We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return to paradice under trying conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asmini Palace Hotel
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This hotel and the staff continue to impress me, the location close to the ferry and dala dala station was perfect for "cheap day trips to the beach" and shopping at the markets. And they had a generator, so I was spoiled with lights,cold drinks, and AC when the rest of the city was dark.
The Forozani gardens renovation is complete and fabulous, and the cooks at the evening barbeque, claim they remembered me, the cheeky devils, Im sure they say that to all the older woman travellers.
I'm not sure I will ever adapt to the "call to prayer" in the early dawn, but it does add an exotic air to the place, and I do miss the sea view from the restaurant on the roof, but the city and the sunset is still wonderful to see.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bachelorbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2010

Everything was OK... what can I say. Little bit expensive. Staff were helpful but they should put some life into their business - also restaurant and breakfast. When something is happening it is made in African style. For example when having breakfast you had to ask if they could switch the lights on when sitting in almost dark room and there was a electricity on (because generator). I think they should use more candles or something to make it more cosy. There is safe in office. It's quite peaceful and the surrounding area/streets are magical. I liked the area. Short distance to the shore line and restaurants. I stayed also in Dhow Palace which is better value... In Dhow they just don't sell any beer like in here in Palace;)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranTourizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel rooms was in a good location, in the central area. The room was a good size and was comfortable. The restaurant was expensive and not much chop but all the restaurants serve pretty ordinary food, the only difference is the price. You need to be careful when paying for your room, as they will try to rip you off any chance they can with currency exchange, visa card fees, fees for this and that and when you do the sums, they dont add up correctly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Nothing fancy, but special architecture with clean and nice rooms with four-posted bed
and fair price. Well located in the city. Near the night-market.
Good place, if you want to explore the city. We stayed 3 nights in Stone Town after 4 relaxing beach-days. That seemed perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Asmini Palace Hotel is a hotel which is close to Mercury's Restaurant. The main attraction of the hotel is the elevator as it is the only building in Zanzibar with a (working) elevator. Even though, you will probably not need to use it as there are only four floors. On top of the hotel, there is a nice roof-top restaurant with a nice view over some parts of Stonetown. Unfortunately, the restaurant is in fact the only place in the hotel where you have such a view, so that it makes nearly no difference if you take a room on the first or the third floor, as you will always have a look to the neighbouring building's walls! This makes some noise of playing kids (there are a lot!) and discussing neighbours sometimes a little annoying but is acceptable if you leave the windows closed and switch on air condition (available in every room). Rooms are spacious enough to stay and have a fridge and TV, so that you can store your own food inside. Hot water in the shower was always available. Breakfast consisted of fruits, tea/coffee and some slices of bread with a little chemical jam.
Service is very friendly and helpful. They can organise sharing taxis for you, which worked always reliable and does not charge you any extra costs for organising.
Overall assessment is that Asmini Palace is a good location to start tours in Stonetown but unfortunately not what you expect when booking a four star accommodation. Size and variety of breakfast MUST be improved. Rooms are mostly very nice decorated and spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We live in Dar es Salaam but had only been once to Stonetown. I selected the Asmini Hotel after doing a few hours of research. We wanted a not too expensive, but comfortable, quiet and well located hotel. Since our daughter was with us, we wanted a fairly large room. We were more than satisfied with the place. It is a brand new five story hotel with a good, working elevator. It is in an excellent location, a 5 minute walk from the ferry and a 3 minute walk from the Palace Museum which is on the main road, a few minutes away from Forodhani Gardens. The area is perfectly quiet area. It is on a pretty street with no stores selling to tourists. However, it is beside an internet place whose signs around town you can use to guide you to the Asmini.

The standard room was large at about 18 x 15 feet square, with nice floors, walls and furniture, plus it had a very nice green tiled bathroom (shower only). The hotel has efficient and courteous service. They met us at the ferry and carried our suitcases to the hotel. They provide a reasonable breakfast and you can eat lunch and supper on the roof. I think my wife drank her coffee elsewhere though. The room has quiet, good air-conditioning and Cable TV, a king-size bed, table, 2 chairs and a big closet. There is enough space for other furniture in case you want more stuff. We added a single bed for our daughter. They were generous in extending our check-out as there were no guests expected.

The only negatives were:: the TV reception wasn’t perfect and the soap they provided was that tiny kind which doesn’t give much of a lather. The toilet at one point continued to flush but they sent someone up to fix it right away. Also, from our room there was no real view. More expensive rooms have balconies and possibly views of the sea.

The place met our main needs and I found the prices to be reasonable, at least for a resident.

http://www.asminipalace.com/rates.html

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valueformoneyandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Asmini Palace Hotel on June 2-5, 2009. My wife's wallet was locked inside her bag in the room. However, as we discovered on the morning of June 5, as we were departing at 6am to catch the early ferry, the bag had a back zipper through which someone could access the locked compartment. Since the bag never left the room and the room was locked, the ONLY person who could have accessed the bag is someone at the hotel with access to the room. Overall we enjoyed the hotel until this very disappointing event.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jckern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#28 of 33 in Stone Town
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#22 of 33 in Stone Town
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asmini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asmini Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street, Box 3292, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £53 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Asmini Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Asmini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asmini Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing