We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing outstanding, but decent value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Johari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Johari
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing outstanding, but decent value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms... That's about it. The highlight is probably breakfast on the roof top, which is pretty good. Perhaps best suits a single night before heading to Nungwi or the East Coast. My bathroom was pretty much falling apart - even by local standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    33
    11
    8
    14
See reviews for
13
45
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights after a 2 week safari in Kenya and mainland Tanzania. It was a little out of my budget as a solo traveller (around $110 a night) however was well worth it. The building is full of charm and Zanzibar character. The room had a king size four poster bed, heavy ornate wooden door and a huge modern and clean mosaic tiled bathroom. A small flat screen TV with loads of channels was nice as I wasnt brave to venture out at night alone. free wifi was excellent in both the room and roof top terrace (ask the waitress for the password) The staff were beyond friendly and helpful.

As I was there during Ramadan so I ate all my meals on the roof top restaurant and it was absolutely fantastic. The best meals I have had through all my stay in Africa, and wouldnt be out of place in my hometown of Sydney. Super modern menu with loads of beautiful seafood dishes with Swahiili influences. The prices for the quality of dishes was also amazing. For around $20US I had 2 glasses of wine and 2 courses. Gorgeous staff and view.

In the very heart of the winding alleyways of Stone Town, I highly recommend this place and would have stayed longer if it were closer to Zanzibar's more beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shescrafty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Good food, nice and clean rooms, a wonderful rooftop restaurant with an amazing view to indian ocean. Breakfast on the roof is like moonwalk where heritage stone town can be seen with history. Nice clean Beach is just 100 steps next to Al Johari and location is right in the centre of town where one can walk at night and have lovely view of stone town. where most such category hotels are above 200$ per night, one can get 130$ a double room, superb value for money in zanzibar.

Room Tip: all rooms are good..a perfect sense of old stone town of zanzibar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed just two nights at the Al Johari but would definitely return. It is a beautiful old building with lots of character but the rooms are comfortable with modern fixtures. Staff were all welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is served on the rooftop with views overlooking the sea and the food was lovely. Also a great location for exploring Stone Town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALL31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

i booked al johari thru one of my friend in znz, he recommend this with good feedback. i booked for 3 days and later extended one more day, its nice and clean hotel with very good rooftop bar and restaurant with view to sea. a perfect place to stay in stone town zanzibar. it was 120$ stay but absolutely worth with its quality breakfast and sea food delicasious. will come again ..!

Room Tip: i was on 2nd floor room..nice room..forgot room no..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zizu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jobourg, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I thank you Al Johar for lovely stay with good food and beach just few steps from hotel. A good value for money. Friendly and helpful staff. We palanned december visit again with our office couligues. Swahili african food was a lovely experience and they make good sea food. We shall come back again. Vincent Godwin

Room Tip: As for 1st floor or 2nd floor rooms... you can see old streets from your rooms. great to see old her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is very nice hotel to stay when visiting Zanzibar. Next time I am coming back to Zanzibar I will definitely stay here! An excellent choice for a stay in historical Stone Town/ Zanzibar. The restaurant was a great location at the Lounge. The room was lovely and the whole hotel was in an excellent condition with a good quality of linen, bathroom fixtures and accessories. I will be back next time

Room Tip: Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Best Western Pl... Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Africa House Hotel
The Africa House Hotel
#26 of 33 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Johari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Johari

Property: Al Johari
Address: 116 Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Johari 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Johari means the Jewel in certain translations of Kiswahili and Arabic, and we invite you to experience the Jewel of Stone Town, Zanzibar. Al Johari is a small 15 room Boutique Hotel in the Stone Town area of Zanzibar, and was the result of a careful refurbishment combining two ancient buildings in Stone Town to produce an exceptional hotel property while keeping within the Architecture and dimensions of Stone Town history with an emphasis on modern state of the art amenities as well as the opulent luxuries of the Omani, Persian, Indian and Swahili influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Johari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Johari Stone Town
Al Johari Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing