We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again...Even Better”
Review of Selous Impala Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Selous Impala Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Back Again...Even Better”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed 11 days and couldn't have been happier. Yes Im a repeat visitor and will continue to be a repeat visitor. Why is this place so good? Consistency. Barbara the General Manager is a legend. She's been there 6 years and runs the place with exceptional professionalism. She's a tiger behind the scenes and empowers her team to make this place special. Of course, once again the wildlife was a home run. Yes, Wild Dogs again. Great prides of Lions. Fishing almost every day. Saw a one minute old Croc and also saw a Baboon devouring an impala as we had a bush breakfast. Gerrard is one of the best and most sincere guides in Africa. Ive been to many lodges in Africa and this place is on top.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MONYLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
173
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I, and our son and girlfriend stayed here in november2013 and cannot praise this camp enough. We have stayed in many other safari camps and the attention to detail at impala cannot be beaten.the staff all went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
We were very fortunate to get Gerard as our guide and I can't speak highly enough of him. He was v professional but friendly and interested in us. He went out of his way to ensure we had the best holiday we could. Ask for him.
Barbara the camp manager is always around and runs the camp fantastically.the tents are not luxury and probably could do with updating but this is a small price to pay for a superb camp in every other aspect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janehauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our first safari and we could not have wished for anything different.

We saw Lions, Elephants Giraffe, Wild Dogs, Impala, Warthogs, Water buffalo, Hippos, all in abundance.

The camp is in a beautiful setting on the river, tents are clean and comfortable, the food had a lovely range with a different menu each day.

The staff were all so friendly and really could not do enough for you.

I could go on with , but this camp simply must be visited if you are considering a safari experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

It's hard to describe just how well this place is run - the attention to detail is just stunning. In a location like this it might be tempting to just let the wildlife do all the wowing but Impala Camp is a great example of customer focused training & attention to detail. Every detail.

I can't ever remember a 4 night stay that was actually a 4 night/4 day event you always lose time - not here! Collected from the flight & essentially taken on a game drive on the way to the camp. On the final morning we left for the flight in plenty of time so that we could stop & have a final animal experience .

The tents are really nice - more like cabins with canvas walls.
The food was excellent & breakfast in the bush is just amazing. I am sure all the guides are great - I can only speak about Dennis - he is fantastic & handles the Landcruiser with care & precision. Being able to do both land & water trips was great & the bird wildlife was really special.

Can not compare to other game parks as haven't been - but Impala Camp will take some beating.
Barbara & Sylvia are fantastic managers & so attentive. All of the staff are great & it's an amazing achievement that when we think back we will probably remember the people experience as much as we remember the amazing animal experiences,

Just great. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed for four nights for the start of our honeymoon trip. Had an amazing time - had chance to do game drives, walking safaris, boat safaris and a spot of fishing.

The staff are all very courteous and the food was delicious.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaiir-YA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We came to Impala for 5 days at the end of November to celebrate my birthday. My first ever safari & my partners first since his teenage years!

From the moment we were met at the airstrip with juice, a very much needed cooling face towel & the very friendly Gerrard our expectations were being exceeded!

On arrival at camp Silvia welcomed us so warmly & we were shown to a fabulous tent right by the river. A delicious lunch, time to relax from our journey we then had our first evening drive.
From this point on we knew we were in the best possible hands, Gerrards knowledge & passion for the reserve & the wildlife within it was infectious.

3 more days of fantastic drives & a river safari & we could have easily never left!

The food & service at the camp was impeccable, run like clockwork & every meal was delicious, prepared & served with great care.
Special thanks from us to Urban - we can only apologise for our useless attempts to learn Swahili!!

A birthday cake & song on the final night was literally the icing on the cake!

Our sincere thanks to all of the team for an unforgettable experience!

We hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Selous and Impala Camp totally exceeded all other safaris we did and if we could return to only one place, this would be it. The tents, food, diversity and observability of wildlife/birds, spirituality of place, etc. could not have been better. The only caveat is we went at the end of October and it was very hot and humid.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
63 reviews
6.1 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#13 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
126 reviews
33.5 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#9 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
111 reviews
7.9 mi away
Selous Wilderness Camp
Selous Wilderness Camp
#16 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#15 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selous Impala Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selous Impala Camp

Property: Selous Impala Camp
Address: Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Selous Impala Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selous Impala Camp has just 8 en suite tents of which 2 are family tents with two tents on one platform, each with own bathroom. There are ceiling fans and power showers all run from solar energy. Game drives are in 4x4 vehicles with driver and guide, and we put max 4 people in a car. Boat safaris are on the Rufiji River and the lakes coming off it; walking safaris in season. The camp is closed from end March to end May each year for the long rains. There is a swimming pool and a shady lodge with dining and sitting rooms and a bar overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selous Impala Camp Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Selous Impala Camp Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing