tiny souvenir shop. And maybe get some weights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoHawks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I could have stayed at Beho Beho forever. There's nothing to fault this incredible lodge. The hosts are incredible, the food is delicious, the cottages are beautiful and the overall experience is just exceptional. You'll be transported at Beho Beho and if you're like me, you'll never want to leave! Honestly, this place is just bliss. And the guides here are some of the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#9 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#14 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#15 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sable Mountain Lodge
Sable Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beho Beho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beho Beho

Property: Beho Beho
Address: Selous, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beho Beho was the first camp to be sited in The Selous, not on the banks, or the flood plains of the mighty Rufiji River, but in the cooler highlands so as to enjoy the 'cooling breezes' from which its name derives. Always designated as a 'private camp' it has fiercely protected its individuality and privileged location as one of the most 'magical' places it is possible to visit in safari Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beho Beho Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Beho Beho Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing