We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Selous with an incredible view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sable Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Selous with an incredible view”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We recently drove, yes drove up to Selous from Dar for a long weekend. Staying at Sable Mountain was a great find. They put us in the Family cabin, which I would highly recommend, and had one of the more beautiful views I have ever seen. The camp is rustic, but very well done. The cabin was atop a massive hill and amazing. It was incredibly quiet. Also they are an ecofriendly lodge, which was very cool. Solar power and drinkable water, so no generator. The quiet was really lovely. The chef is amazing, and they were very accomodating to our vegetarian in the group. There was only one other guest staying at the lodge, and the staff was incredibly kind and helpful. On the safari, Rama, also the manager guided us. Having lived a number of years in Africa, I have never seen animals as upclose as we did, and with as few tourists as there were. Fantastic safari, and the boat ride is essential. The only complaint I would have is the driving directions, which were given by the office in Dar were entirely incorrect and missing essential turns, making our drive much more frustrating than it needed to be. Otherwise, amazing trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    23
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
71
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
HOVE, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Sable in 'No. 15 Rooftop Up', the accommodation was very unusual, right at the top of the hill, with the most magnificent views over Selous. Virtually the whole of one end completely open, loads of space & quite windy which was great because it was so hot! The team were very friendly, welcoming & knowledgeable & Juma in the bar made an excellent Konyagi & Tonic!! The lodge is on quite steep slopes so be prepared for mini hikes each day. The food is really good, no complaints there. The restaurant & bar are all open air overlooking the hills & forest. We did a walking safari & saw elephants close by, the full day to the lakes was great, we saw lions, giraffe, hippos, loads of beautiful birds, warthogs, zebra, kudu, wildebeast, colobus monkeys, crocodiles....the list goes on. The landscape varies alot, one minute you're driving over a dry river into forest, jungle, savannah & bush. We visited the local Masai village, they were welcoming, showed us their homes & how they lived, really interesting. You hardly see any other people because it's so vast. If you want to stay somewhere different, away from the crowds then try this place!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACHEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of organised tour group of Tanzania and zanzibar with 9 other people organised through Tent with a view. We travelled by the infamous Tazara train but had no problems as train left at exactly the allotted time and arrived as expected in the dark at the Kisiki station ( jumping off place really) be prepared with a torch!.

The lodge consists of 16 bandanas set across a hillside and as other people have commented the ground are large and there are many steps leading down and then up from the entrance to the restraurant area and swimming pool. The walks back to the bandanas can be made in the dark after evening meals and security staff can accompany you if required as wild animals are close by eg we saw a lion 400yds from entrance

The staff are enthusiastic and really want you to enjoy your stay however this is not the Masai Mara so do not expect too many large gatherings of animals but to counter this you are not surrounded by masses of other tourists which is why we selected this lodge. The waterhole is only visible from numbers 8 and 14 but all the huts have great wild views. The bar is adequate but may noy have your alcohol of first choice but hopefully this is not why you come.

The full day safari and boat trip includes a visit to a hot spring where you are able to swim so take a towel and change of clothes as this came as a surprise to all of us. We were there in early October before the short rains and the National park has a burning policy to help new grass growth at this time, which meant that some of the landscape was temporarily charred but this is not anything the lodge can control. At this time of year there is also little visible water, therefore a trip to the lake is recommended.

The walking safari is a full 3 hour walk and as the lodge is on a hill involves a few steep slopes at the end so you need to be reasonably fit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveandjenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were in the same group as "Bob Croydon" and agree with his Review. We travelled from Sadaani by internal flight after the infamous Tazara Train was cancelled. "Tent With A View" - (the owners of Sable Mountain, Sadaani Lodge and Zanzabari Hotel) arranged this seamlessly so that we were not disadvantaged at all.
Arriving at Sable Mountain brought a totally different experience, but non the less fantastic. Once again the staff were brilliant, the accommodation excellent and the food fantastic. They accomodated some quirky eating habits! Eating in the tree tops by candle-light (wear a headtorch if you like- Carolyn) was lovely. Once again our amazing safari guide, Kita, ensured we had an amazing safari experience. Kita became our friend and his hard work ensured we had a great time. Lynda and Carolyn

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilla14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Our three-night stay here was part of a longer safari-holiday in Tanzania & Zanzibar. From the UK end, we had booked through the super-efficient people at Voyages Jules Verne - to be looked after, with meticulous care, by a top-notch company going by the memorably catchy name of Tent with a View (check out their website). First, we had spent some days at the company's coastal lodge in Saadani before flying in a 13-seater Cessna 208 to the Kisaki airstrip in Selous - there to be taken by jeep to the gem which is the Sable Mountain Lodge. This is secreted away on a beautiful hillside and its rooms (or bandas) are scattered around the spacious grounds at slightly different heights. Blimey: it even has a swimming pool. We had the good fortune to be housed in one of the uppermost rooms with astounding sunrise and sunset views over towards the Uluguru Mountains.~ It was a joy and a privilege to be billeted here for these few nights. Indeed, although we did need it, we had two bedrooms and two bathrooms; but, in discussion with other guests, all were thrilled with the quality, style and cleanliness of their temporary hillside homes. ~ Sensibly, the rooms run on solar power but it took only the most simple level of planning to work around the short periods of the day in which electricity might not be available and there was hot water aplenty. ~ The bar and dining area is atmospherically warm and inviting and a fine place to relax and to enjoy a pre-dinner drink with other guests. ~ As in Saadani, the cuisine is varied, fresh, delicious and plentiful - and, let it be said, would knock spots off many restaurants here in London. ~ This is as yet a fairly undeveloped and beautiful part of Tanzania and the safaris - some inland to find lions, giraffes, zebra, elephants, impala, warthog and so many other species (and we found them all), others waterborne (hippos, crocodiles and the most amazing marine and bird life) - were out of this world. For the keen photographer, the biggest decision at times was in which direction to point the lens. ~ At the heart of any successful organisation or company, however, lie its staff. And we were greatly impressed at every turning by the integrity of those who work for Tent with a View. It is a clever formula and the company deserves to prosper. The staff are highly knowledgeable; well trained; deeply committed to responsible tourism and to the projects in which they are involved; unfailingly friendly,helpful and trustworthy - and we thank each and every one of them for so many laughs and happy memories. - Bob & Maggie Wood - Surrey

Room Tip: As above, we had one of the uppermost bandas. It was no great climb and the bonus was the uninterrup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 961Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The lodge is set near the entrance to Selous Game Reserve. The bandas and stone cottages are laid out over a large area, linked by stone and sand walkways. There are a lot of steps and the ground is uneven in places, so this might not suit all people, but I liked it. The swimming pool is covered and cool and there is a sunny terrace. There are lovely views from the camp of the mountains. The food was first rate and I can't fault the staff, who worked hard to make us feel at home. My main regret was that as we were out game viewing and doing village visits, we didn't spend much time at the camp and had to leave all too soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We went to Sable Mountain for 3 nights before going to a lodge in the Selous reserve itself for 4 more nights and that was probably the best way round. Sable is 30 minutes away from the gate to the reserve and so is that bit further from the parts with the highest density of game. We heard game at the lodge itself but didn't see much, although we understand there is more later in the year. We went on game drives into the reserve every day and saw a good deal of game, particularly on the all day drive when you have time to get down to the lakes in the reserve. We went out on the lodge's boat on Lake Tagalala. Brilliant.

The lodge is very attractive to stay in, our banda had a fantastic view down the valley and was very comfortable indeed. They are widely spaced and you need a torch to get to them at night. The hotel will provide one for you. The food was very good and the staff all extremely friendly. Eating by candlelight in the restaurant at night is very atmospheric and of interest to the local bush babies. The lodge's links to the local village are important and we had a very interesting trip to the nearby Masai village.

All in all a very good introduction to safaris and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selous Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#14 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#9 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Butembo Lodge & Camp Site
Selous Butembo Lodge & Camp Site
#16 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sable Mountain Lodge

Property: Sable Mountain Lodge
Address: Selous Game Reserve, 40525, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sable Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Sable Mountain lodge is set in the beho hills on the North Western boundary of Selous Game Reserve. The lodge is built over several hills giving a fantastic vantage point and, arguably the best view of the reserve. There is a combination of large and comfortable en suite tented rooms and stone cottages all private and all with great views. The freshwater pool provides a welcome on return from a safari. The nearby tree house and water hole attracts lots of game and a few hours can easily be spent there observing. Relax at the Land Rovers Return pub before dining in the restaurant or under the endless stars. The most special element about Sable Mountain is the team who are famous for their friendliness and will go the extra mile to ensure that you have a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sable Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sable Mountain Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Sable Mountain Lodge Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing