We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Stone Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Asmini Palace Hotel
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed at the Asmini Palace for 5 nights after two weeks on safari in Northern Tanzania. Stone Town has enough to keep one occupied for about 3 or 4 days, but if you want a beach holiday, you're better off at one of the beach resorts. It would be best to stay in Stone Town only for a couple of days and then spend a few more outside at one of the beaches.

The hotel was nice, clean and had generally excellent service (with perhaps the exception being the breakfast waitress who didn't look like she really wanted to be there and brought everyone pretty much the same dish - given that breakfast was basically toast, pancakes, eggs and fruit it shouldn't have been too hard to mess up, but if you asked for no toast or eggs sunny-side up, you got toast and eggs over easy....).

The rooms are quite large and fit our family of 4 in one room quite easily. Included is a TV, kettle and fridge. Also there is a ceiling fan and air-con. It was quite comfortable. The rooms are arranged around a central interior courtyard. Our room had a large stained glass window that faced on the courtyard, and since the lights in the courtyard were left on all night, meant a lot of light in our room all night. It didn't bother us much, but could disturb light sleepers.

There is wireless internet, but the signal is so weak that you must sit in the lobby to make use of it. They are right next door to an internet cafe (Palace Internet) which was very convenient. Actually, we didn't use the internet cafe, but it was really convenient because there are signs throughout Stone Town that point the way to Palace Internet. Since Stone Town is such a maze, it was handy to always be able to find our way back to the hotel by following the signs for Palace Internet!

Housekeeping service was a little inconsistent, with a variable number of towels being delivered each day. Also the beds only had 2 layers of sheets and no blankets, which was fine unless you had the air-con on full bore!

There's no real view from the hotel, with the exception of the roof-top bar/restaurant. But the restaurant is very expensive and the service very slow, so you're better off going elsewhere. There's lots of decent restaurants in Stone Town and the night market is within a short walk from the hotel. Streets are poorly lit, so walking at night could be hazardous. Not so much from a chance of being mugged, but more likely tripping over a pile of trash or stepping into an open sewer!

There are several good tour agencies nearby and day trips (snorkeling, spice tours, etc.) can be easily arranged on short notice.

The location of the hotel is excellent for visiting all the sights of Stone Town. Everything is within easy walking distance, and it's close enough to the main road so it isn't far of a walk from the taxi to the hotel with your bags. The taxi drivers know where it is and will escort you from the car to the hotel.

I would certainly stay here again, but next time I would also consider spending time at a beach lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Asmini Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of our 2 weeks in tanzania and we really liked it so booked 2 more nights at the end of our holiday before returning home. It is nicely furnished and very clean and safe and the staff are very helpful. When I contacted them to ask them for directions from the ferry port they said if I let them know which ferry we were arriving on they would have someone there to meet us. It is very near to the port so no need for a taxi but down some winding little alleys so maybe difficult to find the first time but this would apply to most hotels in stonetown. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jubob66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Colin Martin,4thNov,2008.
Staying comfortable,very kindly staff.It's above our expectation staying in Zanzibar Asmini Palace Hotel,is the place I can advice people to stay,relaxing,enjoying and is the place where you can find a nice explanation of Stone town for making tour place.

Asmini palace you can only ride up to their RoofTop with their fast running Elevator.We do enjoye the Food and drinks from theire Best Restaurant..

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ZanzibarTanzaniaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Asmini Palace for a night because we wanted to stay IN Stone Town for the experience. The rooms were clean and nice -- only one of two hotels (out of 9) that we stayed in during our trip to Tanzania & Uganda that had a TV -- so that was nice. The bathroom was huge, well equipped, and spotless. The breakfast was good and the people running the desk were extremely nice, as was our driver from there that took us to the airport the next day. Our only complaints was that while the location was perfectly safe during the day to walk around the city and shop, etc., we went to return after our sunset dhow cruise (which we HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend by the way) and the alley getting there was pitch black and didn't look safe AT ALL -- so we had to hire a cab to drive us there (which only cost $3 USD -- but still) (and then the next morning we saw a guy peeing in the alley in front of the hotel -- I think that this hotel is a bit in an up-and-coming-area and not really on the tourist track yet) and when we came home after dinner at 9 PM -- we wanted to get a drink at the rooftop restuarant, but it had already closed. Recommend though -- overall.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alley_gator773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We arrived to Asmini after a magnificant safari at Serengetti. The rooms was nice and clean with plenty of space. The staff was all very service minded during our stay. The restaurant at the top of the hotel has a beautiful view of the surrending buildings and the sea.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank berg-nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

The best aspect of this hotel was the staff - really friendly and helpful. We arrived quite early and our room wasn't ready, but another room was made available for us to rest after an overnight flight from the UK. The room was a good size, clean and with a good bathroom. The fridge in the room was noisy at night, however, and there were few drawers or storage space for clothes. Breakfast was ok, but we had one evening meal there which was of very poor quality. Location was fine, and the hotel represented good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GoingOnSixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#28 of 33 in Stone Town
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#21 of 33 in Stone Town
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asmini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asmini Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street, Box 3292, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £50 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Asmini Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Asmini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asmini Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing