We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stone Town Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asmini Palace Hotel
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stone Town Jewel”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile


Juma, Mohamed, Casiem, Evelyn.
Beautiful friendly memorable staff at Asmini Palace. Couldnt ask for a more welcome (karibu !) Stone Town experience. They arrange everything you need just a phone call away. Clean basic rooms with own balcony. Clean bathroom with fan, shower only have to hold on to the shower head otherwise it sprays all over - not sure if this was limited to my room only. As soon as you get the hang of it and remind yourself you are here for a different experience, it could be fun and part of the whole Stone Town experience. There is a tap about the height of your hips in the shower and you can also kneel to rinse your hair with both hands :) luckily lots of room in the shower. No safe in the rooms but you are able to lock your valuables away at reception when leaving the hotel. Basic breakfast served every morning on the roof top - enjoyed the variety of fresh fruits provided each morning. Missed my bacon though, but didnt really expect it anyway- after all a Muslim country. All in all, a great feel good experience. Would have rated 3 but the wonderful service I got from each and every staff member made me feel they deserve a 4.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthCreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Small room/wc and poor pressure in the shower. The bed was a little bit short for us 1,75 & 1,84 and hard.
Helpfull staff and also the breakfast was good except that they did not service real coffee just instante and that's not real coffee for 2 coffeedrinkers like we are.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary38Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed 25 days at Asmini Palace Hotel. Maintenance, house keeping and services were excellent and all the staff service-minded and friendly. A roof top restaurant serving a mix of continental and local dishes. There is even an elevator, which is rare in Stone Town. Centrally located in a quiet mainly residential area. Value for money and a "home away from home"

Lasse, Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I ate lunch at the roof restaurant of this hotel. It was my last day in Zanzibar and I went in because there was an item on the menu that I really wanted and their sign said they took credit cards. I wanted to save my last cash so I wouldn't have to make another ATM withdrawl and then end up with money I had to exchange back. When I ordered, the waitress told me that the item I wanted wasn't available. I should have left at that point but decided to order something else. The fish was dry and overcooked. When I got the check I put down my credit card. The waitress took me down to the front desk to run the credit card, at which point the man behind the desk told me it was too small of an amount (about $12 US dollars) and he wouldn't run the credit card. Right on the restaurant menu it said they would take credit cards with a 6% service fee which I was fine with paying. There were also visa stickers on the door and front desk, however he insisted it would take them too long to get paid from the credit card and it was too small of an amount. He made me hand over every last penny of cash that I had. Apparently customer service is not a priority and they had no problem saving themselves trouble by making me incur ATM and currency exchange fees.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slaumsu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I have stayed at Asmini Palace twice, once in 2008 and again in 2013. It is absolutely awesome! A bit hard to find in the middle of the tiny streets, but once you do you won't be disappointed. The staff are great and the rooms are even nicer. Four poster beds with mozzie netting and great Zanzibari architecture. Neat and clean. Try it, you'll love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truescot-Cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The rooms are excellent, big and comfortable with nice bathrooms and cable tv (which actually worked perfectly which is unusual!). However as the hotel is in the same price range as other nice hotels in stone town then the rest of the hotel is not good value. There's no pool of course and the roof top terrace is a bit drab (although the food isn't too bad). The building itself has the riad style of other hotels but it's nowhere near as nice as say dhow palace.

The service is also not very good - the menu has prices which are less than they charge you (they tell you about it after you've eaten!), my laundry came back soaking wet still, got sent back, then came back the next day still damp, and when checking out the guy got it completely wrong and tried to overcharge us - it took about 20 minutes to sort out his mistakes as he didn't know how to use the credit card machine.

If you just want a nice room then this is ok - but for the price there's better places in stone town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Our stay at Asmini Palace was good until we opened the bed to go to sleep at night. The sheets were extremely dirty. Black dirty mold stains all over it. Too disgusting to even imagine. After asking for new sheets we had to make the bed ourselves to fing huge holes in the new sheets we were given. Unbelievable but the next pair we were given had dark red henna stains on them but they seemed washed.
There is much better places to stay in Stone Town if you're spending this money. Look further and don't go here!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liemtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 34 in Stone Town
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#21 of 34 in Stone Town
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#22 of 34 in Stone Town
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 34 in Stone Town
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#23 of 34 in Stone Town
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asmini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asmini Palace Hotel

Property: Asmini Palace Hotel
Address: Kiponda Street, Box 3292, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Asmini Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Asmini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asmini Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing