We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational !”
Review of Beho Beho

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beho Beho
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
215
Reviewed 5 November 2005

I have recently returned from a five night stay at Beho Beho and can only say that this the most magical safari camp imaginable. Everything about the camp was sensational. The rooms are exceptional, very large, very comfortable with showers that have to be seen to be believed.

The food is superb. Maritha the head chef goes to great lengths to ensure that every one of your meals is a dining experience. She never failed us !

Safaris at Beho Beho at wonderful. You truly experience the remoteness of the Selous whilst you are here. The guides are simply brilliant.

The most amazing thing about Beho Beho is the magical atmosphere created by the staff. You are made to feel part of place rather than a guest.

Beho Beho is not cheap, and for the prices being charged it is competing with some of the best lodges in the world. To my mind though it is worth every penny. I cannot speak highly enough of Beho Beho. It will forever have a special place in my heart. I can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2005

I can only confirm what was said in the previous review. Expensive but worth every penny. Food fantastic (lobster in the jungle !!) , staff friendly and enthusiastic (youd think that they were the ones on holiday !!) Rooms - enormous and very luxurious and as for the place, plenty of wildlife, fantastic location, and no-one else around to spoil your viewing. Superb !!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LPCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Surrey, England
16
Reviewed 8 September 2005

Having just returned from a 6 night stay at Beho Beho we feel that we should write a review in praise of this fantastic and luxurious "camp" in the unspoilt and uncomercialised Selous game reserve.

As a first introduction to Safaris and "camping" we were told by numerous other guests that we have been totally spoilt. The unanimous verdict of all the other guests we met, many of which had traveled extensively in Africa, was that this is by far the best lodge they have ever visited.

Comfortable and stylish accommodation with fantastic views over the Selous provided a restful retreat after a morning's jeep or walking safari.

With the atmosphere of a weekend country house party, the hospitality and food was impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff led by Rita and Spike. The guides were not only extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife leading fun and interesting safaris but also were very much a part of the hospitality team, eating and socializing with the guests.

Although the Selous is the largest national park in Tanzania it is the least frequented by tourists. Only on one occasion did we see jeeps from other camps whilst out on safari spotting lions, wild dogs, giraffe, hippos etc etc There was no shortage of wildlife either on the driving safaris or the more adrenaline inducing walking safaris with an armed guide!

If you are looking for luxury and comfort away from other tourists then this really is the place to go. Whilst not inexpensive, it offered superb value for money and an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Había una habitación que tenía los árboles altos y no permitía ver las vistas. El resto de habitacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lourdes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank loin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brunella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Choisir la Bailey's Banda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
65 reviews
0 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#3 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
212 reviews
0 mi away
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous G...
#1 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#22 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
44 reviews
0 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#12 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
122 reviews
0 mi away
Serena Mivumo River Lodge
Serena Mivumo River Lodge
#9 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beho Beho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beho Beho

Address: Selous, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range: £1,144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beho Beho was the first camp to be sited in The Selous, not on the banks, or the flood plains of the mighty Rufiji River, but in the cooler highlands so as to enjoy the 'cooling breezes' from which its name derives. Always designated as a 'private camp' it has fiercely protected its individuality and privileged location as one of the most 'magical' places it is possible to visit in safari Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beho Beho Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Beho Beho Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing