We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of African heaven. So very sad to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sable Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here. I reiterate all the positive comments other guests have made. The safari trips were wonderful, dawn or dusk, by jeep, boat or on foot. The staff really seem to care and looked after us so well. The accommodation surpassed my expectations by a long way (banda 12). Never did I expect hot and cold fresh water and such comfort in such a remote place. Rama, our guide has the most phenomenal eyesight and can spot a 'find' miles off - literally! He is also so knowledgeable, it was a privilege to spend our time with him. The food was wonderful, they will cater for you if you let them know (I don't eat meat) - who needs a menu choice when the food is this good? Pepe the armed guard was friendly and kind, despite us having no common language. Holly, the on-site assistant manager has a wealth of experience that exceeds that of some people three times her age. We saw so many animals, amazing sunsets and sun rises, visited the Masai village and learnt so much. I would loved to have stayed a very long time. We got the train from Dar to Kisaki and despite the fact that we were several hours late, Rama still met us late at night and took us back to the extreme comfort of Sable Mountain Lodge. They even save dinner for us. The staff are a group of exceptional, kind and dedicated people. I can't thank them, or recommend them, enough.
Also note: Tent With a View are a great company - see also Tent with a View Saadani. We went from one to the other and the contrast of the two safari was well worth doing.

Room Tip: Banda 12 has incredible views. Would also like to try the Villa on another occasion - top of the sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Yes, the location of Sable Mountain Lodge is very good. We were given a nice tent with outside shower and toilet and a nice view from our balcony. You really feel in the middle of nature.
After a warm welcome by assistant-manager Holly we enjoyed some of the beers we brought with us and then went to the "Landrover Bar" for a drink. Holly was there with two other guests and ignored us completely. At dinner time, she dined with the two other quests (who were the ONLY other guests) and told them lots of interesting stories about her life. Same thing at breakfast in the morning. By that time, we felt definitely "B-category". By coincidence we all left at the same time, the other guests with a warm wave from Holly, who again completely ignored us. I think this is very unprofessional behaviour.
The other negative comment I would like to make is about the price of the beer, 5 USD for a 330 ml can. At all the other lodges we stayed we paid max 2,50 USD for a half litre bottle! A real rip off.
The food was average for a place that purports to be a more or less luxury camp and we only got one towel a day (that also had to serve as towel for the pool).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliadrusilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently on the safari part of our holiday. From the minute we arrived until we left, the welcome and service was second to none.
We were lucky enough to get one of the honeymoon banda's. absolutely stunning, huge verandah to look out over, we had a family of blue monkey's near us in the tree's on two occasions, we could have sat looking out over that view forever!!
Room had everything you could need on this sort of holiday, loved the shower being outside, great experience to look down on the tree's whilst showering :)
The staff here are lovely, very friendly, and work very hard to make sure you have a pleasant stay, was so nice to be asked by them how our day on safari had been when we returned. The food was also really good, and plentiful, all our meals were thoroughly enjoyed.
A particular mention must go to Rama, our guide whilst staying there, what a font of knowledge he is, and really tried hard to make sure we saw as much wildlife as we could, loved every minute :)
We were disappointed to leave here, incredible place, lovely staff, I will always cherish my stay at Sable, and may well be back someday :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheltie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at Sable Mountain Lodge on the safari leg of our holiday, what an amazing place.
A dozen or so individual 'tented' 'rooms'.
Basically a timber framed hut with canvas sides and roof with a thatched roof over that. Our room opened up to look over a valley, stunning view even from laying in bed! We had 2 comfy chairs and a coffee table, a deck outside the tent.
The ensuite facility was great half was covered by the roof and completely open on one side,but the shower area was actually outside. We could shower and again look out over the valley. It may sound a bit 'open' but no rooms overlooked anyone else, in fact, the rooms were so spread out in the trees one room wasn't viewable from another.
Food was great, couldn't fault it, service was superb.

We were told beforehand that it was not possible to charge camera batteries but in fact there was one available socket behind the bar, for everyone to share, but nothing in the rooms.

We took a torch as advised but they did have solar powered lamps you could borrow.

Hearing a lion in the night was a bonus.
Would definitely go back there

Room Tip: They're all good, but no 9 & 10 have outside showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We, a group of four, stayed two nights at Sable Mountain Lodge in September of 2013. We stayed in the villa which offers great panoramic views of the surrounding forest. The main bedroom was huge, complete with a storage area and a very large bathroom. The second bedroom contained two twin beds and no storage area. The villa has a fantastic verandah which offers great views of the surrounding area.

The hot water was rather sensitive as some of our group complained they were nearly scalded and others had cold water.

The lodge has a nice bar area, where you can recharge your batteries, a beautiful dining area overlooking the forest, and a fresh water swimming pool. Showers are also available in the pool area.

A short walk will take you to the “tree house” which is a very elaborate structure complete with sofas and chairs and overlooks a small watering hole. A ranger must walk with to the tree house. We sat in the tree house for 90 minutes late in the afternoon but alas the only creature that visited the watering hole during the time was an eagle.

While the lodge was fine the problem is the location. Selous Game Reserve in September is very dry and there is little or no water in the reserve near the lodge, hence game viewing is minimal. In addition, control burns are taking place in the reserve at this end of the park which reduces the game viewing further.

We cancelled our full day game drive, via the advice of our guide/driver, and instead did an early morning walking safari in Selous and a visit to a Masai village in the afternoon. I thought the Masai village experience here was much better than what we experienced three years earlier near the Ngorongoro Crater.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This has been my second stay in this lovely and rather authentic African environment. This time I brought along some of my children and grandchildren to show them Africa at its best
As in the past the rooms were large and tidy, the service friendly and attentive and personal Attention impeccable. Even food in this remote part of the country was good and plentiful.
The Safari into the Selou, which is still rather unspoilt by too many visitors (we met just one car during the whole day) proved again to be exciting and wonderful. Our guide RAMA was knowledgeable and helpful.The Manager, Mr. Mbasha was in full and efficient control of the place.
I can highly recommend Sable Mountain Lodge to all those who want to experience Africa without "shicky-micky" in an original and authentic style.
The whole raher unusual and very specific trip to Tanzania was organized by TENT WITH A VIEW; Daressalaam, MR: RAMA, who guaranteed a smooth,,punctual and reliable execution of our program. Many thanks and compliments to everybody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hermannson-wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had banda number 11 and our friends number 12 and the view fom both was incredible. Sitting on the verandah was a real joy. The staff were cheerful, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were kept very clean - hot water was not the problem some hotels have in this part of the world. As with Tent with a View in Saadani the location is remote but in a wonderful setting. We would have liked to stay longer - the Selous park is huge and we felt that we would have been happy to see more.

Room Tip: Oddly the honeymoon suites are open to the elements in the shower area - but only trees can see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selous Game Reserve
0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
65 reviews
0 mi away
New Dodoma Hotel-Dodoma Rock Hotel
0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#10 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous G...
#1 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
420 reviews
0 mi away
Selous River Camp
Selous River Camp
#6 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
247 reviews
0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#22 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sable Mountain Lodge

Address: Selous Game Reserve, 40525, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range: £275 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sable Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Sable Mountain lodge is set in the beho hills on the North Western boundary of Selous Game Reserve. The lodge is built over several hills giving a fantastic vantage point and, arguably the best view of the reserve. There is a combination of large and comfortable en suite tented rooms and stone cottages all private and all with great views. The freshwater pool provides a welcome on return from a safari. The nearby tree house and water hole attracts lots of game and a few hours can easily be spent there observing. Relax at the Land Rovers Return pub before dining in the restaurant or under the endless stars. The most special element about Sable Mountain is the team who are famous for their friendliness and will go the extra mile to ensure that you have a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sable Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sable Mountain Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Sable Mountain Lodge Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing