We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing lodge with the friendliest of staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sable Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was the Safari phase of our 3 week honeymoon and the highlight of our trip. Located 20 mins away from the Selous NP Sable Mountain Lodge consists of a number of bandas (some stone, some canvas) scattered over a hillside. Interspersed amongst these are open plan dining/relaxing areas and a covered pool filled by springwater. The environmental impact is also lessened by the use of it's own spring and power from solar panels. The scattered nature of the bandas combined with the stunning views all adds to the illusion of remoteness and the experience. The lodge is wonderful but what takes this place to another level is the staff. They were friendly, knowledgeable and seemed to have a genuine interest and pride in their work.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dazzle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Sable Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

This lodge is is just outside the game reserve and reachable by car, train( a great experience!) and by small plane. It is beautifully situated on the lower ranges of the Uluguru Mountain range and has great views. The rooms are good, food is good and staff are very friendly. The pool is filled with cold spring water. The safari vehicles offer good game viewing and the driver/guides are excellent. This is not a place for visitors with disabilities as the rooms , restaurant and entrance are quite spread out and one bceomes quite fit from walking up and down short but steep slopes. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed: March 2011
3  Thank ype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The accommodation was excellent, nice big rooms, with 24 hrs power and hot water (the lodge runs on solar power!); you can drink the water from the tap (that is unique in Tz) since the lodge is connected to a water spring; the service is top quality and very efficient, the staff is smart and polite; the swimming pool with water from the spring is a unique idea especially after a hot day in the park; the safari in the park was amazingly guided, David and Rama are very knowledgeable and very pleasant guides; if you are a bird watcher, ask for a ranger to accompany you and walk along the road down to the forest, you will see lots of birds; the Masai vilage is worhth to visit especially if you are visitor to Tanzania (we had a music concert there and it was a unique experience); indeed, also quality-cost, it is a recommended lodge were to stay when visiting the Selous reserve. Enjoy!

Stayed: March 2011
2  Thank Lacajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Tent with a View's Sable Mountain Lodge is wonderful. The 'tents' are really elevated cabins that just happen to have canvas sides with huge screened windows. The tents have comfortable beds, chairs, good bathrooms and porches. great food, served promptly. very friendly, competent staff. One very interesting feature which I've never seen in the many nature lodges I've been to throughout the world was the fact that they resisted planting exotic colorful plants around the lodge. The natural vegetation lent a real authenticity to the experience.The game drives were great in very comfortable big open backed trucks with an awning and 2 bench seats one higher than the other for unobstructed views. We saw lots of animals -lots of elephants, lions, all manner of antelope, impala type critters, giraffes, hippoes. The best part was the fact that during our 4 nite stay, we only saw one other vehicle in the park! You really got the feeling you were on safari like in the old days. as opposed to the Serengeti where apparently the animals are out there on display in the wide open spaces, in Selous, you had more of a 'hunting for them' experience where they'd appear around a bush or under trees. And for sure, unlike the Serengetti, when we did see lions, we could drive close and have them all to ourselves! Oh, and being able to cool off in their spring fed covered pool after a day on safari was heaven!!
Tent With a View arranged our entire holiday not just to Selous and sadaani but also to the Usambara mtns, Dar es salaam and Zanzibar. All the arrangements worked out flawlessly - every airport or hotel transfer, all the accomodations, the internal flights. I would highly recommend their services.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hugh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

This hotel is set approximately 20 minutes from one of the entrances to Selous Game Reserve. The staff are fantastic - very professional and friendly, and the hotel is expertly run. The rooms are relatively basic but comfortable and charming. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious, with hot water throughout the day from solar power. There are no plug sockets in the rooms but it is possible to charge cameras etc at the reception.

One problem is that the rooms are spread out and there is a long way to walk between them. This is good if you are a couple but its difficult to visit friends in other rooms, and a 5 minute walk up a steep hill to the pool, bar and restaurant is too much for elderly travellers. The restaurant has a great setting overlooking the valley, and the food is absolutely fantastic. The pool is very clean and refreshing.

A great option for visitors to the Selous.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pooodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Very remote, on the edge of the Selous game reserve, this place consists of a number of lovely luxury huts, set on a hillside, with great views, and attentive staff. Safaris are the main attraction, and just about all the big animals can be seen hereabouts

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We loved our time at Sable Lountain Lodge. From the first contact wihthRama who was so helpful in organizing our trip and Bascha - the manager at the lodge we were in excellent hands. The staff are extremely kind and helpful. The site is beautiful, a great location which allows different styles of safari: walking, full day, boat plus proximity to Kisaki and the Massai village which is an interesting cultral side visit. We saw most of the animals we hoped to see, the boat trip was exciting - so many hippos and crocs and we did not see another vehicle the whole day - this fact alone outweighs for us any consideration of more "condensed" animal sightings of other parks in Tanzania. On our way in from the airstrip to the lodge we saw five elephants, baboons, columbus monkeys, warthogs, birds, giraffe etc so really the park borders are very transparent. It felt wonderful to be in such a remote , wild place and we appreciate that the place is spread out over the hillside - it waqs nice to walk though the lodge itself, not an inconvenience at all. The pool at the lodge was also really refreshing, the tented bandas restful and charming and very nice to wake up with so many abundant natural sounds! The philiosphy of Sable Mt is really right on - all the comforts with out "overdoing" it - you felt the respect they have for the environment and the local communities. A special thank you to Nahtosa who gave us a great wlaking safari (caught the rain) and a knowledgable tour of Kisaki. Go to Sable Mountain!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miamarseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selous Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#12 of 26 in Selous Game Reserve
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#15 of 26 in Selous Game Reserve
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#9 of 26 in Selous Game Reserve
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Butembo Lodge & Camp Site
Selous Butembo Lodge & Camp Site
#18 of 26 in Selous Game Reserve
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sable Mountain Lodge

Address: Selous Game Reserve, 40525, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range: £285 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sable Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Sable Mountain lodge is set in the beho hills on the North Western boundary of Selous Game Reserve. The lodge is built over several hills giving a fantastic vantage point and, arguably the best view of the reserve. There is a combination of large and comfortable en suite tented rooms and stone cottages all private and all with great views. The freshwater pool provides a welcome on return from a safari. The nearby tree house and water hole attracts lots of game and a few hours can easily be spent there observing. Relax at the Land Rovers Return pub before dining in the restaurant or under the endless stars. The most special element about Sable Mountain is the team who are famous for their friendliness and will go the extra mile to ensure that you have a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sable Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sable Mountain Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Sable Mountain Lodge Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing